We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandy Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandy Haven Resort
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandy Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of July and had the most wonderful time at Sandy Haven. After a long day of traveling, we were welcomed at the front desk with refreshing rum punch brought promptly to us. We stayed in the 2nd floor in a garden facing room. We did have 1 problem with our toilet, however it was fixed, the staff was very attentive to us at all times. Some shoutouts worth mentioning: Loyette our waitress was always incredibly friendly and provided great service at both breakfast, and dinner ; Kayon gave us impeccable service for all our random front desk requests and at the shop at the front of the hotel, and our taxi requests. We also cannot forgot Merrill, our wonderful housekeeper that kept our room tidy and even helped us get a mattress pad for our bed. Orlando + Andre were also super friendly at the bars, providing great conversation and gave us tips on what to do while visiting Negril. The staff really made for a wonderful vacation while visiting Jamaica, and we have already talked about coming back to this hotel with friends and family.

Room Tip: Any room is good! we stayed all the way in the back upstairs and we loved it! Very spacious compared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    175
    47
    33
    22
See reviews for
75
315
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our 4th stay at Sandy Haven, and it just gets better and better. The room was as comfortable and beautiful as ever, and the beach was as gorgeous as ever. The breakfast was outstanding. They have mastered Blue Mountain coffee and brew it to perfection. The fruit plate is fantastic. Over four days and with a group of seven we tried just about everything on the menu and it was all delicious. In fact all their food is good, we had all our lunches there and we did dinner at Bongo's one night. Their Jamaican dishes are excellent. The service has gotten better too. Melissa, Andre and Pops are unfailingly helpful and pleasant. I love the turn-down service at night. We always got fresh towels which was a nice bonus. I also love that there are thick fluffy towels everywhere on the beach and at the pool. Beautiful property, the decor is magazine-worthy, lots of detail, and the garden area is lovely and tropical.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are my favourites, especially Room 115, at the end. I could wake up and walk ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artemis_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We visited Sandy Haven after finding a Livingsocial deal. What a find! The service is so friendly and top, top notch. While the dining options are definitely pricier than what you can find wandering the beach (which I urge you to do when you visit), they are DELICIOUS. Bongos' dinner is beautiful and tasty. Sit at the bar any time of day (and until about 10pm) to chill with the friendly bartenders and sip up the Red Stripe and rum punch while you listen to the ocean. Complimentary continental breakfasts were included, so we enjoyed our morning meal on the beach each day. The rooms are clean and room service is excellent at keeping them that way. Get to know your neighbors, too, this makes the stay even better!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room. We didn't, and still LOVED our stay, but would've enjoyed a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Sandy Haven was the best choice for our stay in Negril, Jamaica. We were here July 23-30th 2013 and it was great. The entire resort only has about 35 rooms and you get personalized attention from the moment you get there (they start you off with drinks at check in, heck yes!) to the moment you leave. You basically have your own personal beachfront and the view is spectacular. Their food from the restaurant Bongos and from the bar is best we had in Negril, sure it's a little more costly, but you get what you pay for. The chicken skewers, jerk chicken, banana pancakes were INCREDIBLE. Definitely the best food with most flavor. They also had awesome tropical drinks. Must try the Andre's Special, you won't be sorry! The taste of Jamaica in a cold glass. Sooo good.

Standouts: My man Sefton, always there when we needed anything, my guys at the bar Andre an Orlando, kept the tropical drinks and Red Stripes comin, Pops, super cool dude, and everyone on the grounds is so friendly. We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Staying at Sandy Haven made my trip to Jamaica monumental.
After a long rainy ride from the airport, we were greeted by what seemed like every staff member in the hotel on our way to check in. Pops followed us with our bags from the front desk and returned shortly after with a welcome Rum Punch.

I won't brag on every little this but Pops took care of us the entire trip. Andre was the best bartender and the rest of the staff took excellent care of us. The room was very clean and spacious and the property was very clean. The exceptional luxury service easily takes this property from a boutique to a luxury property. I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charisma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for July 4th weekend and had a truly wonderful trip except that on the Thursday lunch time (the day we arrived) we told them the shower was broken and was only running cold water. I realize we are in Jamaica and living on Island time, it's great, i love to relax and couldn't care less where cocktails etc are concerned but they took 3 days to fix the shower. We had hot water on the Sunday morning (the day we left). I'm pretty sure if we had pointed this out they would have told us we didn't stay long enough. We kept quiet because Jamaica is such a beautiful place and the beach, people, water, food were so good that this did not spoil the holiday, but it is mildly annoying if you are paying $500 a night for a room to have no hot water. Great place in a great spot, and I am pretty certain this is the exception rather than the rule, but...could do better.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southwell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleman, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I came for a visit at the hotel and it was such a fast one, although it was late, the front desk agent Kayon handled her time wisely and fast. she was great and the rum punch that she went and got for me, since I assume the bar was busy so no one was there to help. she managed the situation well and with great professionalism.

The rooms are exceptional, I had just one problem with the food it was a bit salty but other than that everything overall was great.
The Staff were very friendly, Professional and courteous especially Kayon and Sherika. They Both ensure that all issues are dealt with at the given time.
I had a Ocean front room and although it was a short trip count me in again because I am coming at SANDY HAVEN for another visit.

Thank You Guys for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#36 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Property: Sandy Haven Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Haven Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing