We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“samsara for the 2nd time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Negril
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“samsara for the 2nd time”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we just returned from our second trip to samsara and legends, samsara accomodations and staff are great. everyone always has smiles on their faces and are very kind helpful people. our room was oceanfront with a/c and we were very happy with the room. we had all inclusive and the meals breakfast lunch dinner every day were all fantastic, the free shuttle to legends is convenient, the security was out and about through out the night i saw them walking around making everything was good. we did alittle snorkeling and saw different fish off the cliffs right at samsara. i could go on and on about the postives of this hotel. for the price the hotel is great, gives you the real jamaica feel, just kick back and relax.

Room Tip: stay oceanside, be sure to leave tips, and have fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
You said it mon.. Respect for the support!
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    467
    237
    99
    128
See reviews for
191
630
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

You really get a feel for a place by the hospitality and nature of the staff. Peter the day time security fellow is more than happy to share helpful advice and share his experienced knowledge of the community, where to eat, and what to do while in town while putting your security in high regard. Very helpful lad indeed and advice is worth heading. (Don't forget to tip)
You will really enjoy your time at Samsara, quaint, small and intimate. Perfect for the solo traveler such as myself.
Tips for travel at Samsara: 1. Bring your own beach towel and snorkel gear, 2. Heed Peter's advice and pay and take the cabs as he suggests (the other cabs will over charge you), 3. stay on the ocean side of the road; it is totally worth the extra coin (unless you want total privacy and your own quiet yard, then the other side is delicious and only steps away from the bar/cliffs) plus you get to enjoy Peter escorting you across the road every time and his delightful sense of humor and knowledge of the community. 3. Get a chance to enjoy Legend's beach and take the shuttle bus at 10 am to walk the entire 7 mile beach. The security fellow at legends will keep vigil over your belongings and take special care of his guests. Always remember to tip as these security fellows stand out in the heat all day long to ensure your safety.
Additionally, for night life enjoy free Bourbon Beach when they have a band. The Root Reggae music they play at this beach party and the bomb fire are truly magical. Also Legends (Roots Bamboo) cover around $15 bring in some pretty spectacular talent. Ask Owayne (bartender nights that they are happening and ask Peter before he is off at 7 pm for a timed pick up later on in the evening. I think both beach parties start around 9 pm.
Local food: across the street is a pizza joint, but if you are a foodie and what to eat where the eating is good, Peter the security guy will tell you about the best local foods and you will not be disappointed for quality, taste and budget.
Overall, I rate this at the top of my list for travelers looking for relaxation, safety and experience in Jamaica.
Peace and love,
Shambler

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any choice at Samsara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shambler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are speechless. So happy with how much you enjoyed your stay. Such positive feedback, thank you so much! We'll say hi to Peter for you and let him know how much he's appreciated ;)
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I returned April 14th from one week all inclusive at the Samsara. We loved it. We stayed in an ocean view air-conditioned room and it met all our needs. The staff were so warm and welcoming. Maurice, the owner, was ever present, ensuring the property was top notch, and it was great to meet him. Thanks to Pauline and the restaurant staff for the wonderful home cooked meals and service. While not an extensive menu, it more than met our needs. We took the shuttle to Legends on a few occasions, including once in the evening for dinner. The meals at the Legends were good as well. We also had pizza at Ciao Jamaica and we were impressed.

While you need to use caution on the road in front of the resort, we walked early each morning for about an hour without incident. A big Thank You to Peter for watching out for the guests.

We witnessed an awesome storm that resulted in huge waves. Impressive for us but not so much for Maurice.

Several boats offer services from the Samsara, and we would highly recommend Captain Roger on the Sun Baby. We snorkeled for a couple of hours on the coral reef, where both Roger and his first mate Kirk were in the water with us, pointing out fish and taking under water pictures, which we purchased after the trip. It was extremely reasonable, great service and an excellent boat.

If I were to make any suggestions that might enhance the experience, I would have liked to see wine offered through the all inclusive plan and maybe a bit more taped music offered from the bar in the evening.

We are looking forward to returning in November and hope to book a pillar house.

Thanks Maurice and staff for making us feel so welcome. See you soon! Cathy and Stu

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll make sure and let the staff know how pleased you were. Maurice is such a gentleman and hard worker, constantly improving the hotel and encouraging us to work as a team. Pauline has been with the hotel for nearly thirty years, always with a smile and continues to be a vital part of our guests' experience. Peter is also becoming quite the familiar face, lending a helping hand wherever he can.
Glad to hear you enjoyed our all inclusive package and made it down to our sister property Legends on the beach, where the same all inclusive privileges are extended. Also good call on making it onto a glass-bottom boat. So much fun out there. You can even snorkel along the shore of the hotel. But I'm sure you already knew that ;)
As far as the pillar houses go, make sure and book well in advance as there are only four of them... They go fast mon!
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I found this resort to be amazing . Beautiful scenery and friendly staff.
The rooms were well maintained .The location was convenient because you could walk to all the restaurants on the way to rick's cafe which only took 30 minutes from the resort.
It is also a 10 minute drive to 7 mile beach in Negril. The snorkeling on the back of samsara resort is also out of this world. I found the best restaurants in the area to go to were Xtabi, Three dives down , Pablos , Presa and Murphys 5 minutes which was 5 minutes past Rick's cafe. Friendly people all along the way . I give this resort an 8 of 10. My girlfriend and i had a great time and would go back there any chance we get.
Sincerely, Dave and Sasha

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rydaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
"Amazing," you are making us blush.. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Samsara. The scenery goes without saying ;) but your praise for our staff is music to our ears. We are constantly passing on to them the compliments we receive. Its so rewarding for our team to know that we're not only meeting your expectations, but exceeding them.
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As a family of four, with two kids age 8 and 12, we all absolutely fell in love with Samsara on the cliffs! We had the superior ocean view room, with air conditioning and I don't think we could have had a better view of the ocean anywhere else! I would have loved the experience of staying in the pillar rooms, perhaps next time without the kids :) We wandered across the street to the garden side as well, and it was a very peaceful area. I love the ocean so I was very happy with our choice, amazing views!

During our stay, we did get into the ocean, sometimes off the cliffs and sometimes off the ladders. We brought our own snorkel gear and life jackets for the kids even though they are great swimmers it brought us peace of mind. My son, who is 8, is the only one who used his lifejacket, it was a windy day on the ocean so I'm glad we had it for him. We saw dolphins in the evenings near sunset. We also saw many types of fish which I do not know the name for...blue ones, stripe ones, pointy nose ones, lionfish, jellyfish, sea urchins, crabs, etc. My kids definitely enjoyed the pool as well, especially on the windier days it was nice to have the option of the pool.

As part of our stay we made our way over to Legends, and we all enjoyed the sandy beach and the ease of getting into the ocean from the beach, we definitely enjoyed the laid back atmosphere at Samsara a little more!

Because we weren't all inclusive we did make a trip into town centre and we picked up some snacking staples like chips, pretzels, pop, rum and cereal too.

Before our trip I researched about Samsara and this did help me pick the rooms and our package. We did not stay all inclusive because of all the reviews of the food, and I know my kids and I tend to be somewhat picky eaters. I also read that there were many places to eat all around outside of the resort. While that is true, I found it to be a little intimidating to walk on the roads outside the resort with children, and so we mostly ate at the resort, or just across the street at Ciao's, and Pressa One Love. I have nothing but WONDERFUL things to say about the food at the resort!!! I loved every meal we ate here! It is great home cooking style, and if you want to experience some more authentic cuisine then you will definitely be getting that here. If you are looking for the same food you have at home, like Kraft Dinner, McDonalds, chicken fingers and fries then you will be surely disappointed. Yes I could see that the breakfast buffet when it included fishcakes and beans is not to everyone's taste...mine included, but I would have at least tried it, and then gone for the cereal and toast, or eggs had I not liked it. Closer to the end of our stay we did feel a little more comfortable venturing down the road to try Pressa One Love, which I wish we would have tried earlier (I also did a review of Pressa One Love, and Ciao).

Our family loved everything about this resort, and we would definitely love to come back one day soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are so happy that your family enjoyed their stay with us. It is our pleasure. And such adventure at sea... Truly is amazing to see that variety of marine life practically at your doorstep. Happy to hear you enjoyed both our resorts food, Ciao Jamaica's and a few other great local spots.
We see that our pillar houses caught your eye. They are truly unique; steps from the water, perched on the cliffs, king size bed, big balcony with a comfy hammock and private shower downstairs in the rocks, you can't beat it. Make sure and reserve them early though, as there are only four of them ;)
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from another wonderful week at Samsara.We stay in the garden area which is quite nice and comfortable.The staff are very helpful and courteous.We do not go all inclusive therefor we eat out all the time.Pressa one love restaurant is next door.The food is excellent and Pressa his wife and son are very wonderful people.I would invite everyone to try his place you won't be disappointed.Ciao restaurant is also very good but a little more expensive.Samsara is partnered with Legends on the beach so being beach people we spend our days there.For lunch we ate at Boubon beach bar,the food is fantastic.We had breakfast at Kuyaba next door to Legends,very good.Coldest beer on the beach is at a little store down the beach at Myrna's,$1.40 american.I went for 6 massages in 7 days at Debbies massage two places away from Legends at Merrils resort.$60.00 for one hour.Debbie and her staff are very good at what they do and very professional.While at Samsara walk down the road to Spyda bar and meet Anita and Spyda.Have a few drinks and play dominoes,lots of fun.The locals will not bother you on your walk.There is a small store down the road,you can buy beer,chips or whatever for your room.All in all we had a great trip again and are going back in November 2014.Show the Jamaicans some respect and they will do the same for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harry58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Nice review! Very well rounded. Good recommendations. We're so glad you enjoyed our garden-side rooms. They are our secret little gems, being that they are lower priced than our sea side rooms but equally tranquil. Its amazing how much plant life is over there; hibiscus, bamboo, almond trees, mango trees, ackee and breadfruit. Plus every room has there own patio, with their own hammock, to sit back and take it all in.
See you again soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend had our own rock to relax and sunbathe all day. we ate dinner there at night and it was very cozy atmosphere to watch the sun go down.

Me and my guy lived not so far away from samsara, who´s lying on a high cliff. Even though we were not guests at the hotel were we welcome to sunbathe, snorkel and scuba dive. Samsara restaurant and bar was the best we had eaten during our stay in Jamaica. Human prices as well. You just have to taste the chicken and beef stew, the fish dish and the pork was divine good. Perfect, perfect. Even more beautiful in the night after tge sunsett when we went back just to check the view at night, The dark black horizon, was scary but peaceful, to see,you can not see where the sea ends, cozy candlelight on everyone's table and the staff very helpful and very nice. Respect, as they say in Jamaica ..

Room Tip: the small bungalow facing the sea. Heavenly gorgeous. Wish we lived there. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you so much! And all the way from Sweden! We're so glad you stumbled upon our little oasis. Also your review is so poetic. What a beautiful description of the sunset.
We hope next time you stay with us so you can enjoy all we have to offer, including our sister property Legends on the beach.
See you soon
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#35 of 80 in Negril
466 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Property: Samsara Cliffs Resort
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Negril
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing