We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic jerk chicken”

The Best in the West
Ranked #10 of 194 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great authentic jerk chicken”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We kept hearing The Best in the West named as the best jerk chicken around, so we made the short walk from our cottage for dinner one evening. It was indeed a generous serving of delicious jerk chicken served with rice/peas and some veggies, along with a cold Red Stripe. Yum. We actually planned to go back another day but ran out of time. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    192
    58
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good jerk but no spice”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

More if a sweet sauce with not too much hit. Not really my thing but good nonetheless. The real deal will be up the street. Look for " Blue dandy," we had jerk chicken 5 times and blue dandy tops the list. Blue and white striped barrel/cart. He will come out in the early evening and sling jerk all night long.

Helpful?
Thank rossf434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good Jamaican food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Nice little place to hang out, have some red stripes and some awesome jerk chicken. Hang out with some of the locals as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Jerk I've Found Yet!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So good we stopped twice in two days, 1/2 chicken plus rice and peas for $12.00, can't beat the deal! Plus they make awesome drinks and let us watch the World Cup with them while we waited :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Steamed Fish”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ordered the steamed fish because it would be a wait for a new batch of jerk chicken. Nice portion of fish with okra, peppers, onions. Ordered rice and peas and plantain to go with. Filling meal at a reasonable price. Waitress was a sweet and quiet gal but gave very good service with drinks and checking in on us. Good mixed drinks - dirty bananas. It was busy and all tables out front were filled and people driving up to pick up the jerk chicken they ordered. Nice likkle bar at night. Across the street from Idle Awhile and Charella Inn and a good local spot to try to have a break from hotel and beach restaurant prices. The owners are a nice family and if you are looking for a spot to stay a few extra days in Negril you can rent an apartment or cabin for $40 to $50 per night (low to high season) from the family. There is a likkle grocery store for a few items and drinks right on the property too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zenaida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Best in the West also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to The Best in the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing