We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Just came back from our first ever trip to Sandals Negril and this will certainly not be our last! Everything was wonderful - clean, delicious food and drink, friendly staff - what more could you want on vacation!!!! If you haven't been, do yourself a favor a go! Soon come!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaShark18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,225 - 4,231 of 5,474 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

We recently stayed at this resort for a friends wedding and had a great time. The resort was very nice and the perfect atmosphere for a large group of friends and faimly to clelebrate. We enjoyed the large beach very much and the food is always amazing. The staff is always so friendly and anything you ask for is no problem mon!! We will definately return to this resort and other sandals resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eekaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My husband and I decided to go to Jamaica for our honeymoon. All inclusive is the best way to go! The staff at Sandals Negril were very accommodating and friendly.

The food is not bad. We liked the fact that there was a place to get food just about anytime. The piano bar was our favorite place at the bar - Dominic was/is the best barte

Here is some very important advice if you plan on going to Sandals.... DO NOT pre-book Sandals tours/ excursions before you go. It is a huge pain to get through to customer service (via the phone) to have them fix their screw up. It is like talking to a super dense brick wall. OMG!!!! We had canceled some tours prior to leaving for our honeymoon (as well as at the tour desk at the resort), and thought it was all taken care of until we saw the bill on our credit card. To spare the major frustration and headache, just book your tours/excursions once you arrive at the resort - they can fill up quickly.

The weather is nice but it's hot and very humid. Bring lots of sunscreen as well as bug spray. The ocean water was the perfect temperature -- the pools were not bad either.

Make sure you bring money to tip the men at the airport who carry your bags. They are not associated with Sandals and expect to be tipped (About $1/bag). If you do go on any excursions, make sure you bring tip money for that as well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hockeylvr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

WOW, what words can describe our stay at Sandals Negril. Yes, I will admit we were automatically partial to the trip because it was my first trip with my brand new bride, but everything else went so well that I couldn't help but write a few words about it!
We were married on August 8th with an evening wedding, so by the time the night was over and we making our way to our hotel it was already 2 a.m.. We had a 6 a.m. flight out of houston so with very little sleep we jumped on a plane headed south. Things started off perfect from the start as we were upgraded to first class on our connecting flight to Miami and our flight to Jamaica! We arrived in Jamaica late morning and immediately were whisked away to the Sandals private lounge at the airport. The staff was so friendly and helpful in getting us a couple drinks and to our shuttle to the resort. Once on the shuttle we quickly made our way to Negril. This one thing would probably be the only thing annoying about the trip is that it is an hour and half drive to and from the airport but it's quite scenic and almost exhilarating the way they drive!
Once we arrived at the resort they began checking everyone in from our shuttle. They took us all up to the check in lounge upstairs. We were immediately introduced to one of our Butlers, Dwayne. We were originally reserved for a 1 bedroom loft suite but I had requested to be upgraded if anything available. I also requested our Butlers (Dwayne and Denato or Double D!). If you have any requests don't be afraid to ask! Once we were introduced to Dwayne he began to take us to our room to finish check-in, this is where we found out they had upgraded us to a 1st floor swimup river suite with private entrance! just like we'd hoped we got our requested butlers and our suite upgrade!!! Once arriving to the room, Dwayne popped open a bottle of champagne. He went through all the check-in procedures right in our suite while we sipped away. They gave us a cell phone to help be in touch with the butlers which was awesome, anytime we needed anything we just gave them a ring and they got it. One example was that I wanted to try red stripe in the bottle. The resorts stopped serving red stripe in the bottle and began serving careb because it comes in cans, but you can still get red stripe on tap all over the resort. Dwayne quickly ran to town and brought me back a six pack of red stripe!!! how awesome.
Now for the amenities: overall i would rate everything an A++. Every restaurant had a unique style and flavor. I love all types of foods so I was in heaven, my new wife though is quite picky and found a couple places a little exotic for her tastes. We both loved the 4C's since we love pasta. As for the bars, get used to liking jamaican appleton rum! they make a daily drink that is served at all the bars and bets are that it is mostly made with appleton rum. you can get really anything to drink you want though. Definitely take advantage of some of the entertainment and games. We played beer pong as well as some other couples challenges. We won some great prizes and met some awesome people. TAKE THE CRUISE TO RICKS! that is the best thing you can do while in negril. ricks is amazing, rated a top 10 bar in the world by the travel channel, and the sunset was unbelievable. if you're daring enough you can jump off the cliff. i did it and it's a memory ill always have.
All-in-all, the trip was a trip of a lifetime. We couldn't have asked for anything more for our honeymoon and can't wait to go back. The jamaican culture is so relaxed and fun and they treat people with great respect and friendliness. If you will be staying in a butler level suite, request Dwayne and Denato! they are two of the nicest craziest guys you will ever meet, and they WILL make your trip as enjoyable as possible. DD, if you're reading this THANKS!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kortnjoe_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We enjoyed this resort, but mostly enjoyed the wonderful people of Jamaica. The resort was well managed, clean and extremely friendly. The theme is definitely weddings, couples, anniversaries. Somewhat of a 20-30 yr old crowd just because of weddings, but absolutely no wild partying (like spring break hotels). Some older folks there vacationing. Everyone just totally relaxing. Anything you needed, they made sure you were taken care of. The staff's motto: We want you to slow down, relax and have no worries. The people are just happy. We felt very safe, even when venturing off property to shop and tour. Once you get away from the resort, you see the country and are reminded how lucky you are to live in a great country. We will return, but probably to a resort where we can bring family (probably to Sandals Beaches).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bffhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Service A+. We were treated like royalty. Everyone was super nice, and it did not seem as if it was because they were being paid to be nice. It seemed genuine. Some of the waiters made a point to know our names, and one of them even ran to the bus to say goodbye when we were leaving on our last day.

All water sports are included, except for para-sailing and jet-ski. Glass bottom boat ride, wind surfing, kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, all included. With the free food, activities, and transportation, Sandal's high price gets a couple steps closer to being reasonable.

Food A-. Food is really good, but it's more hybrid rather than fully Jamaican. They had no brown stew fish, and I did not see any lobster. They do have many different type of restaurants with different cuisines, and the Japanese one--Kimono--was good. This is the only hotel you have to make reservation for, and it is best to make your reservation at least 2 days in advance. Check out the beach grill for lunch.

Room B+. The décor was nicer than any rooms I've stayed at in Mexico, but not as nice as Vegas. Keep in mind though we got the basic tropical delux room. I had not read any reviews from people who stayed here, so I was not sure what to expect.

Hotel Grounds A+. The gardens are beautiful. The beach is really nice. The lobby is a tad dated, but I think they are about to start some updates. The atmosphere is romantic. About 80% of the people there are newly weds.

Sandal's provide free transportation from and to the airport, so there is no need to pay for separate transportation.

If you want to try some different food that’s 100% Jamaican, take a 5 minute cab ride to Cosmos. Cab ride should be less than $3 US.

Take a stroll down the beach. The beach in front of Beaches has a little less sea moss than Sandals. And on the opposite side of Sandals is Hedonism where you can swim in the nude.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Spent a week for our 30th anniversary at the Sandals Negril Beach Resort. Was extremely pleased! Stayed in a Honeymoon Beachfront Concierge Suite. Wasn't a large room but clean and nicely furnished. Did have a beautiful view of the beach from our balcony. The wet bar and frig were stocked - all inclusive. Having your own concierge is invaluable, as the concierge can make reservations and schedule tours, etc. and answer any questions you might have. There is one restaurant, Kimonos, that's very hard to get in. Book your reservation there as soon as you arrive or you won't get in (especially without a concierge finning for you). I recommend the romantic dinner for two on the beach. Our concierge had rose petals and champagne chilling in our room when we returned. The entertainment was average - could've been alot better. It is mostly younger couples and newlyweds, but we enjoyed ourselves nonetheless. Great food and service, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice_77068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
32.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#7 of 80 in Negril
4,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
1.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £398 - £1,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing