We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also got sick from the water...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and I also got sick from drinking the water. Almost everyone we spoke to that was staying at Legends this past week got sick, some very sick. I am back home now and still recovering. Stomach in a lot of pain and constantly running to the bathroom. When I wasn't sick I had a good time, but all the activities I had planned to do except snorkeling had to be cancelled because I was too sick and didn't feel comfortable straying too far from the hotel. I loved the staff, but I think I would not stay at Legends again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyygarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We are at the resort now and many of us have gotten ill. We believe that it is from the water. After 7 days here, we were just informed that it is not boiled or purified. They serve this water daily at dinner and have a pitcher that you can get a glass yourself at the bar. You would think that the management would inform the guest to only drink bottled water! I have been in bed for two days and my friend 3 days, and one trip to the doctor/pharmacy to get $50 worth of meds. Not my ideal vacation!
The staff is very friendly and sympathetic to our plight. The food is pedestrian at best. MaMa couldn't be nicer and Michael watches us at the beach, from the loads of peddlers and pot smoking locals. The rooms are clean, but could use refurbishing. The faucets are old and work sporadically. On certain nights the bar next door hotel plays incredibly LOUD music that rocks the doors and windows till 3 AM.
Save your money and go to a nicer hotel!

Room Tip: Stay on garden side to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hinesdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We had a blast... We stayed garden side which we felt gave us a chance to cross the main road a little more often which added to exposure to of the culture... We have never stayed at a boutique hotel before mostly just the bigger resorts.... Legends changed our opinion of travel... Local life was the best part of the trip... The hotel staff was very personal and some even remembered our names...yes, bring every thing you might need for traveling and bring small bills for tipping and buying things because everyone wants some of the tourism money... We did a couple tours with the locals and we recommend doing the same... This was a great experience not just for the beautiful beach and amazing sunsets but Jamaicans are extremely proud of their culture and it seems as though everybody wanted you there to has a good time... Legends is really in a prime location for everything, we even used the same taxi driver all week... $5 gets you anywhere... The nonstop approach on the beach can be a little much at 1st so your best bet is to say "no needs mon" trust me it works.. We thank Legends staff, Michael goes out of his way for you as wellas Danielle at the bar area... and Donovan... And Grassford, he sang the rain away the last day we were there, he sang all morning at the top of his lungs until the rain stopped.. Priceless... We are planning our next trip already...

Stayed: December 2012
6  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Legends resort is beautiful situated on the beach in the Negril area. It is sister hotel to the Samsara resort that, as a contrast, is situated on the cliffs with its clear blue water and corals and with good opportunities to snorkel and dive from the cliffs. There is a daily free shuttle between the hotels so that you can choose what type of water site that you prefer.
Most of the hotel rooms and huts at Samsara have sea view. This is not the case at the Legends resort. Legends is divided by the main road with one part with a garden view and the other part on the beach side closer to the restaurant and the beach. A guard is always on duty to guide you across the road which is good since the Jamican traffic can be both hectic and unpredictable.
We stayed at the garden side at the Legends. The rooms on the first floor have a porch but are rather dark so try to get a room on the second floor with a balcony instead. We changed room for that reason.
The rooms are fairly basic but are kept very clean at all times. And that goes for the rest of the resort as well. There are no amenities other than a soap so make sure to bring your own shampoo, hairdryer and other toiletries that you might need. Also there are no beach towels so bring that as well of by one as a souvenir at the hotel shop or at the near by shopping mall. If you need drinking water there are a small mini mart close to the hotel that have most things that you might need. (bottled water is not included in the all inclusive alternative).
We did not have the opportunity to check on the rooms at the Samsara but from what we could see through an open door they looked pretty much the same as the Legends.
We choose the all inclusive alternative which includes most drinks and also the buffe. At both hotels. We were disappointed with the food as a whole even if there for some meals were some good alternatives. All drinks, even for dinner, are served in plastic cups of a flimsy type. We could partly accept that when drinks are brought to the beach but at dinner a real glass would have been nicer.
Staff is very friendly and service minded.
The beach is crowded with people trying to sell all kind of stuff from lobster and fruit to excursions and water sport activites. Sometimes a musicians playing calypso and reaggie music and expecting a tip in exchange. The hotel and beach guard does his best to keep the sellers outside the hotel beach area but it actually adds to the feeling of Jamaican life and spirit. At the Samsara there is nothing of this since the cliffs creates a “natural” border.
If you are looking for luxury we don't think that this hotel is for you but if you are looking for a beautiful nature, clear waters and don't mind the rather basic touch this might be for you.
Finally a recommendation for the management.
Improve on the food
Upgrade the rooms with hairdryer and the usual amenities that should be available in a hotel room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Povl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The hotel rooms were clean, did get maid service everyday, the sheets didn't get changed everyday unless you asked.
Be sure to bring your own beach towel and a insulated large mug for drinks. Mosquitoes and sand gnats are terrible as the sunsets bring spray or buy in the shop it has more deet than what I had from USA. Also bring hydrocortisone cream to stop the itching cause your gonna get bit.
We did not do all inclusive. Had breakfast buffet every morning wirth the $12.00. Other meals we ventured to the local spots which were very affordable and great food. You must try the lobster pizza next door.
If your looking for honest locals ask for Damien by Bourbon Beach he will help you see & do what you want to do and save you $$. Bernard is also a truly honest local that can arrange tours zip-lining etc..save $$.
3 of us went (ladies ages from 28-57 each of us made memories to last our lifetime..but we have a bucket-list so we will return to Negril in the spring. We loved our patio....had friends visit from Falmouth and it was nice to just sit around and talk. The security guards do their job making sure your safe on property. Take a chance....trust me!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was our third trip to Jamaica but our first time at Legends. The first night they put us in a room over the bar area which although the room was okay we didn't care for. The next morning we went down and requested a ground floor room and they moved us to a different room on the beachside. The room was great, very clean and large.

Lots of people complain about the food but we had no problems and Mama always had something on the buffet we liked. Keep in mind this is a small resort, only 50 rooms so don't expect a huge buffet like at a Sandals or other resort.

The beach is what makes this resort and Michael the beach security guard is awesome. Treat him with "respect" and he will take excellent care of you. All the other staff were also nice, pleasant and willing to help make your stay enjoyable.

If you want a different experience then the big mega chain resorts then Legends is the place to go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harleyrider1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

On my first trip to Jamaica I stayed with three friends at Legends. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We noticed one morning our room had a leaky A/C but it was was promptly repaired within an hour. There are two sides ocean view and garden view. garden view is located across the street. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to ocean view. All of the staff were jovial and helpful, and a pleasure great to converse with. Michael is amazing at his job your things are safe and sound on the beach. I went snorkeling every day and everything was always in tact when i returned after an hour or two. He keeps unwanted hagglers away who are harassing beach goers and allows you to relax. The food is alright, I ate around Negril and not much at the resort. The location is nice and a local taxi is 350$ each to the cliffs or there is a shuttle available to their sister resort Samsara. Its only a brief walk to downtown to explore. its also a short taxi ride to various night spots like Jungle or Alfreds. There no spa or fitness center on site which is one drawback but if that's not your thing it's a moot point. Whenever i'm in Negril even if i'm staying else where my dad and i always stop back to say and go for swim and to say wah gwan to the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortableJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#47 of 80 in Negril
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £66 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Free roundtrip shuttles transport guests to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's seaside cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing