We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there.. please go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I was prepared for a nice comfortable vacation, so I spent 1200 plus for a "oceanview" room at the Samsara, what I got was not an oceanview it was like a side view of the ocean and the room was a dump. If you have any problems sleeping in a lumpy bed this place is not the right pick for u. I would never stay at this place again. the only good thing was that we had a great housekeeper. but the rest of the staff was not very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank desertdiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

My wife and I and our two boys age 15 and 17 just got back from staying at Samsara for the March Break. The day we arrived a mistake had been made on the size of our room so we were put up at the sister hotel, Legends for two nights just opposite the Beach. Sabrina, the owner of both hotels was very accomodating and for our last 6 nights, she upgraded our room at Samsara. This is the second time we have stayed at Samsara. It has everything you need for a reasonable price. The view of the sunset is right in your back yard! Our kids had a great time. The only negative of this hotel are the pillows in the rooms. I know this sounds petty but we will be bringing my our own pillows next time. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel over and over again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavefromMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This was my 2nd time in Jamaica, my husbands 3rd and the rest of the families first. We stayed at Samsara from Mar 8th thru the 15th (Me, my husband, 10 year old daughter, and mom & dad-in-law) and loved every day. We were a little nervous about what we would find from some of the reviews. But since we are not the kind of travelers who usually stay in our rooms or at our hotel, except to sleep, we thought we would try Samsara. Boy were we surprised! The rooms were nice, newly upgraded. The location was incredible and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our rooms and towels were cleaned EVERYDAY by a lovely housekeeper. Yep they do take your towels and bring clean ones later. No problem for us we just brought beach towels to use at the pool or when we went in the ocean. We loved this hotel so much we actually hung around the grounds quite often. We would get something to eat or go shopping, then come back and jump in the pool. Go snorkeling or swim in the caves and come back and jump in the pool. (Which our 10 year old thought was AWESOME.) We stayed on the ocean side, our in laws on the garden side, both were great. My only complaint was the hard bed. Not all of them, just one, which happened to be ours, was really uncomfortable. Other than that, Zero complaints.

The location of the hotel was excellent, 3 Dives and Choices being our favorite places to get a bite to eat (with in walking distance). Samsara is also close enough to Town Center or the beach that it is just a few minute taxi ride. We also learned quickly that for 5 people, the Route Taxi's were the taxi's to use. (Saved us 500JA each way).

Besides YS falls, snorkeling, cliff jumping, swimming in the caves, we also went to Rhodes Hall Plantation, to do some horseback riding per the advice of one of the girls at the front desk. What a fun time! Well worth it! Thanks.

Red Stripe, Sunsets and Samsara, we will be back next year! Until then we will miss you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherijhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I have spent a week at Samsara for the past 3 years, and It is a GREAT spot. The cliffs, the pool, the bar, the service and the company are all top notch. Don't forget to check out Ciao Jamaica across the street for some amazing italian/jamaican cuisine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esypek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

AMAZING!!!!!! We just returned from 6 days in Negril at Samsara and it was wonderful. Fron the location, to the grounds, to the people... everything was great. Our room was small but comfortable and cleaned nicely every day. The resort itself was kept in perfect condition, being cleaned almost constantly. The staff was so helpful, kind and considerate. The cliffs were amazing, we jumped from them almost every day! We did the all inclusive and it was worth it for us. We could drink local beers and alcohol all day. Breakfast was always fresh eggs and other local specialities, same for lunch and dinner. The staff was very helpful in getting us a taxi or whatever we needed.

Samsara is a great place and I recommend it!!!! We will certainly be back again and again!

BE SURE TO TRY 'JUST NATURAL' ACROSS THE STREET FOR A MEAL!!! Say Hello to Mother Theresa :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I stayed here with a few good friends and we had a great time! First of all the hotel is in a beautiful location. The view is absolutely amazing. We had a lot of fun laying out all day and just taking in the views. The staff was so sweet and took care of us really well the drinks were so good. Try the dirty banana! The restaurant across the street is probably the best place in Negril. We like to go to many places to eat when we travel but we went back to the restaurant twice because it was so good.

For the value its a great place. The staff and views make it worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papaya761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Wow... I had no idea Jamaica was such a beautiful island. Really happy we decided to stay on the cliffs. Reminded me of certain parts of the South of France. Samsara has these cool steps carved into the rock that take you right into the water or you can just jump off the cliff. Only about 14feet/4m high. Plus they have a sister property called Lengends, on the beach, and they offer a free shuttle between the two hotels a few times a day. Best of both worlds. If you're all inclusive it works at both hotels.
Great food. Staff were great. Can't complain and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassiusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#37 of 81 in Negril
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 81 in Negril
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#38 of 81 in Negril
484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £53 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront boutique hotel with 50 rooms catering to international clientele for over thirty years. Spectacular sea view and spacious sun deck with easy sea access for swimming and snorkeling. Amenities include sea view restaurant and bar, swimming pool, splash pool, tennis court, seaside massage center, billiards and table tennis, tennis court, gift shop, and free WiFi throughout hotel. Air-conditioned rooms range from traditional hotel rooms to tropical cottages and ocean front pillar huts (non a.c.). Daily maid service and free shuttle to sister hotel on the beach, Legends Beach Resort where guests enjoy exchange privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing