We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Vacation”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have been to Negril on numerous occasions. First time at Beaches Negril.
Beaches Negril is situated on a gorgeous beach and the friendliness of the staff towards guests and especially towards the children is exceptional. Had to use the on premisis medical services while there and they too were just amazing.

Things that need updating/improving. 1. The pools - very dated and too deep for small children. Waterslides were great but if you weren't 42" then you really had no place to play. The pools are oddly situated and have really few places sit. Was unfortunate. Sun beds - plenty on the beach - few by the pools. 2. Towels - no where to be found. We spent an hour each and everyday looking for towels. When travelling with 3 young children, the last thing you want to be doing in the scorching hot sun is searching for towels. Was frustruating. When we would ask for towels, no one knew when the fresh ones would be coming.
3. Food and Service at the Mill - not very good. Food choices were limited, often found it hard to find food for the children - thank goodness for the sliced cucumbers on the salad bar. The children's "food" was not appetizing - hot dogs floating in grease etc. Fries were good. Fruit was limited and the staff in the food area at the Mill was not friendly at all. (The Buffet at the RIu Negril is 100 times better than at Beaches) On only 1 of the 5 nights we were there were we asked if we'd like a beverage at dinner. Disappointing. The food at Seville(the Italian restaurant) was great, but the wait to get in was ridiculous (they didn't accept reservations).
Can not compare to Beeches Turks and Caicos in terms of food choices and quality.
4. If you want to reserve a cabana on the beach do it the second you arrive. Were were promised a cabana for two days. The concierge verbally confirmed. When we went to find our Cabana we found out they were all booked as he neglected to make our reservation. Would have been great for the kids, guaranteed place to have shade - and they bring you towels too!

Oh and be forewarned...take a look at the balcony doors and "windows". Some of the loovers do not have glass behind them...big holes for huge beetles and mosquitos to enter your room. Pull the drapes back when you get there. We were on main level and had huge creepy crawly visitors everynight. Once we finally caught on we stuffed towels at the base of the doors to minimize what came into the toom. Opt for 2nd floor suites or even 3rd (keep in mind stairs only, no elevator for strollers).
The room itself was VERY clean, no complaints - mini fridge always stocked, nice flat screen TV....

Still love Negril but will try somewhere new next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mmia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,264
    1,158
    356
    215
    112
See reviews for
3,809
237
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is the third time visiting Beaches Negril for my family and as always it was wonderful. The service is exceptional and all the staff is sooo friendly. We rented a Cabana for the week and had the same staff member for the third year. Her name is Denesha and her service was out of this world!!! My kids love her (as do I). Denesah is so kind and considerate and goes above and beyond to make our stay exceptional!! Needless to say I plan to "Soon Come Back" for year 4!!! Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Get the concerige...it's worth it. The resort is small so there are no really bad room location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbeckwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for 5days and was incredibly relaxing. Staff was incredible with phenomenal service.We have 3 older teenagers/young adults and they were busy enough with activities available.Room was lovely and spacious. Food was great. At breakfast, pastries were incredibly light.Great variety of food. Richard at the bar, Nicola with the photo shop were great. And the spa was incredibly relaxing with Camille and Celia. I guess I am not picky, but some of the negative reviews concerning the rooms and food -baffle me. We have been to Beaches Boscobel which is also wonderful, but think I would visit Negril again soon because of the large and spacious beach

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

First all-inclusive with the kids after two trips where it was just my husband and I at Sandals Negril...we actually prefer Beaches...beach is much wider and the staff are amazing...they make all the difference in the world!!! They ask your first name and then address you by it all week long!!! NOVIA...best waitress and employee overall :) KEVRON...played soccer on the beach with our two boys (11 and 9) and always went the extra mile!!! TYRON...cut a fresh piece of aloe and showed my husband how to apply to his sunburn!!! COLLIN...genius with the camera and the kids :) OPAL...best bartender at the swim-up bar near The Mill :) ROY...best bartender at the swim-up bar near Arizona's :) JERMAINE...my own personal lobster man!!! BARTENDER ON THE BEACH...huge apologies for drawing a blank on your name right now, but you always talked to my boys Patrick and Charlie about their soccer jerseys!!! WATERSPORTS...all of you guys were awesome...you taught my guys how to waterski, kneeboard and snorkel :) OSHANE...best entertainer...especially when you taught me a new dance move so I won the Mum's Dance Contest :) There is so much to do if you choose to participate or you can just lay low and chill...food is great...bartenders are not at all stingy with the alcohol :) Our last night was a seafood buffet with lobster tails followed by champagne and chocolate in the sunken garden!!! We will definitely be back and we're telling all our friends about it...much better than Cuba or Cayman Islands in our humble opinion!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Concierge Service...totally worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Beaches Sandy Bay but spent every day at this resort. We ate in all of the restaurants. We have a 10 year old daughter and 16 year old son. The entertainment staff were outstanding. The day we arrived O'Shane grabbed my children and said "mom, go relax I am stealing your kids". I rarely saw my teenager unless he and the pack of 16 teens walked by us. Jermaine made our trip. He and my son became fast friends. Do not hesitate to allow your children to partake in the activities. They will have a blast! Thank you to all of the staff as we will be staying here next year! Ps. Jermaine-Coop says hello!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marnieWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

First time ever reviewing a property but really had to do it because it was so wonderful. It's easy to post reviews when you have a bad experience but forget to mention when things are great. Check in was easy, had concierge plus I did on line check in so it was very quick. The lounge at Montego Bay airport was so convenient, and we didn't wait at all for our shuttle to Negril. The resort grounds were very well kept, I had an oceanview suite and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. Housekeeping kept it very clean and every night had turn down service so we felt so spoiled. We rented a cabana on the beach (Kevron was amazing, just couldn't do enough for us) but if you want one you need to book as soon as you get there because they sell out. You have breakfast and lunch on the beach, a cooler of drinks at your disposal. All in all such a special day. The food at the resort was great, we had no complaints. The drinks top notch, especially the dirty bananas. Loved the Berringer wines, it was so nice to be at an all inclusive that had good wine! The entertainment at night was family oriented which was fine even though we had no children with us and you can't miss the steel drum group. They were playing Adele, no Yellow Bird on their steel drums! They were unbelieveable. All in all, it is a great resort for families, the children were all having a blast. The had a chocolate buffet one night and we heard a little girl telling her mom it was the best day of her life! I highly recommend the resort, get the concierge and be spoiled and if you really want to be spoiled get the butler! I felt safe there, the beach and the water were out of this world, I would stay there again and not think twice!

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view, and the concierge was nice as check in is in a seperate room, they make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 175woodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I just want to say what an amazing resort Beaches Negril is. Our family had the most wonderful time. It was our first time to Jamaica, and the staff was so welcoming. There was so many activities to do for all age groups. We ate at all the restaurants and the food was delicious. Our room was beautiful and spacious. I would highly recommend the butler service. Our butler Ricardo was so fantastic and made us feel so special! I also visited the Red Lane Spa and recommend a visit to Marcine, she is so talented! Collin is such a great photographer and takes the best photos. The resort offers such good entertainment. Oshane was so friendly and nice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsfitzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Property: Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing