We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My definition of Paradise!”
Review of Seastar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seastar Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Negril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My definition of Paradise!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Returned to Seastar in April of this year and am anxiously awaiting my return trip in 13 days. I will never stay anywhere else in Negril.

I love this place, the hotel is so nice. It is quiet when you want it to be quiet, and a party when you want a party. Just like everyone else has said, the staff is amazing. From the owners to the kitchen staff to the bar to the front desk to the groundskeepers to the security guards to the housekeeping. They all treat you like family.

The rooms are comfortable & clean and the porch hammocks got lots of my attention. They are so comfortable...too comfortable. I never wanted to get out. The pool is nice, and I spent many a happy hour there.

The food is delicious and very reasonable. The portions are also big. The bar has a great Happy Hour which I indulged in often. I took advantage of the beach shuttle if I wanted to go to the beach, but mostly stayed at Seastar. The drummers & band are always fantastic and it is my favorite thing to do in Negril on a Saturday night. The ambiance is amazing. Seastar provides something extra. From the returning guests, to people like Shakey and Miss Kitty. It just really feels comfortable.

Chris does a great job making sure he or his staff takes care of anything you need. Some highlights about his staff: Rochelle brought in a breadfruit and had it roasted for me, because I kept missing it. As I was always an early riser, when one morning I didn't make it out of my room (as I had over-indulged the night before), Barbara came to check up on me and even brought me bread and soup when I complained of my "ailments." Clarol always had to help me add time to the JA phone I had and she did it with a smile everytime. Randy & Alvin are a perfect combination behind the bar and so much fun. Delroy (the night chef) honestly saved my life, or at least saved me from cracking my head open, and/or wounding my ego. Kurt, Garrett, Rambo and Junior are all great too. The "go-to" guys. When it was my time to leave, I had my suitcase packed and was getting in the shuttle & I just couldn't go. Luckily they had a room and the girls helped me extend my trip.

I am returning to Negril in 12 days and I never considered booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scampbell0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    67
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
129
49
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

First off, I just want to say that most would not rate this as a 5 star luxurious hotel but what makes this hotel a 5 star to me is the staff and its owners Chris and Francine. It's true, they make you feel like you're apart of their family. From Henry our taxi driver to Michelle, our housekeeper, everyone, and I say everyone were friendly, hospitable and accommodating.
You don't have to travel far for authentic Jamaican food either. The restaurant makes pretty darn good Jamaican food and close to the take-out spots I've tried outside the property. Also, take advantage of their "One Love" reggae concert on Saturday night that includes and all-you-can eat buffet. For $30 its an awesome deal.
When I come back to Negril, I have no hesitation in coming back to stay at Seastar!


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starrynight310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel stay on Living Social. The best deal ever for what you get out of it!! Traveled w two other ladies and stayed in rooms 1 & 2, both upstairs and close to the front desk. We loved everything about this place. I have zero complaints (save the water pressure would dip in and out in the shower in room 2).
The staff is extremely attentive and see to it personally that you have what you need. From the moment we checked in w felt like family. Learned the local lingo from Randy & Stringbean daily while at HH.
Here's the meat of it:
The room: very spacious, vaulted ceilings, ceiling fan, nice sized bathroom, balcony w hammock and two comfy beds. There is a small fridge you can keep drinks and left over food in and a nice size sink for washing off the mangos the staff will gladly knock down from the trees for you :) Room was all tile on the floors so bring some slippers and it was air conditioned, which we only really used at night if the fan wasn't enough. Their are geckos and other lizards all around so don't leave the door open and you'll be fine.
The grounds: beautifully maintained and gardened daily and provide a jungle like back drop to this amazing little gem tucked away off the main road. The Reggae show, which they take personal pride in, was off the chain!!! The food was AMAZING, the singing was AMAZING (they sell CDs for $10), the drum circle and dancers phenomenal, and w Randy behind the bar, ALL of your drinks are nice and stiff. Tip the bartender often to find out first hand what I mean :) The pool is where we spent most of our time if not at Seven Mile beach (just a short & free shuttle ride away) has a swim up bar and Miss Barbara or Clara are at the bar helping you out. The staff does a good job rotating positions at the hotel, but all are equally friendly, attentive and genuinely glad to see you everyday. The breakfast is ok. I'm a fruit person and there was no fruit readily available. Mostly bread and other carbs :) Also it's worth noting that we missed lobster season so we couldn't indulge in any of the amazing lobster dishes on the menu :( the porage was not my fave but only because its sweet and consuming sweets in the morning it's no bueno for me. The company you keep at breakfast makes all the difference as well. Between our party and the others we befriended almost immediately, we tried the burger, Rasta pasta, conch fish, jerk chicken, & pizza. The pizza and burger are soooo good. The conch fish was my favorite though. The Rasta pasta is spicey so be warned. Speaking of spicey, don't leave this hotel without purchasing some of Francines hot sauce. It'll change your life :) Also, peas and rice as its referenced on the menu is not what it sounds like. It's basically just red beans and rice and super good.
They keep a security guard at the front gate 24 hours so never once did we feel unsafe. Taxis into town are available, but bring people w you because it can get pricey w just two or three people. Jamaica as a whole was expensive. Like HI, everything is imported and its a free market there so your converter will honestly do you know good. We were told when we arrived (because we inquired) that an uppity American attitude will not be received well by locals when out and about so be respectful and show the one love vibe the locals give off right back at them and you are received well!!! Pass on the flea market (tented area w numerous vendors) it's a rip off. Just go to Timesquare for souveneiers instead :)
I absolutely adored this vacation. It was the epitome of relaxation, which I owe entirely to Seastar's staff and the atmosphere of Jamaica as a whole. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meredith-SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I seen this hotel on Living Social and I'm glad I did. This hotel has to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff is amazing, they make it feel like you are part of their family the way they learn your name instantly. Everyone is always friendly! They have a bunch of repeat customers which speaks for itself. The owner Chris is a great guy. The things he did for some people in the neighborhood is truly inspiring. If you do stay here make sure you hang out or atleast talk to Shakey. One of the nicest people you will ever meet. He loves French fries and coca cola! I highly recommend this hotel. The pool is great the food is great and the beer is ice cold! Can't wait to come back! This hotel has found itself another set of repeat customers!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Over a year ago my husband and I had planned to return to Seastar for 3 weeks as a special treat for his 60th Birthday. My sister and her boyfriend (Jamaican born) would join us for 2 of those weeks along with my husband's sister and her husband.
A few months before vacation, I mentioned to my sister that if she wanted to consider getting married while in Jamaica - Seastar would fit the bill. Before you knew it, there was a proposal and the wedding plans were on! A few more folks signed up for the trip and another 16 folks from the States would be joining the blessed day.
Chris, the owner arranged the details as was requested by my sister to the absolute "T" - he took care of the Minister - the bouquet - the paperwork - setting up - and special request for authentic Jamaican buffet. The delicious buffet included curried goat - jerk chicken - red snapper and all that went with it.
My husband arranged to hire the local Saturday night entertainment staff, to provide us with live music after dinner.
The staff did such a wonderful job of setting up the decorations and ensuring that color themes as requested, were adhered to.
Since it was Valentines Day there was extra love in the air from all around.
Special thanks to the Seastar family for making a dream come true!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights in mid-may. The hotel is nicely kept and worked by some of the most friendly, homey people I have met. From the minute we arrived, I could tell the right place had been selected. Every day was filled with marvelous conversation not only by the staff but guest as well. The room was nicely decorated and spacious. The hammocks might be my favorite part! Add in excellently prepared food and you have the perfect combination for a wonderful trip!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patterd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is my second review of the Seastar Inn. April 2013 was my fourth stay there. This review is based on my experience as a solo traveler.

I have put some thought into why I have been back to Seastar for four trips in a row now. There are least several other great hotels in Negril that are well reviewed, but for me...Seastar is home. When I stay in the West End..it's Seastar, hands down.

There is no guessing at Seastar. The consistency and quality is the best I have experienced in 12 trips to the island. You will be satisfied each and every time.

Chris is the owner and he and the staff have a way of making sure guests are taken care of. Clarol, Barbara, Rochelle, and Rambo...as well as the bartenders Randy and Alvin, are simply great people who genuinely care about your visit. Okema is always wearing a smile and even the staff that I have not interacted with much are friendly and accommodating. Garret, the caretaker, is a guy Friday for the place and he helped me out with a scooter issue that would have otherwise been a nightmare. If you are looking for a spot where you can really settle in and relax...this is the place. The staff will take care of you and make sure you have a good time.

If it is your first trip and you don't know the area...the answer to how to get somewhere is just a question away...I've seen Chris give guests rides to the beach and to the ATM in his personal car, or arrange for the Seastar van to bring a party of 5-6 to The Jungle nightclub. I bumped into the Seastar's security guard, Rambo, off the resort and he stopped to have a chat. I asked and he gave me advice on where to go and what to do.

After one stay you will understand what I mean...and you will be back...it's THAT good.

The sense of security and comfort is coupled with huge, clean rooms, great food, an unmatched pool area and bar, and easy walking distance to the stunning views of the cliffs and Rick's bar. If you are looking for amenities similar to what you would expect in American or Canadian hotels...this is the place for you.

I love Seastar and it would be difficult to go to Negril and stay elsewhere on the cliffs. I'd miss "my home away from home" too much. Feel free to email me specific questions.

Insider tips: 1. the fish fingers are my new favorite menu item. 2. If you order a pizza and don't finish it, you can ask the bartender to keep it in the kitchen and they will warm it up for you later. 3. Barbara, at the bar most days, makes a KILLER dirty banana. 4. The jerk pork is great but it is almost TOO BIG to eat alone! 5. The free beach shuttle leaves at 11 am and will pick you up at 4 pm anywhere you want. Tipping the driver is courteous. 5. A good beach that is annoyance (higgler) free is Boardwalk Beach. I have taken my kids there as well as a friend and her 2-year old child and it is safe, and clean, with a nice bar right next to the water.

Room Tip: Room 17 is awesome, and I like Room 16 too when I am seeking lots of privacy. The safes in rooms 17...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brasi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#34 of 81 in Negril
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastar Inn

Property: Seastar Inn
Address: 4 Seastar Road | West End, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seastar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seastar Inn is located about 500 yards from the West End cliffs. Accommodations are nestled amongst beautiful, ultra-clean, manicured gardens. An enormous variety of tropical plants, trees, shrubs and flowers shroud the property. Featured onsite is a large, private swimming pool with swim-up bar, gazebo, and lounging chairs. There is also a recreational area with big screen television, dartboard, table tennis and pool table. The Seastar Inn also hosts its very own full-service restaurant and bar featuring a complimentary continental breakfast, with an extensive lunch and dinner menu. Saturday Night Live Reggae Show with buffet. Wireless Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Seastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seastar Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing