We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We were somewhat disappointed with the Sandals Resort, Negril. We had expected a higher quality facility. It was a 1-½ hour ride from the airport to the resort. Tipping for this service was not included in our package.
The rooms were adequate but nothing above the ordinary and needed updating. The room service was below par. We did not receive a toiletry packet until we called to request one. Our room glasses and coffee cups were not washed or replaced daily. The water pressure was very bad. We reported this several times and were promised it would be fixed but nothing ever changed.
The food was good. We would have liked to have more choices. In the morning between 7 and 7:30 AM no restaurant was open. We have not encountered this at other all-inclusive resorts. The birds at table side in the Bayside were very aggressive and somewhat annoying. Table service was adequate but sometimes slow.
All water activities such as water skiing, scuba diving, snorkeling, and hobby cats were part of the all-inclusive package. This was a pleasant surprise. At other all-inclusive resorts this has not been the case. There were plenty of activities for all ages. We did take a $40 per couple trip to Ricks to watch the cliff divers and some of our group dove.
The weather was very warm but it did rain every day. There was only one day when it lasted for several hours.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,365)
There are newer reviews for Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,126 - 4,132 of 5,365 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2009

We have stayed at this property twice before. I was anxious to go back. This stay was better, if that is possible. The staff, property, rooms, dive boats, were great! The food was better than I remember. Every person on the property was helpful and happy. It rained every afternoon, but there is always a bar to sit at with superfine drinks and bartenders that move very fast(that's not normal for the Carribbean)

Every night offered really good entertainment. The dive shop/dives were very professionally run.

We walked off property. We do every visit. Never have we felt uncomfortable. If you don't want to meet Jamaicans, don't come to Jamaica. As a people, as a whole, these are the proudest, but yet most humble I have met anywhere in the caribbean. I can't wait to hear "Welcome Home" very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlyagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Been to all the Sandals islands and favorites have been Negril (3 stays), Grande St. Lucian (2 stays) and Antiqua (2 stays this summer).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We went to celebrate our one year anniversary. We had seen great reviews on several travel sites. We were disappointed in our room. It was small with nowhere to sit other than the bed. It looked worn. It was a good view on the beach with a small balcony. There was plenty of food choices and alcohol abounded. There were lots of choices for activities. The service was good from the wait staff. The conceirge was disappointing. We had expressed our disappointment with the room and were told in 2 days there may be an upgrade. We were never contacted by the staff about this again. The food was very good. The wine was not. We had a fabulous private dinner on the beach as our anniversary dinner. That was the highlight. I am always amazed in 2009 that there is not free internet at this price level of resort.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamatravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at Sandals Negril for the second time. We had stayed here 2 years ago and were impressed. We were treated Like royalty. We didn't think that it could be better than last time but it was. The staff is amazing. We found that not only are they attentive but you feel that each and every one genuinely care about your having a great vacation. The room was great. (we were in the Palms block) The food was outstanding. Even the room service food was excelent. Bar service was friendly, the pools were well maintained as were the grounds. We were offered the opportunity to make coments about any staff members that we felt were exceptional. We were unable to pick out a clear winner as they ALL were so great. I would recomend this resort to any of my friends and do plan on returning. You will love it as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itybitybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We had a GREAT vacation at Sandals Negril!!

Facilities are superb - but the people really make it a truly enjoyable experience.

We were pleased with the friendly service provided by all of the staff. Here’s a special thanks to Julian at the Grill and Michael at the Bayside. They provided almost anything that we desired – even a fresh coconut and breadfruit!! Julian, we loved the volcano sauce!!

In terms of entertainment, Sherrie was great and at the gym, Ian was very patient. And, who can forget the exotic Althea?

Best of all, even Management participated in making everyone comfortable. Horace, the general manager, came around personally to ensure that everyone was happy; and his rendition of “big bamboo” was fantastic. Of course, Wolfgang was wonderful too.

Thank you all for a really great time! We enjoyed our vacation and have fond memories of the beautiful, friendly people at Sandals.

D&D Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Our trip to Sandals Negril can be summed up with one word-EXCEPTIONAL. This was our first trip with Sandals and we decided to go there for our honeymoon. The white sand beaches are fabulous & well kept. The staff is sincere, friendly and extremely helpful. They're willing to bend over backwards to get you anything you want. As someone who has traveled to beach destinations all over to places like Costa Rica, Puerto Rico & Mexico (some that were all-inclusive) I have to say that Sandals Negril is at the TOP of my list. There was always food and drink available during anytime of the day/night & if we wanted to stay in we could call and order a cheese and cracker tray with a bottle of wine. Not to mention the food was absolutely to die for...which I've found isn't always the case at all-inclusive spots. I'm sooooo happy with everything they did and have a feeling it will be hard to do any vacation in the future if it's not with this extraordinary company (SANDALS).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 64 in Montego Bay
5,437 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
7,017 reviews
82.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £344 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing