We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soon be back, 'mon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alfred's Ocean Palace
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soon be back, 'mon”
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Been going to Alfred's 5 yrs. straight now and never think about staying anywhere else. There's nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean, the people great, and you're always treated like part of the family. Don't spend much time in the room anyway and you're right on the beach. It's not all-inclusive so you have to get out and explore. Super friendly atmosphere and the perfect location if your looking to explore J the way the locals live. Food at Alfred's is always good, Sondra & Beulah do a great job of cleaning your room, and Damian, Rudy, & Chris make the best drinks on the beach. 3 nights a week there's a Reggae party that usually lasts until 1am. You can always find someone around that can help you find anything you want to do. We've made quite a few friends and it's always hard to leave. Cindy and Alfred are great hosts and we always feel safe. There are some hagglers around but a simple "no thanks" will usually send them on their way. All in all, a great place to stay if you're looking to experience J without the all-inclusive amenities and explore.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, beach, food, people
  • Disliked — Water pressure, shower will back up occasionally
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
ontario canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

cannot be beaten for a low cost stay
great beach front location
reggae parties 3 nights a week are great
good food
very friendly staff, cindy is a wonderful lady and gracious hostess
will be returning for another stay in 07

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank irieite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edisto Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2006

I was at Alfred's in October of 2005, and I fell in love with the place. I could not wait to get back, so my last visit was March 2006. I think Alfred's is the best spot on the beach! It is clean, affordable, and as close to the beach as you can get. Cindy and Alfred are great and they have a wonderful group of people working there for them. We felt right at home, and we left knowing we had some new friends who would be happy to see us on every return visit. When we got there on our last trip, we felt like we had never left! Thanks to Damien, Wayne, Rudy and everyone else for making us feel so at home - we miss everyone and will see you again soon!
--Heather & Donny

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarmags474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 January 2006

What a great bargin, I have stayed there many times on my visit's to Negril. By far the best value on the beach. The rooms aren't fancy but comfy. the staff and qwners make you feel like family whie your there. There are hustlers but be kind and refuse and they usually leave you alone. I will buy them a beer and [--] with them and befriend them and they will tell others to leave you be. Meet a friendly native and let him show you the sites and the way the natives live. He will most likey invite you to his house or his mothers house for some real Jamacian cooking. (what a treat). Have done this many of times and will do it again. Or ask to go to a real jamacian diner away from the tourist traps and eat some awesome jamacian food. Learn how they live outside the tourist destanations. We can eat at a real local spot if your with a native for a 1/4 of what you'll pay in Negril, And I am talking a wonderful meal. Say A taxi from alfreads to ricks(on the cliffs) will cost us like 300 ja it will cast a native 10 -20 ja. So get out and see how life really is while your there.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2005

Visited Jamaica for the 1st time and had a wonderful time at Alfred's. Long walks on the beautiful beach, Great food at reasonable prices and of course the rum punch was always fresh and delightful. We enjoyed getting a true taste of Jamaica, but feeling safe at the same time. I do have to admit the hustlers were a BIG turnoff, it's too bad that can't be controlled better. The river walk, horsebacking riding and the hummingbird sanctuary just enhanced the trip. Thanks Cindy & Alfred, see you again!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 March 2005

Truly one the best spots on the 7 mile strip of white sand and crystal clear sea. The food is fresh and delicious. From sunrise to sunset, you will leave feeling refreshed. Each member of their amazing staff makes you feel right at home. The last privately family owned resort left in Negril; truly makes a difference. Incredible live music from the AOP's Band.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2005

I first visited Negril and stayed at Alfred's Ocean Palace in 1982. You won't find better hosts or a nicer beach with clean and simple close-to-the-beach rooms anywhere in Jamaica. Band nights are a lot of fun but the party goes on late into the night or later. The food is great and the staff becomes like family.

Helpful?
4 Thank jimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.4 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#70 of 80 in Negril
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#50 of 80 in Negril
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar-B-Barn
Bar-B-Barn
#53 of 80 in Negril
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
0.5 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#2 of 49 in Negril
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfred's Ocean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Ocean Palace

Property: Alfred's Ocean Palace
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Also Known As:
Alfred`s Ocean Palace Hotel Negril
Alfreds Ocean Palace Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing