We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation at Beaches Negril resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
upstate New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation at Beaches Negril resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the Beaches resort at Negril, Jamaica from April 19th to the 25th.
It was the most relaxing, fun trip of our lives!
We got an all-inclusive package which included all meals (from any of five restaurants) and many other amenities.
The beach at this resort has to be the best in the world, with fine white sand remarkably free from bits of stone or shell (and so white, the sun doesn't even make it very hot) and the water is crystal clear and free of seaweed, etc. Those who wish to do so may choose from various water sports available (we just relaxed on the beach, for the most part).
The variety and quality of food and drink would be hard to beat anywhere! The people are friendly and eager to please.
Anyone with children would find this resort an ideal place to go, with many activities for all age groups, including a water park right there in the resort!
Plus, we estimated the price of this package was comparable to us driving to Myrtle Beach for a week!

Helpful?
1 Thank wwarwick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,180
    1,130
    339
    209
    110
See reviews for
3,689
233
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

My spouse, two children (six and two) and myself were at Beaches Negril the week of March 7. We stayed seven nights and had a great time. We were not thrilled with the room, however. It was small and the bathroom really needed an upgrade. Our room had one king-sized bed and we requested one crib and one rollaway, which made the room feel really small. I'd ask for a room with two double beds instead. Other than the size, the other problems with the room were that the remote control didn't work (when someone came to fix it, it stopped working again five minutes later), the patio door was really hard to lock and the room faced the main road, which was noisy. The final night of our stay there was a concert in the empty lot next to the resort and it lasted until 6 a.m.

We''ve enjoyed our stays at huge resorts in the past so I didn't think I'd enjoy staying at a small property but it turned out well. My two-year old could walk around the resort, which proved helpful because the property is not at all stroller friendly. There are stairs everywhere: to get to the pool, to get from the pool to the beach, to access the lazy river and sprinklers, even the two steps up to our room.

We found the buffet adequate most days, with plenty of options for all of us. We loved the seafood night on Tuesday (ate many lobster tails) and the wine choices every day. The jerk chicken and stewed beef were great. Because it's easier to head straight to the buffet when my kids are hungry, we didn't go to the a la cartes (didn't miss them, however).

The beach is the nicest we've been to in the Caribbean. The sand next to the sea is pristine. The sand closer to the resort has more debris (leaves, twigs, etc.) from the trees above. There's plenty of shade on the beach, although you do need to arrive by 9 a.m. to find a spot in the shade. We parked ourselves in the same spot on the beach each day and found it easy enough to walk to the pool, lazy river and water slides for a quick dip. There are not enough chairs or deck space around the pools, nor enough shade, so we didn't hang out there much. The pools have no zero clearance entry. Added to the very limited deck space, I found it unsafe for my two-year old to walk beyond my reach.

We loved the all-inclusive nature of the water sports. We took advantage of the aqua bikes, banana boat, glass-bottom boat ride, hobby cats. We rented jet skis twice from outside vendors, too. There are vendors who walk across the beach and park their jet skis right outside the ropes around the swimming area but they aren't very pushy. Once you walk outside the property limits, they do kinda swarm you. Speaking of swarming, the resort photographers are pretty aggressive in snapping photos of you constantly, even taking photos of your kids without permission and giving them the claim tags to bring back to you. They take nice photos but the prices are exorbitant ($295 for up to 100 photos).

The entertainment was OK. There was a circus show one night. The kids loved the Sesame Street characters and night-time performances; the parade was great, complete for marching band. We went to one breakfast and got loot bags. The most fun night was the beach party. The staff really know how to get everyone dancing and we all joined the huge conga line. Would have stayed later if my kids weren't burned out.

All in all had a great time. This is a wonderful resort for kids and would recommend it to friends. I'd go to Beaches Turks and Caicos before retuning here since we like to visit different places each time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

worst family experience ever...."beachfront" one bedroom suite - with no beachfront....no room service....sewage treatment "aroma" persistent in our room. touted as 4 star - barely a 2. entire hotel needs complete facelift. Oh....if you aren't tatted and pierced - you'll be WAY outta' place.....and all for $10K for a week? biggest disappointment in 20 yeras of travel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunnypirate2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

we arrived on the 3rd of april after a long trip from glasgow via london.
Beaches kingly upgraded our room and then were good enough to change it with out us asking but it was not in the ideal location as my dad is blind. The journey from the airport was a bit of an eye opener. When we arrived a beaches we were taken to the concierge lounge and provided with cold drinks and cold flannels to cool down. Very quickly i felt at home and settled in beaches. With in a day i met Sherrian the teen coordinator and she transformed my holiday and gave me the best 3 weeks and 2 days of my life. I am normally very shy , but sherriann encouraged me to join in. Some teen activities included group dinners/lunches ,bonfire partys, beach partys off property, a teen cruise, disco sessions, beach party, pool party, water sports, sherrian looked after the teens at theese activities very well. The night time entertainment was very good but at the end of the 3 rd week i seen them 3 times. The restraunts were fntastic lots of vsrity at the mill , kimonos was great fun and a fantastic experiance, the sevile was very posh but beautiful, last chance saloon was very tasty , cafe carnival was great for snack the jamaican patties were lovely. The beach burger grill was great for lunch time at late night snacks. The choice of non alcholic drinks and cocktail was fantastic. We would have loved for the place to be non smoking , but that may be something for the future. When we were delayed for an extra ten days because of the volcano in iceland i was delighted.
I have never been so sad to leave a holiday and would love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxsarahehmxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

We have just returned from a 3 week trip to Beaches Negril , should have been 2 weeks but had an extra week due to Volcano. Hotel were very good at looking after us for an extra week at a cost !
The beach is beautiful, lovely and wide. Staff work extremely hard and always have a smile on their face. Our son,11, enjoyed doing the DJ sessions our 7 year old daughter enjoyed to do some of the kid's club activities, both children enjoyed the x box room and trench room ( air hockey, tv, basketball).
We have stayed at Beaches Turks and Caicos twice, will return their next year as they have a lot more restaurants, more pools, less transfer time and beautiful beach.

Towels - We had a problem finding towels in the morning, a few day's they didn't bring out towels until 11am. You have to be up very early to get a space by the pool, Butler's reserve a lot of chair's.

Make sure you bring bug spray, lot's of bug's !!

Overall it is a great place and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownOwlSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

My husband and I, our 3 daughters and their husbands and our 6 grandchildren , ages 3 months to 12 years, had a perfect family vacation at Beaches Negril. Our 12 year old granddaughter describes it as "the best week of my life"
The child care facilities and children's programs were wonderful. The food in the main dining room and restaurants was excellent, and the staff were always cheerful and concerned that we were having a great time. Make sure you make restaurant reservations early in your vacation . Kimonos was fantastic!
The rooms were very nice but a little crowded for a family of 4. However, our complaints were respected and 2 of our daughters and their families were upgraded to a more comfortable space at no additional charge.
The beach, pools and water sports and, especially the lazy river were fabulous. Everyone hated to leave when our week ended.
The most difficult part of the trip was the arrival and departure with the long wait at immigration and the hour and 20 min. ride from the airport to the resort. But, everone stated that it was well worth the aggravation!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jOYCEg104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a great time. The kids loved the pool and the swim up bar...they loved ordering all the special kid drinks. They also enjoyed the nightly entertainment. They had dinner set up on the beach one night, it was a good time! Every night they would slip a schedule under your door for the next days activities. The glass bottom boat ride was fun and the hobie cat boats were a big hit. Go to Janet just down the beach, off the resort for braids and jewelery... went to her a few times, braids for my daughter and some jewelery for me!

One thing that I was disappointed about was they were filming a new TV commercial and each day they had something different closed. They had the water park closed one day, more than half of the beach was closed off another day... made it really hard to find a shady spot to sit. The resort was very busy due to the volcanic ash ordeal. A lot of weddings at the end of the beach we stayed at. They seem to cater to that. The day they had the beach closed off they also had a bunch of weddings and had a lot of the areas where we liked to sit reserved for the wedding parties to sit. We paid good money to stay their too!!!???
Our room was small. We were supposedly upgraded to a oceanfront luxury double. Wasn't much room to walk around with the roll a way bed in there. Hard to get out to the patio...tight squeeze. The water pressure was so low it the bathroom. A few times the water wouldn't even work.
One thing I have to say is that the employees work sooo hard, from morning to night...always with a smile too!!!!
The bus ride to the resort was scary, the driver was kind of reckless! The one going home was much better.
All in all was a good time though...would have liked to stay another week!
Also... bring bug spray and the pictures are a ripoff!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sky4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
2.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
89.4 mi away
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
2.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Negril Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Negril Resort & Spa

Property: Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Negril Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on the widest stretch of Negril's seven mile white sand beach•Stay at one, play at two with full exchange privileges with Beaches Sandy Bay including a choice of 11 dining options•“Pirates Island” Water Theme Park with 4 slides, meandering “lazy” river and splash deck•Caribbean Adventure with Sesame Street themed activities with daily character appearances, parades and stage shows•Kids Kamp & Nursery with wide range of supervised activities•Interactive Teens Program with “Trench Town” Teen's Center and Teens' Coordinator to coordinate teen activities•Expansive Two & Three Bedroom Butler serviced suites•Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV's & Xbox® 360 game consoles•Beaches Resorts were voted “World's Leading Family All-Inclusive 14 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences•Six Star Diamond Award, Beaches Resorts – Keeping it Green•EarthCheck Platinum Certified ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaches Negril Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Negril Hotel Negril
Beaches Hotel Negril
Negril Beaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing