We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seastar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seastar Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the SeaStar in Dec 2013 and enjoyed it tremendously. It was the first time staying in the West End, the previous 3x I stayed on the beach. It's a great getaway from the hustle of the beach, and the people who own and work at this resort are friendly, helpful, caring, and respectful. I met a lot of repeat visitors there, and will become one also! I can't wait to get back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank JMCD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    67
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
125
49
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We vacation a lot ( several times a year) & we usually don't go to the same place more than once. We've been here many times & will continue to go. In fact were going back in March. This is the kind of place where everybody knows your name. Great staff, nice owners & usually, interesting guests. Every time we go we try to cover as many new restaurants ( & some old) as we can & just don't seem to even come close. If you want to see Jamaica get out of the hotel and visit the restaurants , bars , road stands, beaches and anyplace that will open their doors to you ( which is almost everywhere). The hotel ,by the way, is a great place to spend your time but we like to get out & do other things. The staff ( and a lot of the repeat guests ) are a great resource and source of information.... use them . Also check out the Negril forum to get an idea of the goings on there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helmut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We just love the Seastar Inn. The staff & owners treat you like family. The hotel is very clean at all times. I have never felt so at home while on vacation. It's the only place to stay while in Negril. Saturday night at the Seastar is the happening place in Negril. The food is wonderful and the kitchen staff will make any meal you ask for. The pool area is very clean at all times. They also provide a free shuttle to the beach everyday for their guests so that you also have the opportunity to enjoy the lovely beaches if Negril. The front desk employees are very professional and helpful from the time of check in to check out. We are always greeted at the MBJ airport by their friendly shuttle driver for a very safe and enjoyable ride to the Seastar Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboop_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Greetings! We had never stayed up in the cliffs area before, so we thought we'd give it a try.This being our 10th time to Negril. Our shuttle driver from the airport was Henry. Good guy, man can he talk! We had room 17. right by the fountain. Kinda funny...as my wife woke up a couple of times and thought it was raining outside, just to realize it was the fountain and it's soothing "rain" sounds. Our room was spacious, big bed, A/C worked great. Although a couple nights, the neighborhood dogs would bark . Our first night was karaoke night, It was a lot of FUN! Lots of rum punches, etc. Lots of great singers! Who knows the next Tessanne Chin might have been there? The breakfast is just fine, it's substantial. Good coffee, mon' The happy hour is good. The food was good too! The jerk chicken meal was a lot to eat. Saved the other portion for another meal. The pool is very soothing ,when it's really hot out. Utilized the swim up bar. The Seastar Inn has a really good vibe, it is laid back, relaxing. The other guests are laid back kind of folks, and repeaters. That tells you something. We had the extraordinary pleasure of meeting the world famous Cherrynorth49 and Sunshine! The beach shuttle every day is good. Walking on the cliff road can be a challenge, just be careful. I would like to give a shout out to some of the staff we encountered. Henry & Junior taxi. Barbara, Clara, The Nickster, Okema, Samantha, Alvin, Kirk {for keeping us safe} Rochelle, Randy. And of course Chris {buy a chunk of ground from him} & Francine & baby. I apologize if I missed anyone else. You all do a great job at what you do. We are glad we stayed, and hopefully will again. As the Seastar motto says...You arrive as a guest, and leave as family. It is true. Oh, before I close this out. The Saturday night buffet food is fantastic!!! Plus Steven West & Sassanya & the boys in the band & The drummers. Good time! Thanks again Chris & Francine! Respect. Todd & Deb

Room Tip: Room 17 was one of the new rooms. It was just fine. No complaints from me mon' !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockandrollfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We weren't exceedingly thrilled with this place. It's owned by a Canadian & his Jamaican wife, and to be fair, when we stayed there, their had just has a new baby. So, I am thinking staff were kind of goofing off and getting away with what they could while the bosses were otherwise occupied.

Some of the staff were extremely friendly, but one or two staff members were actually fairly rude. And although it's minor, it was extremely irritating to wait over an hour for a chance to use the internet on the guest computer because a staff member was playing poker on it. (And yes, he knew I was waiting...) So it goes!

The price is very good, but don't expect luxury. We had an apartment style room with two bedrooms, but the kitchen was very poorly equipped (at best) and the living-room furniture was in ratty condition and should be replaced. The beds however were comfortable and the air-conditioning worked well, so it certainly wasn't the end of the world.

The Canadian owner was around daily, but he never once welcomed us or asked how our stay was. I realize he was busy, but it seemed a little odd that he didn't even say hello.

The restaurant was good - staff were polite and the food was of good quality. My only complaint would be the over-tanned Canadians smoking fat joints at all hours of the day while seated there. We were traveling with our young kids, and although I fully expect to encounter pot in Jamaica, I don't expect my kids to get a contact high at breakfast. Nor did I find it particularly fun to explain recreational drug usage to my 9 year old on our first night there...

In terms of price and location, it's not too bad a deal, and if they updated the furniture and worked to improve staff, it would be a deal. They have a nice pool, and it's quiet at night. I certainly felt safe while we were there. Given the option though, I wouldn't return with family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were delighted with our stay at the Seastar. Beautiful environment and beautiful people. We'd like to go back again for a much longer stay. It was a quick walk to Rick's where we enjoyed watching the jumpers/divers and swimming in the cove. Best steamed veggies (with Akee) and peas/rice was around the corner at Sharks. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which included a cornmeal porridge, fresh baked muffins and yogurt. We made a lassi out of friut juice and yogurt! The coffee was good too. The Sat. night Reggae party and buffet was fun and on Monday we sang "I Got you Babe" for Karaoke night. A warm family feeling from all the staff. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We were in #19 which is one of the new ones. Need to like the sound of a water fountain right outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurunam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Love Seastar Inn, Our stay was the best ever. They have a shuttle to take you to the beach daily. We stayed on site most days as the staff made it hard to leave. Great food and the Saturday night Show is not to be missed.
We are returning in April /14 and can't wait, we booked again before we left.
You come as a guest and leave as family.
Book early as they have a many return guests here.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RastaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastar Inn

Property: Seastar Inn
Address: 4 Seastar Road | West End, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seastar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seastar Inn is located about 500 yards from the West End cliffs. Accommodations are nestled amongst beautiful, ultra-clean, manicured gardens. An enormous variety of tropical plants, trees, shrubs and flowers shroud the property. Featured onsite is a large, private swimming pool with swim-up bar, gazebo, and lounging chairs. There is also a recreational area with big screen television, dartboard, table tennis and pool table. The Seastar Inn also hosts its very own full-service restaurant and bar featuring a complimentary continental breakfast, with an extensive lunch and dinner menu. Saturday Night Live Reggae Show with buffet. Wireless Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Seastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seastar Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing