We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - if you are looking for a specific trip”
Review of Beachcomber Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber Club
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect - if you are looking for a specific trip”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

2 friends and I went to the Beachcomber last February (haven't gotten around to writing a review yet) and we had the most amazing time. Unlike many of the big box resorts (Riu, Sandals, etc...), Beachcomber has a certain personality and small-operation mentality that is a welcome break from the bigger resorts. I'll break down the areas and comment on them specifically.

Location:
The Beachcomber has THE BEST LOCATION on 7 mile beach. It is smack dab in the middle of the 7 miles. If you turn right out of the hotel, you walk towards the bigger hotels and if you turn left, you walk towards Jamaican owned shops, restaurants and beach vendors. Literally, if all you want to do is sit on the beach and chill in the water, this place is for you. A nice added perk is the fruit stand lady located next door to your left. We went there everyday and she started giving us discounts. The fruit was delicious.

Food:
We loved the food at Beachcomber but you have to set your expectations. Instead of serving 100 items that are all bad, the Beachcomber server 2-3 main dishes which are all delicious. The nice part about this is the authentic Jamaican cuisine that you won't find at other resorts. I've been to many all inclusive's and they usually serve bad American food (hamburgers, fries, etc...) but here it was all Curried goat, jerk chicken, fresh fish. Every meal was delicious and there was always enough, provided you got there at the right time. Since the resort is much smaller than normal hotels, when they say dinner is at 6:30 - you better show up on time. Once we came at 8:30 and there was basically no food left. If you got there at the right time, you could help yourself to as much as you wanted (I guess that's why we didn't get any at 8:30 lol). Nontheless, the food is good and authentic. You won't get sick from this food.

Staff:
One of the best parts about the Beachcomber is the staff. Since there are only roughly 40-50 people there at any given time, you really get to know the staff. They will go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best. Susan, the bartender always had our drinks ready for us in a jiffy and Claude (the beach cleaner) always reserved our seats for us in the morning (after a $20 tip at the beginning of the week from each of us). I can't tell you how nice it was to wake up at 9am and have the best seats on the beach reserved for us. Well worth the $60. Everyone else was nice, courteous and friendly. Oh and Claude is a good guy to go to for booking things on the beach. We asked him to refer us to a Sea-do guy and a Snorkeling guy and everyone worked out well. He even gave us a loaf of bread to take Snorkeling to feed the fish.

Rooms:
Huge, like totally unnecessarily huge. There are no marble floors or huge king size comfy beds but I mean, how long are you in the room for everyday anyways? We had 3 washrooms for the 3 of us, a kitchen, living room, dining room, huge balcony and 2 rooms. One of them didn't have A/C but our buddy just opened the window and the breeze off of the ocean was fine. Overall, you get what you pay for. I feel like in the 60's/70's when this place opened, these rooms were top class. They just haven't updated them since then lol. No bugs or bedbugs or anything though - everything was clean and perfect for what we needed.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Beachcomber to anyone who wants a real trip. If you want to sit by a pool and have people serve you from morning till night or waste tons of food just cause you're on vacation, this isn't the place for you. For people watching their wallet, looking for the perfect beach and to make some great friends - you won't regret choosing the Beachcomber. We're actually about to plan another trip here for February 2013. Looking forward to seeing you guys soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    97
    47
    22
    32
See reviews for
66
111
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Me and a bunch of friends go to the yearly summer parties in Negril and decided to go with this hotel. We were all happy we made the choice! The price was very reasonable and the hotel is very simple, sleek and quiet.

Upon arrival, we are guided to our rooms, given our keys and explanation of how to get help from staff. They seem to only offer suites, 2+ rooms with multiple beds. The beds are a bit small, made for just one person, except a master bed in one room. The living room area is great for lots of people to sit, chat, laugh, watch tv, etc. There's a kitchen with stove, teapot, microwave, clothes washer/dryer, dining table and bar table. There's also a balcony table with view down the walkway to the beach.

The bar is open most of the time, up to about 1am at night, and opens around 8am in the morning. Don't think we were ever awake that early to catch breakfast because of all the partying and getting in at 4am or 5am :-)

There are local attractions like Jet Ski, Para-sailing, Glass Bottom Water Tour, Scuber Diving, etc.

All in all, we all enjoyed this spot and will be coming back next year!

Room Tip: Remember to bring sunglasses, slippers, lots of shorts and your own bathroom gear (toothbrush, tooth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Beachcomber club for a week in August, and we couldn't be happier with the hotel. The staff is warm and welcoming, the food is great, the rooms are nice and spacious, and the beach is just, absolutely beautiful. I felt at home immediately. My wife and I fell more in love with each sunset.

Room Tip: Get second floor, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jah186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you are looking for an all-inclusive without the corporate bustle of the big hotels and a more intimate interaction with the staff, the Beachcomber is the place for you. My husband and I just spent 7 days of absolute paradise here. The staff was attentive, meeting all our needs. Letriecia (sp?) and Taniesha took exceptional care of us for all of drinks and meals. Nelson took care of us on the beach. The meals were EXCELLENT here (all freshly cooked to order). Ran into Canadians that stayed at the Bahia Prinicpe in Runaway Bay and they said there was no comparison with the food. They said it felt like herding cattle with the buffets and by 8AM all the beach chairs were claimed. We ate one meal off the resort at Cosmos; while the food was good there, I felt the Chef (s) at the Beachcomber could have made a comparable if not better meal. We ate Jamaican meals at the Beachcomber the whole time and the Chef (s) even accommodated a special request of Fish Tea. It was to die for and we all had seconds. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Superior room withe Oceanview is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maritess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I always enjoy our stays at the Beachcomber in Negril.
It is small and cozy and just great for r&r. The beach is the best, Beachcomber has a large beach front, so you are not all crammed in like sardines like many of the other places..
We have stayed in the rooms, the studio, and also the one bredroom apartments..
All being just fine.. The staff are great, in no time at all they call you by name which is nice..
Anyone of them will go out of their way, to help you or get you something.. It is also very nice to go back and see the familiar faces...Jeffrey, Tanisha, Elitricia, Lily, to name a few..Everyone is very freindly..
The food is quite repetative , but always good... great jerk chicken!!! The hotel setting is very nice also, you never have to walk far to get anywhere.. The atmosphere is cozy... We love it and will certainly be back again in December..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daffodilsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I had the wonderful pleasure of visiting Beachcomber Club for a day with my family in May 2012. As a child, my parents used to take me there and it is still the same cozy, charming property with wonderful service. The size of the bathrooms are just wonderful for my family of five small kids and the food was excellent and of course witnessing the sunset from the bar was priceless. My writing of my experience is just a small way of saying thanks to this amazing place.

Room Tip: There are single rooms available and also two bedroom spaces. Nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeeFos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just arrived back from spending a 2-week vacation at The Beachcomber and thoroughly enjoyed it! This resort was much nicer than I expected considering the price and its rating. We slept really well in spite of a few nights on the weekends of loud noise from Margaritaville and Chances, the king bed was really comfortable! The staff were friendly and nice. The food was really good and adequate ( not too many choices on the buffet). However, I would have liked more fish and less chicken! I also would have liked fresh fruit and cheese option at each meal instead of only at breakfast. The absence of desserts did not bother us, the Jamaican rum cake,etc at supper was enough for us, and was very good.The location is perfect with lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance from the resort. This resort has a much larger and nicer beachfront than most other resorts of similar rating. Now for the negative: Guests who leave their cigarette butts in the sand really disgust me! Even though the beach is raked each morning, the cigarette butts remain! Also, we were not thrilled to see horses and dogs on the beach! The vendors did not bother us at all, for the most part they left us alone once we told them we were not interested. We love Jamaica and have vacationed there a number of times in other areas. We love the island with all its beauty, the culture, the food, the music, but most of all - the people of Jamaica is why we keep coming back!

Room Tip: There are no fridges in a standard room. Upgrade to studio if you need a fridge. All rooms are conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.1 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.4 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#71 of 80 in Negril
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#44 of 80 in Negril
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Club

Property: Beachcomber Club
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Negril
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Club 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the middle of Negril's beautiful Seven Mile beach. Superior and Standard rooms with king sized beds. Wedding events/functions available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Club Hotel Negril
Beachcomber Hotel Negril
Beachcomber Club Negril
Beach Comber Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing