We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wasted Christmas & New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wasted Christmas & New Year”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Food was the worst i have ever seen or tasted , All Inclusive Not !!!
you only have 2 choices of bones ( supposed Jerk chicken ) and rice and meat balls and half cooked pasta oh and to top it a small slice of cake for desert ..... great if you dont like cake !
Christmas well what a pants one it was .... bar shut at 10pm and again on New Years eve 10pm
no entertainment with the exception of the bar next door having booming music until 5am
the whole room was vibrating with the beat of the music which just seemed to get louder and louder as the night wore on ,( forget going to sleep ) this happened a few nights whilst we were at Legends
we then opted to be moved to Samsara for the second week , if we could have moved our flight home we would have but even the reps kept away , the staff are more polite and helpful there and it was more peaceful no whisting drug heads to annoy you all day
Samsara had the same choice of menu 2 options
we would never go back.... we love to travel and go to different places but going to Legends realy spoilt our Christmas and has put us off of going to other places at Christmas time
be aware that they will quite happily take your money for all inclusive but they cannot provide you with the all inclusive deal ....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    303
    203
    101
    101
See reviews for
166
369
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kasterlee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

If you have the choice don't choose for the all-inclusive option. The food is very basic and not variated. Friendly staff though! Many rooms are located on the other side of the street which is another downside. Luckely there is Glassford, the security guy, who leads you safely across the street. And yeah, there's reggae music everywhere, night and day. The main reason I go to Jamaica. ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A perfect location to experience the local flavor. Hotel was kept clean and staff friendly and welcoming. The loud music from nearby clubs, would prevent me from returning to Legends. Would not recommend all inclusive option, as food in nearby restaurants is far superior. Staff had difficulty making change, when paying in the restaurant with cash. Never to our benefit, it seemed.

Room Tip: A great place to experience the local flavor. Hotel was fine, however, the late night loud music f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have just returned from Legends and my family and I made the best of it while we were there. we did get the all-inclusive, but wouldn't recommend it unless you plan on drinking your moneys worth. THE FOOD was HORRIBLE and they have you on a time limit of when you can eat. If you get there and the "hamburgers" are gone then they are gone, they dont make extra even with an hours left of the allotted meal time. We ended up eating out the last 3 days because the food was soooooo horrible, we went next door to Kuyaba and had some of the best food ever. be warned there are a ton of cats that come during meal times, if your a cat fan you will love it if your not you will hate because they beg like dogs! The beach was nice and we stayed there most of the time because our room had nooo thrills.. MICHAEL is the best thing that legends has going for them, he helps keep the hagglers at bay and keeps the crazy locals away, if you need anything like jet skis he will get you to the right person. staying here you to do get a better feel of local life if thats what you want, we had to cross the street to get to the beach everyday (garden side) which is annoying but were glad later because the music next door on the other side is CRAZY loud. the rooms are very basic: bed, bathroom, table, tv (from the 90's) nothing else and the closet looks so gross we never unpacked. BRING YOUR OWN BEACH TOWELS, or prepare to buy some when you get there.. they only provide bath towels and we had to ask for those repeatedly!! i will not be returning to this hotel, but would stay next door with the nicer rooms and better resturant.

Room Tip: Garden side much quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I am a seasoned traveller, but was not prepared for how across the board terrible this place turned out to be. Service, food, beach, and pools were just bad. There is little to no security and local drug dealers, prostitutes, and peddlers virtually roam this small resort. It is necessary to cross a busy street when walking from rooms to the beach and bar. I tend to disregard negative reviews figuring the reviewer was disgruntled or sour, but I am seriously trying to help anyone considering Legends to know it is not wise or enjoyable to stay there. I left three days early because it was so bad.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zygotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Beach is beautiful but it almost seemed prettier when we took a walk a ways down the beach and had lunch at another resort. The water seemed crystal blue elsewhere and a bit murkier at Legends. Not sure how that happens!? Lots of hagglers on the beach not had a problem after a firm and polite no. It was actually kind of fun to experience. If you walk higher up from the shoreline, on each beach resort property, you will be less likely to be harassed due to resort security. 2/5 nights at Legends we were literally rocked to sleep with heavy, beating, vibrate your bed kind of music. We were happy to be moving to Samsara for the last 5 days of vacation with the exception of missing the beach and breeze. The rooms are clean at Legends. Bring your own shampoo, soap, and beach towels. Lots of people on the all inclusive plan brought insulated cups for beverages. We did not go all inclusive because we like to get off the resort for experiences and would be bored otherwise. Food at Legends, however, was fine. We ate breakfast buffet there on a few mornings. Mama is smiley and kind. Staff was pleasant. Michael, beach security, seems to bust his butt. Loved the little convenience store just outside the property, opposite the beach. Cheap sodas for a day of exploring. Don't be afraid to leave the resort and take a walk. Downtown was bustling, however, and we felt a bit overwhelmed. During our stay we saw a young man who was drunk beyond comprehension, piña colada always in hand. Even started to have a bloody nose, as staff tried to help him locate his girlfriend. I never saw this man cut off. Same man, respectively, cut off at Samsara. I am a people watcher so I was entertained by the chaos on the beach. I loved watching people trying to sell sugar cane or rasta men playing their guitar. Heck, I was even a bit entertained watching the drunk man stumble all over the property (but he should have been cut off!!). Legends....It was an experience. I was intrigued and I'd do it again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank catchthetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and I also got sick from drinking the water. Almost everyone we spoke to that was staying at Legends this past week got sick, some very sick. I am back home now and still recovering. Stomach in a lot of pain and constantly running to the bathroom. When I wasn't sick I had a good time, but all the activities I had planned to do except snorkeling had to be cancelled because I was too sick and didn't feel comfortable straying too far from the hotel. I loved the staff, but I think I would not stay at Legends again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyygarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
2.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#35 of 81 in Negril
1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.0 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,562 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hideaway at Royalton Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Property: Legends Beach Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing