We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Legends Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$78
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
US$767
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
252
333
217
106
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
333
217
106
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister resortcrossing guardsecurity guyfree shuttlestop trafficbusy roadrooms are basicjerk chickentwo double bedslobstercable tvworked greatjamaican foodpattiesstar resortgreat guycallaloo
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The title of this review should be all you need to know. Avoid this hotel. We arrived to discover that the hotel was overbooked and there was no room available for us (we made the reservation six weeks in advance). The staff told us not to worry, because they had booked us a room at the sister hotel, Samsara. Samsara is fine, but is a completely separate hotel that is NOT on the beach and is an entirely different experience (not the beach vacation we were planning - we were able to get to the beach via a shuttle bus that only runs twice a day, or had to pay for a cab). The staff lied to us and told us that we would only have to stay there the first night, until they got the situation straightened out. It turned out they had no intention of resolving the situation, and they had us booked for our entire trip at Samsara. The reservations manager was only in the office from noon until five, and refused to come to the front desk to speak with us in person. We had to communicate with her through her ridiculously unhelpful and powerless staff who looked at us with vacant expressions, shrugged their shoulders, and gave us absurd explanations for the mistake like "We can't see reservations before the day the guest arrives - it's just how our computer system works." The reservations manager literally HID from us - we could actually hear her through the wall telling her staff to inform us she was out of the office. They did not compensate us AT ALL for the inconvenience. With all other beachfront hotels booked at such short notice, we had no choice but to stay at Samsara for the full trip (only four days, which means we wasted valuable time trying to deal with their mistake). That said, Legends is not even a nice hotel. We would have preferred the location to Samsara, but even if we'd gotten a room at Legends, I would have been disappointed. Generally subpar, very crowded beach front, mediocre food, not even good for a bargain hotel. Look elsewhere, unless you want to risk having your vacation royally screwed up by the incompetent idiots who run this place. Sad. Definitely go to Negril - just don't deal with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wonkmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Manager at Legends Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not having your room available and deeply regret the inconvenience. On very rare occasions guests are relocated due to inclement weather, flight cancellations, or technical issues. Unfortunately your post gives the impression that this is somehow a regular event, which is not true.

For the sake of accuracy and fairness to readers of this forum, it is therefore important to correct your record of the events.

The reservations manager did speak with you, in person, at length, inviting you into her office, assisting you while you spoke with your travel service on the phone. She made a number of offers to compensate for the inconvenience, all of which you refused. Some of the offers she made included giving you a full refund on your booking and to personally assist you in finding alternative accommodations to your liking; she also offered you complimentary daily breakfast as well as complimentary spa treatments for you and your friend. You did not wish to accept any of these gestures. We made every attempt to make the best out of a regrettable situation, which understandably may have not been acceptable to you. But to represent that our team was indifferent to your feelings and made no effort to ensure your comfort is grossly incorrect.

Our colleagues and travel partners consistently compliment our reservations and front desk team for their accuracy, professionalism, and courteous attention.

Thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Don't get me wrong...the property at Legends is beautiful....but once you open the door to your room, you are in for a rude awakening.
The room is very basic...the bed is oddly placed...and it takes up most of the room.
If you want a basic clean room, then Legends is for you..If you want to vacation, and feel like you are on vacation..then this is not the place for you.
The service here sucks. I went during one of their busiest times, during ATI/Dream Weekend....over 20 parties in 3 or 4 daysl...this is also the Jamaican Independence Day Celebration.
They over booked rooms, people had to find other places to stay, which was ridiculous being that everything was already sold out..
I did not like the resort and the first day, I said I would not stay and wanted my money back.
Luckily for me, I only paid the deposit and not the full balance. They refused to give my money back, and tried to charge my credit card repeatedly for nights that I was not at the hotel.
The front desk manager was rude, the staff was rude. the only thing I like about Legends was the restaraunt..and the food was not that great. I have been to Jamaica 4 times, and Legends is the worst place so far...
if you want a great place worth your money...check out Rondel Village.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamericanDiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Apart from the hotel food which was not very nice especially as its overpriced, everything is charged in american dollers not JA. The location couldnt be better, we walked the whole 7 mile beach and found we had the best part of the whole beach! water is gorgeous but futher up where 5* hotels sandals and couples, the sea was more closed off with hardly any space to swim! if considering staying either at samsara or legends it has to be legends for sure, samsara is all cliffs but the hotel is much more nicer to look at, no beach though! The smoke is great just again they charge you in american dollers which is not much short of pounds! would reccomend to everyone just dont excpect a smile off the waitress's either unless you tip them. if your looking for tours or days out go find doctor gregory on bourbourn beach hes excellent and made our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Beautiful beach, excellent staff. Kudos to Michael, Orett, and Omar (the chef). Michael keeps the hawkers from hassling you, and watches your stuff--very safe! Rooms are spartan, but clean. Towels are a precious commodity, and treated by the hotel as such! Delicious "native" food, and plenty of it. Short distance to great reggae clubs. Mostly older Europeans stay here (who can be quite rude!) but made friends with some nice German girls (hello, Melanie and Carmen!). We'll see you all next year!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebeaches08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Ok to put this into context, whilst in Jamaica we spent 5 days in a house in Spanish Town with no hot or running water, followed by two days at a cheap but fabulous hotel in Ochi Rios, followed by 7 days here at Legends. So we had experienced the different parts of Jamaica and for the most part did not have many expectations....

We arrived at about 12 in the afternoon and could not check in early because they did not have our room ready. We could accept this since it did inform us of this on our booking paperwork, and so while waiting in the bar we met the loveliest staff member they have; Lavine. She can tell you anywhere to go, the best parties, where to eat, how much a cab should charge to go somewhere - she is literally the fountain of knowledge!! We spent a few hours with her that afternoon and even gave her some of our clothes when we were leaving because she was so lovely.

When we checked into our room, there was a nice decorative heart made from the towels and some pink flowers, i thought it was quite a nice gesture. The room was clean and the balcony was what we had been missing from our hotel in Ochi, although the way the hotel is laid out means that the rooms do not give you a room of the beach, just neghbouring hotels!

We stayed on a room only basis because we like to explore and ate everyday at the best local restaurant; Colettas. If you come out of the beach side of the hotel and turn left, approximately 7 minutes walk on your right hand side is Coletta's. It looks like a little, yellow wooden house, but the food is fantastic and SO cheap!! There's also a restaurant in town called Sweet Stop/Spot - something like that, does lovely food and last but not least, Kuyaba next door to Legends does the BEST lobster!!! It isn't cheap though but the food is absolutely to die for!!!

The hotel itself is okay, we had a few guests round on a couple of occasions and they had to sign in and then were told they would need to pay in $US if they did not leave our room by 10pm. That annoyed us intensely, since ultimately it was our room and they were not intending on staying, we were just enjoying drinks etc.

The hotel does employ staff to manage the vendors on the beach and sort out the sunbeds: Smokey, Mike and Snoop. They are the loveliest guys ever and we do miss them. They are so intelligent and can fill you in on all things Jamaican. They attend to your every need and do boat and road trips too. If people try to harrass you to buy things then Mike will tell them to go away and if necessary reach for his bat! They are great, they really try to protect the holiday makers.

All in all however, the hotel is on a long and boring beach and has nothing much to offer itself. It's partner hotel, Samsara, is equally as boring, just on the rocks by Rick's cafe. I personally don't like Negril very much, I think it's quite boring and the 'west end' at night time is very dead and unappealing to those who want to have fun on holiday and go out etc, after Rick's Cafe has been visited, there isn't really much to do :-( I had high hopes for Negril but really ended up disappointed. The hotel did not add anything to the trip sadly either.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brow987b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews