We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stole our money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stole our money”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stay here at your own risk! We purchased a Groupon for this resort, and they would not allow us to redeem it on a technicality. We were not refunded the money, but rather told that we could apply the amount to a future stay, which would have been full-price.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank jennahumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, General Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your post and the opportunity to offer more information about your concerns. The Groupon voucher has a clearly stated deadline by which bookings must be made with the hotel. In this case the date was July 19, 2013. However the value of the voucher never expires, and may be used as a credit after the booking date has passed, with any difference in rate being the responsibility of the traveler. These terms and conditions are clearly stated in writing in several places and purchasers must agree that they have read such policies before completing the purchase. According to our records you contacted us on September 18 to inquire about making a booking. This is 60 days after the book by date, which is fair to say not a minor lapse in time. You were offered to use the full credit of the voucher and pay any difference, which you declined to do. We regret any disappointment you experienced however the title of your review is not accurate as we did not in fact collect any money from you whatsoever. I suggest you contact Groupon customer service for further inquiries. Thank you for your interest in staying with us. We hope to welcome you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    298
    201
    100
    102
See reviews for
167
364
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there in April 2013. We had stayed there once before and were given a room across the street. This time they put us in their 'sister' hotel next door and it was not as good as the room we had across the street at Legends the year before. However except for rain getting in from the roof one night, it was still a decent room which I would rate at approximately 2 or 2.5. I believe the name of the resort was Tamboo.
We like the food at Legends. The service for the most part is excellent. The location is also very good. Security is amazing and the manager Paul is always at the ready. We would go back provided we could get a room across the street again. We didn't get the all inclusive. The beach is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the nightlife, I highly recommend getting a room across the street. K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaDa_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was the second trip with my boyfriend to Legends and happy we came back. Stayed 7 nights. The rooms are great for the price-large and comfortable king size bed, hot water, tv, AC, and a balcony (ask for second floor). The bathroom could use some updating, but for the price it is more than adequate. This is not a room for someone who is use to high end hotels. The grounds are beautiful with lights in the trees at night to light up the walkway. Located near a lot of other good restaurants, cafes, minimarts, and a Duty Free Shopping area.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful-will help you find taxis, restaurants, answer any questions. Mike, the security guard on the beach is great! He looks out for you and your stuff. Keep in mind- there will be hustlers who try to get you to buy things for them. This occurs throughout all of 7 mile beach, but seemed to be a little worse down the beach by Legends. I think this is because (1) Legends' beach was one of the more crowded with tourists and (2) the beach is thinner here, so the hustlers can get closer to talk to you. (They technically cannot come on the property where your beach chairs are located). At first they can be annoying, but you get use to it. Some of the people are very friendly and end up giving you good deals on things.

You can gain access to the sister hotel which is a major plus of staying here because you get the beach AND cliffs. Went to Samsara 3 days. We love the beautiful water, cliff jumping, and snorkeling...with no hustlers!! It is great being able to take the shuttle. Free pick up at 10am and return at 4pm. But if you miss it, you will pay 5 dollars US for the ride.

We do not do the all inclusive because we like to go exploring to eat much more variety at local restaurants. We had one breakfast (eggs) at Legends and it was not very good and more pricey compared to other places nearby. The happy hour (2 for 1 drinks) is great though from 4pm to 7pm!

There is WiFi at the beach bar/restaurant. We also were able to get WiFi in our room at times, but they said we wouldn't be able to. I do not think all the rooms get it, depends on where you are located.

Room Tip: Beachside- don't have to cross a road to get to beach, and most rooms do not view the beach/ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for two weeks. Where do I start. . Great location.. best beach you could imagine. Hotel staff are friendly. .
We stayed in a room across the the road from the beach. Very busy road.. so beware. Told on top of paying for two weeks all inclusive we had to pay hundred pounds room deposit.and a pound anight room tax. Do not go all inclusive . Rubbish isnt the word. Worst all inclusive ive ever stayed at. Restrictions on drinks
.food 2 choices. Repeated . Cold food. And servings are tiny unless you ask for more. And if you dont like eggs then forget it..as every morning thats as much as you will get. Never stay here again ..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zeezee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just stayed at legends for 4 night and it was great. I had the all inclusive deal which included breakfast,lunch,diner and liquor. I thought that since it was all inclusive the liquor would be watered down but was wrong. The food was amazing how ever i wish there was more variety or more jamaican dishes survived just to get a taste of the culture. I also had access to the sister hotel Samsara with the all inclusive deal. That hotel is on the cliff side and it is just beautiful. There is free wifi at samsara but none at legends. Legends provides a free shuttle bus to and from Samsara. Over all i had an amazing time. This hotel is located in a great area. Not to far from the bank, supermarket and other shopping areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quanda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I just returned from a week at Legends and it was very nice. I've vacationed in Jamaica for 13 years now and this was my first stay at Legends. I stayed all inclusive and room only at many different resorts. I must say that I have been missing out by not staying at legends. I took my 18 year old son, AI beach side. The rooms and the grounds very clean, large and updated. The staff is wonderful, including the manager. They treated my 18 yr old as if he was there own,. The food was good and my son loved Mamas pumpkin rice! Legends is located in the middle of the beach, which is where you want to be. We also utilized the AI at Samara, which is much quieter than Legends but even more beautiful. The food there was good also. I will be returning for ATI in August 2014 and will return to Legends. It was cheaper for me to cover my drinks and meals, especially for a 18year old and spend more money at the parties and the concert. The negative reviews I think are from people who prefer a South Beach Florida feel, but that it not Jamaica. If your reading the reviews, the negative reviews are not a true reflection of Jamaica it is rustic with natural beauty. Also, the is a excellent driver outside Legends, his name is Orlando he is a rasta with a silver bus. Very nice guy with fair prices. Check him out! Thanks for a Wonderful time Legends see you soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side a quieter. High steps for the second floor. Very good ac and hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DPieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Please dont listen to these negative comments you are getting what you pay for. This is no pay means a 4 star hotel but its awesome. The staff is GREAT the rooms are CLEAN the grounds are AMAZING. I spent my 30th and 31th birthday there and plan on going there every year.. ITs amazing. I encourage to fo all-inclusive even if you dont eat all 3 meals there. the drinks alone pay for it. Love staying at Legends and going to vist Samsura in the evenings for the sunsets. Nothing but great things to say about this place :) Cant wait to visit again

Room Tip: beach side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,397 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Property: Legends Beach Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing