We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alfred's Ocean Palace
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We went to Alfred's on a Sunday night. They have live music on Sunday's and the band was actually setting up when we left, but we all got a little too intoxicated to wait around. The bar staff was friendly and the place had a fun vibe. It's right on the beach which is also nice. We got the fish and chips to eat and we all thought it was very good. I would go back to Alfred's.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cutiger_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We just got back from Negril last night, and I had to be sure to let folks know about what a wonderful place Alfred's is. My husband and I got engaged in Negril in 2009, and at that time spent some time at the bar and restaurant at Alfred's. When we decided to return we wanted to stay on the beach, and wanted to stay at Alfred's since we had so much fun there the first time.

The location is perfect, right in the middle of 7 mile beach. The staff is so friendly, they make you feel like you are all old friends. There is easy access to any water sports or activities you want to do, and the food and drinks are wonderful.

The place is not for everyone, the rooms are very basic (no phone, no tv), but are clean. The music goes late so if you are staying there you can forget sleeping before the music ends, but why would you want to anyway?

I really loved the vibe and the friendly people. My husband and I love playing dominoes, and were excited to play beach side in Jamaica. The next thing we knew we had a game going with the locals. Its a very laid back atmosphere, not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helecho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Enjoyed staying there every time we went. Right in the middle of the 7-mile beach....steps away from the sand!!! Who can ask for more. The staff are very friendly and eager to help with all your needs. The restaurant is well priced and all the meals are delicious. Looking forward to returning end of March.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiaFLia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negril, Jamaica
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Staying at Alfred's is an experience not to be missed in a life time. Staying at Alfred's is going from home to home. There is no experience like it. Whether you bring your family and friends or whether you stay on you own you will be treated like family. Rooms are basic but sooooo clean. Atmosphere is like nothing on earth. It is definately the place for all experiences - it beats an all inclusive any day. Yes the party nights are tuesday, friday and and Sunday so beat is on. - but that is what its all about. One Lovex Its the best place ive ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank annymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Fantastic location with fantastic staff. This was not my first time in Alfred's Ocean Palace- but previous experiences had been enjoyable. Party night was amazing for the party goers but if you require serenity and calm then I suggest Alfreds Palace not for you on party night. Food in the restaurant was average, drinks were reasonably good and the staff were exceptional. If you require rocket fuel then I suggest you speak to the bar man Rudy who will be happy to provide Rum Punch that will knock your socks off! Well done Alfreds Palace

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highflyer8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Sorry Cindy it took us so bloody long! Basic rooms (a bit hard matresses), great location, fantastic hosts, mind-blowing gigs. Stayed for 3 weeks, got what promised. Cindy was fantastically helpful and Alfred just 'bought' us with his numerous offers of trips on his boat together with other guests. Be careful though if you're looking for a place to relax after hard days - gigs are really loud! Anyway, I'd definitely recommend this place to budget guests. Oh, and great housekeepers - always felt secure while leaving my stuff with them.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yourenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk ontario canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

If you want to be where you can relax and explore this is probably just the spot.
All inclusive vacations have given way {for me} to a much more enjoyable type of vacation.
All ins sort of tie you down but a small place on the beach such as Alfreds can be an enjoyable and even much more exciting experience.
Alfreds is not fancy but it is clean and comfortable. The Food is great and reasonable.
Same goes for the bar and its staff.
Great place to spend a lazy afternoon and meet other tourists and locals or walk the beach and discover more beach bars and small hotels.
Alfreds really comes alive on tues. fri. and sunday nights.
The reggae nights are a blast. They close off the property at the beach area and charge a pittance admission price for other tourists and locals. The Band comes on about 9 pm and you never know what guest artists may appear during the night. Its great entertainment with a real mix of locals and tourists.
So if you have been stuck on the all in thing try something different, you may never go back to all ins again.
Not all vacation spots could pull this off but Negril is the spot to feel safe, explore the restaraunts and beach bars and just enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bertieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 81 in Negril
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar-B-Barn
Bar-B-Barn
#57 of 81 in Negril
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#51 of 81 in Negril
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#29 of 81 in Negril
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort II
Merrils Beach Resort II
#47 of 81 in Negril
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfred's Ocean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Ocean Palace

Property: Alfred's Ocean Palace
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Also Known As:
Alfred`s Ocean Palace Hotel Negril
Alfreds Ocean Palace Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing