We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never book at Legends again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legends Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked three nights at the Legends Resort in Negril after leaving the Half Moon resort in Montego Bay in April. The service at Legends resort was poor. The staff does not greet you in a friendly manner, in fact, they look at you quite strangely. The cable TV in our room barely worked. The manager did switch out our TV when we first arrived when the house keeper cut on our TV and discovered it didn't work (so at least we had something). We had two double bed rooms and the room quality was sub par. The beds were not vey comfortable and we didn't have a good view from our room.

We also had issues with getting the staff to actually respond to our needs. We called twice to get extra wash cloths and never got them. We also called twice to toilet paper and didn't receive anything until the next day. Also, the wifi offered was very bad. We paid $36 each for wifi service that didn't work half the time and was extremely slow. Additionally, we had an all inclusive deal where we received free meals and drinks from the hotel's restaurant. Unfortunately, the meal selection from the resort restaurant was terrible. We ordered pizza when we arrived that wasn't warm and didn't taste good. The next day they offered cheese sandwiches. Yes, cheese sandwiches! Not to mention, the soda was always flat. Because of this we started frequenting the restaurant next door to Legends which had food quality that was much better.

The only decent thing about Legends is that the resort building is a short walk to the water. The water is pretty shallow but it is a half decent view when you sit out on the sand.

I know this resort review is all over the place but I honestly don't have anything good to say about this resort. The quality of this resort should be likened to that of a Motel 6. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.


Andrea

Room Tip: There were no "good" rooms from what I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DreaTheGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your constructive comments and feedback with us. We are truly sorry that your visit was not satisfactory and your expectations weren't met. The majority of our guests consistently mention our friendly staff, tasty meals, and excellent customer service. However we apologize that this was not your experience. Rest assured we take your comments seriously and will use them to guide our team towards improved customer response at all times. You may be interested to know that we've just recently completed the installation of 40” flat screen wall TV’s in all of our rooms which is a great addition to our accommodations. Once more, thank you for your visit and informative review. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit to beautiful Jamaica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a room at " the back" across the street and found the sound bounced straight towards us at night. If you like to party, this is fine, otherwise I would get a beach front room so you only hear the ocean!(?) .
The food was very good, clean and had healthy selections. I found security to be good as well, although the hockers were more aggressive across the street.
One thing that stressed me out was the garbage dump next door.....across the street. I'm sure this is common , but it was an eyesore...

Room Tip: Beach front, or beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Betty! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our chefs do work tirelessly each day to provide fresh and healthy meals for our guests to enjoy. A beachside room/ Ocean view room is a great recommendation. Many guest prefer to book a room on the beachside as all amenities are in close proximity. While others prefer the peaceful setting on the garden side across the street with its large private swimming pool. Thanks for your encouraging words about our security team as well, which is comprised of dedicated and hardworking guards who work around the clock to ensure the comfort and safety of our guests. Thank you again for your review. Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Legends Staff made our trip so enjoyable with their EXCEPTIONAL customer service. Sheneka, Adrian, Paul, and Shanna ensured our every question was answered and every need was taken care of. Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience! We miss you already and hope to return someday soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have AC. The AC unit noise is welcomed over neighboring loud beach music at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J and C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that your stay was enjoyable. Our staff work hard and are dedicated in providing you our guest with exceptional customer service. We are more than happy to know that all your questions, issues and complaints were dealt with accordingly. Remember to contact us for your return guest discount when you’re planning your next trip. Thanks once more for this lovely review. Until then, Peace and Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Clayton is Negril's best bartender. He makes the best Bob Marley's ever! Adrian and Paul are always here and always helpful. The staff is friendly and very personable. The location was amazing. I would recommend staying beachside as opposed to across the beach road. A few times security wasn't available to help us cross and we had a hard time getting across. Overall, amazing and will be coming back.
As a warning, bring beach towels and wash clothes. The hotel ONLY provides one small "rug" for the bath and 2 towels. We bought towels at the giftshop located on property ($10usd). Other places along beach wanted $20+ for one. Overall, amazing value and already planning out next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennDeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you friend for this lovely review. Indeed Clayton is a great addition to the Legends Family. Our staff will be more than happy when we disclose your review in our next meeting. Our guards are usually on spot in assisting our guest to cross the road but we do apologize for the times you had difficulties. We are nevertheless happy that your overall experience was satisfactory and you found your vacation package to be of good value. We’re very pleased to know you’re already planning a return visit! Be sure to send us an email to receive your returning guest discount. We’ll be ready and waiting to welcome you back. One love friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our third stay and every time we visit, we enjoy it more. It's nice the staff remembers my friend and I and folks go out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. New fence & more beach chairs are a nice addition since our last visit July 2013.

The GM, Shauna, Marvia, Jennifer, Adrian, Clayton, Michael - you guys are fantastic and you've helped make Legends & Jamaica our favorite place to vacation . Thank you so much for everything. Clearly you guys love what you do and it shows in your interactions with guests.

The food is great and we love every meal.

We love you, Legends! See you soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you friend for your return visit review. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be happy to hear of your review and how they went above and beyond to satisfy your every need. You may be interested to know we've done some improvements to our accommodation, re-painted all rooms and installed new 40” wall TV’s in every room. The guest love the new improvements. Thanks for making reference to our meals. They are prepared by our top chefs who put hard work and dedication into ensuring every meal is properly prepared. Thanks once more for your lovely review. Hoping to see you again soon. Until then, One Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Upon our nightmare at Bourbon Beach we walked over to see pail the manager of Legends we got in contact with kailon from samsara who was so helpful to us as a walk in 4 ladies frazzled she helped us get internet rates and proceeded to put together 2 rooms for 5 days.
This was not our first time at Legends, I don't know why we thought we would try another resort. It lesson learned. We are safe, rooms are spotless, a/c rocks you'll need your blanket. It's just a pleasant environment.
I'll be back on the fall.
Oh I forgot to mention Michael the security guard beachside, goes above and beyond to make sure if you don't want to be bothered by peddlers he will swish them down the beach.

Room Tip: Garden side is very peaceful, large pool....hidden secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you Darlet for your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed Legends and Jamaica despite the rough start to your vacation. We’re glad that our reservations team managed to get you an accommodation at the resort. Our rooms are kept clean each day by our housekeeping team, A/c temperature adjusted to suit the comfort of our guests and provide refreshing comfort. Security is tight and Michael “the man” himself goes out of his way to ensure our guests’ safety and well-being. We’re pleased to know you’ll be returning to stay with us in the Fall. Let us know if you have any special requests for your return visit to Legends. Thanks once more for your comments. One Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a great stay here. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful and the beach is LITERALLY right out the back door! Can't wait for our next stay! A special thanks to Adrian and the really nice guy from the bar who never goes home for making out stay extra special!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L, Guest Relations Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Melissa! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and that your accommodations were comfortable and always kept clean by our hardworking housekeeping team. Our staff strive to make our guest happy, always with a smile and ready to answer any questions that our guest have. Thanks again for your comments. We will be awaiting your return. Bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
665 reviews
2.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,359 reviews
0.9 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 80 in Negril
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hideaway at Royalton Negril
4.0 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,631 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Beach Hotel

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 Family Hotel in Negril
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £48 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Free roundtrip shuttles transport guests to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's seaside cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Legends Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing