We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Samsara Cliffs Resort: We booked this package online through groupon. The travel agency was Vacation Express. 6 Nights All Inclusive. We flew into Montego Bay and road the bus to the resort. Typical drive, we have been to Jamaica 3 times so there is nothing to report.

We arrived at Samsara around 4:30 pm. The resort is Rustic but very clean and the staff was welcoming. Don't expect marble and tile with gold leaf faucets. If you want Butt-Kissing service than go to Sandals. Samsara is a beach style resort with No Frills. It is the closest you will come to living with the locals without moving here.

We recommend staying in one of their air conditioned rooms because it is a reprieve from the hot Jamaican day. We stayed in the Deluxe Ocean View. We had fresh towels everyday and the room was always clean. A Vacation Express representative met us the next day at the resort to talk about excursions.

Everyone was friendly and always willing to help but we believe this is because we treated them like family. The only JERK(s) allowed on the Island are the chicken or the fish. There is nothing worse than a bunch of drunk visitors being obnoxious and rude to the staff or other visitors. Even though this is an all inclusive resort please remember to tip these folks that work hard throughout the day... MUCH RESPECT YAMON!

We did visit their sister resort Legends. If you want a little more action and nightlife than this is the place for you. We don't need to be entertained all the time (we get enough of that in the States) so Samsara was perfect for us. We walked the beach to Margaritaville. The merchants always want to sell you something on the beach but if you walk close to the water and say no thank you, just keep walking and everything will be fine.

The beach at Legends is beautiful but we preferred the Cliffs at Samara because of the reefs and seclusion of the resort. Bring your own beach towels and snorkel gear. They do have a dive shop but we don't have any info for you.

The food at Samsara was good. We ate at Samara or their sister resort for all of our meals. Jamaican home cooking. Don't believe for a minute that Jamaicans eat shrimp and lobster all the time. They eat the same as most Americans just with a little Jamaican flavor. We always had fresh local fruit and some type of homemade cake for dessert. We did buy 2 mangos for $5 outside Legends and had them as a snack one day.

You can do some local shopping across from Legends. Typical tourist stuff. There is a local market but it was not recommended.

Ricks Cafe is an Oasis of drunk people watching other drunk people jump off cliffs of various heights. We don't recommend jumping unless you are crazy or know what you doing. One girl jumped from 35ft and landed on her back. Her back turned blood red, in a lot of pain, and white as a ghost before she exited the water... FYI the closest hospital is 30 minutes away by Jamaican ambulance but you can pay cash or credit card. We did have the one of the best Jamaican Cuban sandwiches from the outside grill.

The sad part is that vacation is over and we have to go back to the real world. We will definitely take a little of Jamaica home with us. Jamaica is what you make of it. We had a few situation that were resolved quickly but we had NO PROBLEMS-YAMON!

Now for a few Shout Outs

Clovis: He is an honorable man who is available to drive you where ever you need. Just ask the front desk to call him. If you get a chance sit in the front seat with him. It gives you a great view.

Carine and Camille: two lovely ladies that will serve you during your meals. All the ladies preparing our food - thank you.

Peter (samsara), Donovan and Glassford (legends): Security. Always available to make sure traffic stops when you are crossing the street and keeping some locals in check when on the beach (legends).

OWayne: Nope he's not Irish and Sherona. They will make sure you never go thirty.

Leonine: Always a friendly face at the front desk.

Nester (maintenance) Thanks for keeping the hot water flowing.

Larry (owner of both gift shops at resorts). Thanks for the great conversations. Great souvenirs especially the Blue Mountain coffee.

Geraldo from the Horse Stable. Great ride and I hope you are able to visit America on day.

Patrick (Tonys wood carving): great hand and ready made wood items.

Elroy (cook at Ricks) Thanks for the awesome Cuban sandwich.

If I missed anyone I apologize. Everyone was wonderful and I will miss you all.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks Erik for your exemplary review! You portrayed your experience so beautifully and offered such helpful information to share with other travelers, truly awesome. Thank you for the time you took to record your impressions. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the exchange privileges at our sister resort on the beach, Legends. We will pass on your compliments to our friendly staff especially those you mention by name. It's wonderful they made a positive impression on you! Our staff is our greatest asset, bar-none. Somehow we're betting we'll see you again soon! Hopefully in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

First of all, I guess you certainly get what you pay for with this hotel. The staff seemed to be bothered by any requests made including asking for missing towels, soap, tissue and the AC remotes. The hotel does not make you aware from the beginning of the additional charges you might incur including a charge for AC and a bank charge.

The rooms were okay, AC didn't work in one of the rooms. We paid everything and as we were about to drive out someone came running to us asking us to come back in to swipe our credit card for a bank charge. I was extremely annoyed.

Really and truly the place, the cliffs and the rooms were okay, just the staff made it very unpleasant. I really don't think I would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC that works! The rooms by the pool seem to have a lot of problems including wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are sorry that you took home a less than positive impression. In all fairness, our rooms and their amenities as well as surcharges are clearly stated on our website, please visit http://www.negrilhotels.com/lodging-dining/samsara/samsaraaccom.htm. Rest assured it is always our intention to provide accurate information on our website and others. However we find that sometimes these facts & FAQs are overlooked during the reservation process. Most reviewers are very happy with our friendly staff, but we will share your feedback in our training sessions for future improvements. We're glad to know you did enjoy the cliff location and your accommodations! We thank you for your visit and hope to see you again on your next visit to Negril!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Love the staff, love the setting. This is a no frills kinda place, beautifully nestled in the cliffs of Negril. Only two complaints....no outlets in the bathroom, so we had to rearrange the furniture to get to the plugs by the mirror. No pool towels and you have to pay extra for airconditioning. What???? All in all a sweet place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sybsk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We appreciate the great review about your girls getaway at Samsara! We always like to hear constructive feedback so thanks for sharing that too. Our room types include air-conditioned and ceiling fan cooled rooms btw, which is explained on our website as well as in each travel company's hotel description. We encourage our customers to reserve the room type that best meets their needs, although it is often possible to upgrade after arrival. Glad you had a nice time there with your friends, and that our staff and the location made a positive impression! Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon! Irie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First of all, I had a garden view. Apt #1 is a quaint little villa. Very clean! Only had to fight off one mosquito but wasn't annoyed because though the focus point of this hotel is the ocean view and amazing cliffs, the garden view gives you the true picture of life in the country, West End, Negril. I felt at home! As for the staff they were most helpful and courteous, only one mishap with my transfer back to the airport but it was quickly cleared up and here comes Captain Ray, private driver. He made my trip comfortable on the way to the hotel, so of course he completed it with much hospitality on the way back to the airport. Very likable character. If you need to go anywhere, request Captain Ray, he will take care of you and treat you like family. Gregory, another driver, is also a character ... keeps you laughing ... Yeah mon! Respect! Over all if I had to stay in Negril again I would stay at Samsara, requesting Apt#1 that's nicely tiled throughout, including a dining area with a table and chairs, tall fridge, coffee maker, toaster, a few dishes and utensils, full bath with shower and tub and oh yeah a/c that got cold really quick. I mentioned all that because others needed coffee before they left on a 6 AM excursion. Being breakfast wasn't served yet, they had to have the driver to stop for coffee. Not a problem in my quaint little villa. Though I don't drink coffee, all I needed was some Blue Mountain. You will need a taxi to get you around however you can walk to local places. Be careful of traffic. No one harasses or bothers you. As a single attractive woman, I felt very safe at Samsara. Special regards to Sheena-Kay, Owayne, Shaney, young man cooking at Ciao Jamaica (he was on break talking to his friend and willingly took my first photo when asked), Patricia and the new trainee. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and if I could some up my visit in one word it would be RELAXING.

Room Tip: Don't rule out garden view rooms, Apt #1 and #2 are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dedrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for your trip review! We're so happy you enjoyed your accommodations and found them to be comfortable and convenient. Many people request apartment 1 and 2 for those exact reasons you so eloquently wrote. Hearing your impressions about our friendly staff that made you feel safe and welcome is the highest compliment for which we graciously thank you. We'll pass on your encouraging words to those you mentioned. Thank you again for your visit, and we do look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon at Samsara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The pictures don't portray the real story, unfortunately. Our room was oceanview with AC, so it was better than some. However, don't leave home without the bug spray. It was infested with biting bugs, and cleaning is not on the daily to do list here. The same dead bugs that were on the floor when we arrived, were there when we left. ;-( I, also, agree with others, don't waste your money on gardenview. It's across the street, and hot as...well you know. Most of my guests that were traveling with me upgraded to oceanview upon arrival. Now, a positive....Owayne. He is the best darn bartender ever!! He became our personal favorite, and would wait for ONLY him to make our drinks. Thanks to Owayne, some of the room deficiencies were quickly forgotten. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Shannon, It was a pleasure to host you and your group recently. We're glad we were able to organize the welcome reception which everyone said they enjoyed. Sorry to hear about the insects. Jamaica is a tropical destination and we do recommend that people bring along or purchase repellent as a normal precaution. Yes Owayne is awesome isn't he?! He pours a mean drink and loves to dance and have fun, making sure everyone's happy! Thanks for your visit and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again! Congratulations and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

do not go wow place is run down 10pm last call same crap food every nite and to top it off over charged my m/c and didnt notify us of are flight delay getting a towel takes 4 hours staff very rude i could keep going

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hi Brian,
Thanks for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We will use your comments to continually improve our customer service, and at the same time might add for viewers of this forum that , yours is respectfully one opinion among many and not necessarily a true reflection of the usual positive experiences that the majority of our guests enjoy. We do hope you had a great time in Jamaica and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just got back from spending a week at Samsara. If it is relaxation you are looking for, this is the place. Stayed in one of the pillar houses, and would say if, I mean when, we go back, we will be requesting a pillar house again. The view is spectacular, being right on the sea with nothing blocking your view, the breeze. The only downfall was in ours, the bed was a king size, which meant it took up most of the space. Have read others say they didn't like going outside and downstairs to shower "outside", but there is nothing like showering outside and looking at the beautiful scenery. Was actually disappointed to see they were working on closing in a couple of the other pillar house showers.
You have the cliffs to jump off of, snorkeling all around, plenty of beach chairs to lounge in. And if you want to hit the beach, the shuttle will take you to the sister resort Legends. I will say, if you are looking for all the modern conveniences and sparkles of say a Sandals, go to Sandals. If it is kicking back and relaxing you are looking for, this is the place. The grounds are a little "rustic", but just tends to lend to the ambiance.
The staff here are all friendly and pleasant. Owen working the bar is always smiling and singing. Capt Ray could be called Smiling Ray. When we were going to leave, the owner gave my wife a small birthday gift (don't know how he knew). And we shared a shuttle with his son who was going to the airport, and when we stopped for gas, he ran in and bought a couple of Red Stripe for us as a parting gift.
A lot of people found the food disappointing. If you are looking to gain weight on your vacation, again, go to Sandals. If you want to have meals like real Jamaicans eat, then the food is good here.
Would go back there tomorrow if I could? Next time I am looking to relax in the Jamaican sun, Samsara here I come.

Room Tip: Ask for a pillar house. It totally adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Soldierman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks so much for your heartfelt review. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us and are planning a return visit already! You have tuned into all the right things that make a stay at Samsara such a special experience. The Pillar Houses really do have exceptional sea views that are hard to match, making them of course our most popular room type. We'll be sure to have yours ready for you when you come back! Thanks also for your comments about our friendly staff! We will pass on your compliments and encouragement. Thanks again for your visit and don't forget to ask for your special repeater's discount when you return. One love from sunny Negril!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
969 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 80 in Negril
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#41 of 80 in Negril
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#36 of 80 in Negril
480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £59 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront boutique hotel with 50 rooms catering to international clientele for over thirty years. Spectacular sea view and spacious sun deck with easy sea access for swimming and snorkeling. Amenities include sea view restaurant and bar, swimming pool, splash pool, tennis court, seaside massage center, billiards and table tennis, tennis court, gift shop, and free WiFi throughout hotel. Air-conditioned rooms range from traditional hotel rooms to tropical cottages and ocean front pillar huts (non a.c.). Daily maid service and free shuttle to sister hotel on the beach, Legends Beach Resort where guests enjoy exchange privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing