We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

when i booked this resort/hotel online, I had no idea what to expect. when i got to the hotel it was dark. we checked in showered and went straight to bed. Well, the next morning we were awakened by the sunlight shining into the room, when i pulled back the curtains I was very surprised at what i saw. the view was amazing!!!. I truly enjoyed the view and the hotel wasn't bad at all. our room was the superior w/airconditioning and a ceiling fan, honestly with the breeze blowing the air conditioning was not necessary. I think the best part of my stay was the kind staff, especially the ladies working in the upstairs restaurant, which by the way had some very good breakfast choices. I will definetely make this my choice of stay on my next visit

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prettyblack00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    460
    233
    98
    126
See reviews for
188
617
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

After reading some of the reviews of this property which range from great to so-so, I was not sure
what to expect but we couldn’t refuse the price so we booked anyway. We were very pleasantly
surprised upon arrival as the place was clean and well maintained, the view was unbelievably
gorgeous, and our room was more than adequate. The king bed was nice and firm, we asked for
extra pillows and got them immediately, the lady who cleaned our room (Michelle) was friendly
and left fresh flowers in our room every day. The sheets and towels were always changed and we
had a really nice view of the sea from our balcony. Honestly who can ask for more than all that??
All the staff was very friendly and helpful especially the girls at the front desk Kerryann and
Merlene. They made sure our taxi back to the airport was on time and helped us find cool things
to do in the area like Mayfield Falls (bad road there but amazing day trip), and snorkeling at the
coral reef with Captain Clarke (like swimming in an aquarium full of colorful fish!) The pool was
a nice area to relax although we spent most of our time chilling on the cliffs, reading and drinking
knock out cocktails thanks to Owen at the bar, that man can mix! We got to use the beach at
their other place, Legends on the beach. The beach was fantastic too by the way but completely
different from the cliffs which we preferred. Breakfast was well done every morning all kinds of
food, fruits, cereal, pancakes, eggs to order, hash browns plus Jamaican food that was fun to try
like fried plantains and dumplings. We went for the all-inclusive deal and didn’t regret it at all. The
meals weren’t fancy but you could tell they were freshly made every day and not like some of the
bigger places we stayed at. We had fun trading recipes from the cooks especially the pumpkin
soup and jerk chicken our favorites. This place makes you feel like part of a family. Maybe it’s
not for everyone but it was perfect for us! Hopefully not too many people will find out about this
hidden treasure. We will certainly be back next year or before if possible. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Watch out when checking out, "mistakes on charges". Can't have "guests", unless they are white. Have to ask for towels, bath matts... Don't bother tipping, they are getting kick backs. Felt like college dorm or summer camp. Possitives: Clean, nice workers.

Room Tip: Need to ask for upgrade and AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Davie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

After searching for months for an affordable place to stay in Negril this seemed to be the best option, so i took my chances and stayed here for 3 nights.

The only good thing about this place is the views. The service overall was bad. There was only a couple people here that made you feel welcome(the shuttle driver and cleaning ladies) everyone else had an attitude. They did things begrudgingly. Just getting someone to smile at you was a chore. When i go somewhere i dont want to feel uncomfortable asking for something for fear of a nasty reply. I know all about island time but when you're blatantly being ignored is unacceptable . Example, i sat down at the bar(the only person at the bar) and the bar maid continued to clean for 2mins before acknowledging me. then asking me, with attitude, "what do you want". I order a red stripe, and she went back to cleaning! then got me my beer. it was ridiculous!

Our room was hot and full of mosquitoes when we walked in. The AC was broken, which they eventually fixed. And there was a leak in the bathroom from the ceiling that they never fully fixed. Their answer was to put down beach towels on the floor!

The food was sub pare, and thats being nice. Do not go all inclusive here! Not worth it.

Lastly, when you go down to 7 mile beach be prepared to be bugged every 5 mins to buy something or be taken somewhere. If you dont want anything legal then they try to sell you something illegal. This is not a place for family! People are smoking marijuana everywhere, you even smell it back at Samsara!

I was very disappointed!

Room Tip: Not 108. We had a leak in the bathroom from the ceiling on and off for 2 days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CoreyJART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We only went bed and breakfast, dont really like the all inclusive as we like to get out and see more of the local places. The room was great, ocean front, had all facilities. I think the place needs updating compared the the other hotels nearby. The jacuzzi hadnt been working for some time so they should have put up a notice to say that, instead people kept trying to get in it then complaining. The location is stunning, as most of them on the cliffs.
A new Italian restaurn called Ciou Jamaica has opened accross the road and that is really nice.
I dont think the food was very good in the samsara.The shuttle to Legands its sister hotel is a great idea as it is on the beach so you have the choice of cliffs or beach

Room Tip: The high cabins look great, but I didnt fancy getting up the steps at night after I had a drink!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Samsara is one of the older establishments on Negril's fabulously mellow West End. It's been there since I first started traveling to Jamaica in the early '80's. The owner has been running the place for thirty years. For some reason, I never stayed there until this March.
Time has been kind for the most part. There are many lush coconut palms throughout the property and a variety of large and mature flowering plants give Samsara an intoxicating West Indian atmosphere. A new coat of paint on the various types of buildings also give it a more cheerful appearance than in years past.
The staff at the desk are polite, helpful and professional. My wife and I arrived early around noon and because our room was ready, they gave us the keys and helped us get settled. A nice gesture that got our vacation off to a good start.
One thing we immediately noticed was how large Samsara is compared to other places we have stayed in the West End. There must be 100 yards or 92 meters of cliff-line along the sapphire-hued Caribbean Sea. There are multiple heights for jumping or diving and six ladders for safe passage back to land.
One half of the property has concrete-reinforced apartment buildings containing large rooms with individual private patios facing the ocean. The other half has small cottages interspersed in a lovely garden setting plus four magnificent pillar huts overlooking the ocean. Strategically located in the middle is a two-story stucco building containing the bar, rec room and gift shop on the lower floor and a window-lined restaurant on the top floor. Samsara is also the local center for diving equipment and that facility drew a small crowd each morning.
Next to the bar is a large clean swimmng pool good for when the Caribbean became too rough. Next to the pool is a unique shallow pool surrounded with five day beds for lounging. Sunbathing is taken to another level in the shallow pool as you can lay partially submerged in lounge chairs and splash yourself when the sun becomes too hot. It is also a great place to watch Negril's famous sunsets.
Next to the shallow pool is an attractive wood-built cabana for massage. My wife and I both enjoyed a great Swedish and deep-tissue massage by Nadine. The cabana has a roof to provide shade but the open sides allowed in the warm Caribbean breezes to enhance the experience.
Each type of living quarter had its own strengths and a few drawbacks. The ocean view apartments have nice king-sized beds (very firm but we liked it), private patios, clean bathrooms, showers with plenty of hot water and pressure, ceiling fans and A/C if needed. At times, you can hear your neighbors if things get loud. The garden cottages are great for privacy but there is no ocean view. The romantic option is definitely the pillar house. You get the ocean breezes along with porch deck overlooking the Caribbean with a hammock and a mini-fridge. There is also an outdoor shower on the first level and a padded swing for two. However, the twin-sized bed is a bit too small for two tall people like ourselves. A queen bed would make the pillar house a dream.
Here are some things to know. Free wifi is available only in the bar/restaurant building. You have the option to pay a fee for connection in your room. We found many people gathered in the morning with their laptops at the bar. Bring you own shampoo, soap, beach towels and wash clothes. Two towels and bath mats are provided each day and the cleaning staff keep the place spic and span. We also brought our own coffee maker. A pound of blue mountain coffee bought at the convenience store across the street and we were in heaven all week.
The bar is average. Red Stripes are reasonably price and they do have slushy machines for the strawberry daquiris and pina coladas. It is somewhat visually challanged but has a fabulous view at sunset. We did not eat at the restaurant in Samsara although we heard many good and not so good reports.
Samsara is conveniently located to some great eateries. Across the street is Ciao Jamaica (owned by Samsara) and it features great thin-crust pizzas and Italian cuisine with a great Jamaican flair. The Rasta pasta and Lobster Diablo were outstanding. Down the road 50 feet is Choices Restaurant we found great for breakfast a couple of days. Further down the road is
Teddy's Hideaway at the Blue Cave Castle. Teddy is a talented chef and his meals are arguably the best in town. Less than a kilometer the other direction near Kaisers is Jus Natural we found great for breakfast and lunch. Located in a relaxed garden setting, this family-owned institution offers great Jamaican cuisine at a fair price. We especially loved the Jamaican breakfast and veggie burger. Further down the road (1 1/2 kilometers) is the ramshackle Canoe restaurant. It's cool and funky looking located right next to the water. But the food is creative and plentiful. The Escovetch fish sandwich and pesto Tuna salad were delicious and the two-for-one rum punch before sunset is a welcome bonus.
Samsara, besides having a great name, offers a lot of options and reasonably priced accommodations. It has an international clientele, too, as Germans, Dutch, English, French, Canadians and Americans like us all had one thing in mind. There is no excuse if you can't find your Negril chill here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bearlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York,PEI Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife, daughter (8) and I just spent 8 days at Samsara. This was our first trip not going all inclusive. We did have breakfast included, which took a lot of guess work out of the morning meal and it was always excellent. We ate omelettes every morning and our daughter always had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, french toast, pancakes or eggs cooked to her liking. All the staff were great and made real efforts to talk with our little girl, especially at breakfast. We arrived by Clives transport service, who was waiting for us outside the airport even after many delays by Air Canada. It was $100.00 total for transportation both ways and that included your first Red Stripe for mom and dad and a cold bottle of water for the little girl. We heard about Clives through other reviews and will use this service again. Thought we may miss the beach, but since we could visit Legends we were not concerned. The cliff diving and pool were fantastic. The pool was cleaned daily, and was 9 feet deep on one end. My little girl had the time of her life jumping off her first cliff, by the shallowest access :). We went to 7 mile beach one day, and even as beach lovers, were sorry we dragged ourselves from the cliffs. It was too crowded and we were overwhelmed by hawkers. Legends looked okay, but rooms were not facing the beach, the pool was far inferior, and it wasn't in the laid back cliffs.
We stayed in 2A which had a King bed on the main floor and a double on the second floor loft. The room was large, private and clean- and the TV had the right number of channels to choose from for our daughter. Shower was a large walkin (awesome), we had lots of hot water and pressure every day. Peter was there to greet us and helped us every day with advice and offers to arrange anything we needed done. Our housekeeper Michelle was so nice and did a wonderful job. We ate at 3 - Dives (close enough to walk) Choices almost daily(WOW), and Ciao, which had amazing pizza and calzones. Two very close convenience stores we walked to every day. Wong's and L&M. Wongs was 2 steps away, and L&M was 20 more steps, with more selection and Red Stripe for 650 JA. Between the two of them was a fresh fruit stand across the street. On our second last day, I gave away our last 100 US mistaking it for 100JA. I retraced my steps and had my money returned by the clerk at L&M who noticed my mistake right after I left. I was grateful happy to be treated so well by locals who work so hard for so little. The views from the cliffs are indescribable, and the hotel, staff and surrounding businesses all add to the great impression we have. We are definitely heading back next year.

Room Tip: 1A, B and C and 2A, B and C are all little cottages on the water side. Really nice. Get the A/C i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#35 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#30 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Property: Samsara Cliffs Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing