We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
US$767
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
435
504
257
106
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
504
257
106
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsciao jamaicapillar housesfree shuttlesister hotel legendsall inclusive planbring your own beach towelsall inclusive optionlegends beachocean sidelaid backjump offjerk chickengift shopcab ridewest endcallaloolounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My sister and I bought a Groupon deal and had an amazing time. The view is amazing and it is very peaceful. The staff is great and very friendly. They always had a smile on their faces and were ready to talk or listen to you whenever. The buffet style food was very good which surprised me. I will definitely come back to SamSara and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleks K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hey, thank you for such an amazing review so simply put and to the point! We're happy you were pleased with the Groupon deal you and your sister purchased for your vacation at Samsara. We appreciate your positive feedback concerning our friendly staff and tasty home-cooked food. It also is very nice of you to recommend us to those readers who are considering where to stay in Jamaica. We thank you for choosing Samsara and hope you will come back and see us soon! Irie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I and 2 friends stayed at Samsara for a week recently, and had a wonderful time. I had researched several hotels and resorts prior to booking, and had read the reivews, good and bad. Let me say I am very happy that we didnt let a few bad reviews scare us away. Samsara is not a 5 star resort so if that is what you want don't go there. For those who are looking for something diffrent with clean rooms, beautiful grounds, and wonderful staff, Samsara should be considered.
We chose not to go AI, however, the meals, and drinks we did have at Samsara were totally fine. There are several places to go and eat or have a cold red stripe, within easy walking distance.
I had asked if we could have a King Cottage, at that time one was not available, so we were totally thirlled when we arrived to find out we had one and at no extra charge!! We were thrilled with the cottage. It was roomy, and clean. The loft afforded a bit more privacy for all of us which was nice. The porch was our favorite place to be and the only time we spent in our room was to sleep. Which we did very well, there is road noise but never bothered me and I am a light sleeper as a rule. The beds were both good.
We arranged a couple of tours through our West Jet /Jamaica tours rep Tiodane, who was wonderful, and went the extra mile for us by helping to arrange a special tour, and tracking us down at Legends to let us know. Clovis who works for Samsara was our guide and we were never in better hands. The roads of Jamaica can be pretty scary, but we never worried with Clovis behind the wheel.
We do no have a bad thing to say about any of the staff, there were all helpful and friendly. Peter at the door will take care of you and make sure you get where you want to go. Owayne at the Bar and all the dining room staff were friendly and helpful. Samsara's staff is one if its biggest assets.
Yes Samsara could use some work and TLC, but for the price, it is a clean, safe, quiet place to stay, away from the beach and all the hustle and bustle that goes with it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for A/C,
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64LeonaJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We're so happy that we met your expectations and were able to provide a King Cottage as a complimentary upgrade upon arrival for you and your two friends. It's great that you found the room and beds to be comfortable, as well as the porch with a nice view, hammocks, and chairs, perfect for chilling with friends. The tours you did sound exciting, there are many interesting places to see and experience on the island. Good for you for making the most of this opportunity! We'll pass on your positive feedback to all our friendly staff who go the extra mile for our valued guests, as well as the Westjet representative who is very conscientious about her job. Thanks again for your visit to Samsara! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Samsara is awful. We visited the end of March for a five day stay and left two days early. Requested a quiet room with an ocean view so they gave us a room by the pool and hot tub. Before unpacking we went directly to the front desk requesting a different room. We were told that we had to fill out a request and that they would get back to us in a day or two! The place was not full by any means. My son purchased this all inclusive trip through Living Social. The food was horrible. Lunch choice was frozen pizza or tuna noodle casserole...who eats this? The room had air conditioning whereby you either turned it on or off...no other adjustments. The unit itself was falling off of the wall. We were given ONE towel per person and no wash clothes but we got one bar of soap! The beds were probably 20 years old and the only chair in the room to sit in was an old hard desk chair. Some of the lounge chairs were plastic and broken and the others were made of metal and rusted. If there were pads on the chairs, they were worn out. Drinks were served in plastic cups and the tropical drink was served from one of those containers like you see at a hot dog stand where they serve lemonade or punch. The front desk was totally unhelpful. They provide no shuttle or bus transportation and when you ask they just say that one of their friends might be able to drive you for a ridiculous amount of money. I contacted Living Social and the representative was quite sympathetic....said he was sure they could help us out with some kind of reimbursement for this trip. He called back and explained that the resort contradicted my complaints, thus believing Samsara rather than myself. I encourage you to never buy a trip from Living Social's web site and definitely never go to Samsara Cliffs Resort.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank mgrush22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Samsara is just as beautiful as the pictures show ~ the cliff setting is fun yet relaxing and unique. Visited May 2-5 for a long week-end. The front desk staff is efficient and informative with restaurant and attraction suggestions. Peter who mans the front door is the best! Always ready to find you a taxi or escort you across the street. We chose to eat off the resort and can recommend Push Cart, Spice and Ciao ~ definitely go to Rockhouse as well. It is beautiful at night ~ we didn't eat there but would have if we had more time.
We stayed in the cottage and loved the rustic charm of ceiling fans, shutters and hammocks ~ big shower, TV ~ not much more needed. The cottages don't have air conditioning and there wasn't much breeze so if you are uncomfortable without air conditioning this might not work for you. My daughter asked for a fan, one was delivered and she was fine after that.
The resort has plenty of lounge chairs around the cliffs and pool and cabana shades ~ no need to go out and reserve early. Nice outdoor bar area, eating area outside and on second floor with great views.The grounds are lush,tropical and well maintained.
Overall, the Samsara is a place I would recommend and definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had the best times at the samsara and the legend. The samsara is beautifull the garden well kept and the food is great, the cooks georgia and kelly-ann are amazing and are really nice. The barman owayne always as a smile on its face and will be happy to let you know where is the party for the night. The waitress are always nice and firendly and the staff at the front desk attentive. We took the shuttle bus pretty much everyday to go to the beach at the legend and the driver gregory is hilarious. Once there the friendly staff once again made our stay a charm especially Jenese and Rosey-Shana. I am in love with jamaica and defintely comming back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genevieve64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews