We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #31 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place was fantastic! Wonderful location, great food, beautiful view, extremely friendly and helpful staff...we couldnt have asked for a better honeymoon. Although i do advise staying in or close to the resort at all times. Theres really no need to leave, unless youd like to go to 7 mile beach. You have everything at the resort tho. Great snorkeling too! You can even buy your own bottle of rum and take a seat at the bar (which i advise if youre not under the all inclusive stay). Theres a staff member named solomon who will actually go to the palm trees and knock down coconuts and cut them open for you to drink! Very cool place.The only downfall to this stay was the rooms. The beds were very hard, everything was tile so it was very slippery, and you do have to pay 15$ a night if youd like you air conditioner on. We were only in our rooms for sleep tho so it wasnt to big of a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. Its well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Meow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just returned from a family trip to Negril. We had seven adults in our party and had the garden rooms off the main road. The resort owners clearly are not keeping the resort in repair. The rooms were dirty, paint peeling, hard, cheap mattresses and a telling sign, bars on the windows. Now, we know why they have 24/7 security patrolling the grounds, especially at night. We were woken up early morning, at 4 am by roosters and barking dogs next door.

Staff tried their best, but its clear that they are not treated well by their owners. They have to deal, day in and day out with complaining customers who felt that they had been had. When you looked at most guests, especially at the bar, they were not happy or smiling. We know why.

Guest are given two small towels only. Beach towels you have to buy at their gift shop. They had broken down, dirty beach chairs and not enough for guests. What a dump.

We did not have the all-inclusive for meals, and happy we didn't. The food quality and preparation was terrible. If you don't have any other option or can't afford something better, then maybe this place is good enough. We left two days early and checked in to the Sunset in Montego Bay, which
was a god send. We couldn't take it anymore!1

Room Tip: There isn't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Our room was across a very busy street. The crossing guard was helpful. It is dangerous to walk along the narrow and busy roads... We did during the day, but cars fly by very close. Views on cliff side were amazing! Fun jumping into water. Hot tub was dirty. Most staff were friendly/helpful, but didn't get any info upon checking in about hotel amenities/locations... We didn't do all inclusive. We ate at a little local place across the street called Pablo's multiple times. There is also a little convenient store across the street to buy drinks and snacks at.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aprillynn008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The setting is beautiful and with lots of Flora including palm and coconut trees. Melvin the gardener was very friendly and knowledgeable and will pick you a fresh coconut (tip). The pools and the cliff setting were very relaxing alternating between sunbathing and jumping in the ocean or pools to cool off and there was lots of space for people to spread and have comfort zones. Fridge in room is $12.00/ day extra and make sure AC is included in room charge. No coffee or microwaves in rooms. We did not go all inclusive as we are not buffet fans and we are happy we didn't as there are many wonderful places to eat. Drinks are free pour and the rum punch is dangerous. Samsara has a separate restaurant called Ciao across the street and has very good food. The food at Samsara and Legends is average. We also liked Xtabi ( food, caves and snorkeling), Push Cart, 3 Dives (jerk chicken), Catcha Falling Star (very nice), Kuyaba, Ahbees (best hamburgers in Negril) plus a few jerk stands on the road. Many restaurants don't look very nice but try them anyway the food is good. Legends has a beautiful beach, but crowded, go next door to Kuyaba to eat and their beach is almost empty. Many resorts allow tourists to use their facility if you are buying food or drinks. Lot's more restaurants near Legends that were recommended but we didn't try.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean view however most of the ocean view rooms are mostly blocked by the trees. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrimEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Samsara from Dec. 10 - 15th. We didn't go all inclusive and were glad. There was a very limited menu and prices are very cheap and restaurants just across the road. Breakfest was $5.00 dinner with a drink $10.00. Taxi are $5.00 for 2 people anywhere in Negril, $10.00 for 4. We took booze from Toronto airport to drink in our rooms but you could take your booze and mix to the bar or pool and they gave you a glass and ice. It was awesome! Happy hour is from 4 - 7, drinks are $2.00 each. There is a free shuttle down to Legends Resort leaves at 10am picks you up at 4pm. If you are all inclusive you can eat and drink there for free. The beach is beautiful at Legends and the cliffs are great at Samsara.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed at Samsara from Nov 30 -Dec 9. I've stayed on cliffs before at another hotel but we will return to Samsara because of location and how relaxing it was. Some of the reviews Ive seen have made me wonder if those people would ever be happy. I'm gonna tell you that this is not the all inclusive some are used to, but if you cant have a good time then I don't know what to tell you. I was greeted from the moment I arrived with smiles and hellos. Or entire trip was incredible and Samsara was perfect. Didn't do all inclusive but spoke with a lot who did and didn't hear any complaints. Happy hour daily for 4-7. Food that we did order off of menu was VERY good. Maintence man/gardner Melvin works his butt off and a VERY nice man. bartenders very nice and make good drinks. All the staff was always nice and helpful. Room clean, air cold. Pool didn't use. Ocean was awesome. Not 5 star but you didn't pay for 5 star!!! Will return forsure!!

PS. If I had any complaints it would be bed. That's all....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zatz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had great service from the staff in reservations even before we arrived. When we arrived we had missed dinner however sandwiches and juice had been prepared for us and taken straight to our room. We were in room 211 which was just perfect. It was very large, my husband and I had a king bed and our 3yr old daughter had her own double bed which she loved. We had a fantastic ocean view. We had air conditioning and a tv. There were lots of great housekeepers but the two we knew the best were Keisha and Alison, both beautiful ladies who were very kind, warm & friendly. They did a fantastic job and our room was always spotless. We also had fresh towels delivered every afternoon. We were really lucky and very grateful to have received a complimentary upgrade to one of the pillar houses on our last night. While the pillar houses look amazing and are extremely cute with their private balcony with hammock, an outside shower (which was fantastic) and there own swing underneath with uninterrupted ocean views with the best sunsets, the room wasn't for us. We were glad we got to try it but we found it a little hot and ofcourse if you open the patio doors then the mosquitoes and ants come in. This cannot be helped but for our family of 3 room 211 was Perfect! The complimentary bus every day to their sister hotel Legends right on the beach is fantastic, we even used the bus one day to go down into town to catch a taxi out to Dolphin cove. The sister hotel has a great location and the fact you can take advantage of the all inclusive at Legends as well is great value for money because you can be at the beach all day and not have to pay extra for food or drink. Take your snorkel with you as Samsara is perfect for snorkling and jumping off the cliffs. You can take advantage of the all inclusive from 10am until 10pm but the bar is open until 11pm you just pay between 10 and 11. Take a jug with you and they will fill that with beer or rum for you, we bought ours at the on site gift shop but we found the prices there very high with the jugs being $20, we also forgot our beach towels and had to buy them there too but we're glad we did the Jamaican towels are a nice momento. My daughter went on a horse at the beach which she absolutely loved, for 30 minutes it was only $20.The restaurant above the bar was gorgeous very small and beautiful with amazing views of the resort and ocean. They provide you with breakfast, lunch and dinner. We never left hungry and we especially loved the chef at breakfast making eggs to order which is a great touch for a small intimate resort like this. The reception area is excellent and there is always someone there to help you, step right outside and you can walk into Negril town centre or take a taxi from reception. The walk is nice and lots of fun. We used a local guy called Dale he was very cute and friendly, his prices are cheaper than the other locals and he can be trusted 100% he will take you anywhere you want to go and wait on you or drop you off whichever you prefer, there is another man called Congo, nice as well but not as friendly or cheap as Dale. We hired a car from Dale and went to Pelican Bar which was great because we definitely saw the real Jamaica. The roads are amazing and we are so glad we got to drive on them but it can be scary at times, they are very narrow with lots of holes, cows and goats jump onto the road from nowhere and the other cars, trucks and motorbikes go fast. Pelican Bar is an experience we will never forget. Our 3yr old loved it too. I dont think we will ever be lucky enough to be able to afford a return trip to Jamaica but if we did we would definitely stay here again. All the staff here deserve praise. Sharona was our favourite bartender and ALL the ladies in the restaurant were amazing. We loved the girl that's in our photo she was the funniest, kindest girl ever and I'm kicking myself that I cant remember her name it will probably come to me after I have finished typing. If you want a taste of the real Jamaica with friendly staff and an intimate atmosphere then definitely give Samsara a try, room 211 was our favourite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoraTheExplorer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
905 reviews
2 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#35 of 80 in Negril
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 80 in Negril
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#37 of 80 in Negril
484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £54 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront boutique hotel with 50 rooms catering to international clientele for over thirty years. Spectacular sea view and spacious sun deck with easy sea access for swimming and snorkeling. Amenities include sea view restaurant and bar, swimming pool, splash pool, tennis court, seaside massage center, billiards and table tennis, tennis court, gift shop, and free WiFi throughout hotel. Air-conditioned rooms range from traditional hotel rooms to tropical cottages and ocean front pillar huts (non a.c.). Daily maid service and free shuttle to sister hotel on the beach, Legends Beach Resort where guests enjoy exchange privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing