We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great. Peaceful. Calming”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Here
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great. Peaceful. Calming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Great. We really enjoyed the peacefulness of the beach and the space around the individual chairs. The room was very comfortable. We walked barefoot every night on the beach to eat out. We have recommended the website to friends and family. What amazed us was seeing all the other choices we could have made from the internet and would have kicked ourselves if we hadn't chosen Nirvana. If we come back to Negril, it will definitely be Nirvana.Thanks to Sandra and very friendly staff. (It was like the original Negril of 24 years ago, not cluttered like the many mega resorts at the far end of the beach—Long Bay--which have now obliterated the empty dunes I roamed 24 years ago when I first went to Negril.)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himselfHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    110
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
191
293
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

This was our fourth visit to nirvana. That about sums it up!! With only five days for a vacation, it is so important to have the unwind process be as quick as possible. The staff at Nirvana make that happen. From the moment we walk out of the airport, and see the smiling face of Leon our driver, the stress of the New York winter becomes part of the past. The staff at Nirvana welcome us with open arms, a basket of the most delicious fruit, and the promise to make this trip as good if not better than the last one.(which is hard to do, since the last 3 were awesome!!) Between the excellent location, the wonderful staff, and the good as home cooking of Leone and Lynn, it is truly a coming home... to Nirvana. Thanks Lonnie and Stan for making it all happen.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Nirvana is definitely a place that we will visit again. We have been tired of the all-inclusives, and finally decided to try NIRVANA. Let's start with the beach; beautiful white and sandy, security guard 24hrs, one of the largest private beaches compared to others within close proximity, no need for umbrellas, there are the palm trees! The cottages and studios are extremely close to the beach, it is beach front property, some are located closer than others, but a difference of a few feet really. We went to the market (5-10min) by taxi (you may want to make sure that your taxi has the licensed sticker on the windshield), 2 times and had home cooked meals almost every evening, Jamaican style! We loved the food. We have 2 boys, ages 8 and 12, they enjoyed the water sports, snorkeling, fishing, and much of what was sold on the beach; banana cakes, sugar pies, jerk pork etc... Visited Rick's Cafe, good action with the divers, no clear sunset that day though. There are many good restaurants, no need to worry about good food in Negril.
We all enjoyed our vacation very much, ambiance was very friendly, all employees are friendly and trustworthy, clean and welcoming environment, many choices of excursions to choose from, and above all a great place to RELAX MON!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stella6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in the Veranda Suite and 4 nights in the upper Balcony Studio. The Veranda was very nice and has an incredible view of the beach and ocean. The suite is a bit dated and could use some TLC. The Studio is in a new building and was very nice and modern. It has an enclosed balcony with windows, but when sitting, you can’t see out the windows. They’re too high. I’m not sure why it was constructed this way, but there is a beautiful view of the garden outside for which you can’t see while sitting down. The air conditioner didn’t work in the studio, but I informed the owner of this and I’m sure it will get fixed ASAP. The rooms have no televisions, telephones, or clocks. You probably shouldn’t have these luxuries on vacation anyway, but you will have some downtime where you might want to turn on the TV.

The employees at the Nirvana are incredible. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we have a great time. Erroll is the daytime security. He gets you reliable deals on the beach and gets rid of pesterers. Check with him before renting jetski’s. Sandra is the manager and can set you up with reliable drivers if David isn’t available. Sandra is a great resource for pretty much anything. David is Nirvana’s driver. He is very reliable, and gives you great prices. Ask him to take you to Blue Hole and a tour of west end. Moses is one of the gardeners. He makes great crafts. Let him show you a sample of his work and be sure to take some of it home with you. Shine is nighttime security. He is a very compassionate person. He will take notice of when you leave and when you come back to ensure you safely returned. Patrick is nighttime or daytime security. He brought us a big bag of coconuts and bamboo cane sugar stalks. It was incredible. The maid service was excellent. In and out without you ever seeing them.

The grounds of the Nirvana are immaculate. Their area of the beach is one of the best with plenty of room in sun or shade for everyone. The water has a clean, sandy bottom and most times is very calm, almost like glass.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauiman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

It is more like you come as a Guest and Leave as Family.

You can go to those all inclusive any where but when you are in Jamaica you need to have the Jamaican experience. There is no place better then Nirvana on the Beach.

The accommodations are great, food vendors on the beach the best and walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and you don't need to even put on your shoes.

It is always so hard to leave but has I was told by David last year, "you need to leave so you can come back" and we will be going back for year 3 in 2012.

Thanks to the entire Nirvana Family for everything.
John and Jill from cold and snowy Southwest Michigan.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

In a word, our stay was incredible! The property is amazing, with breathtaking views, and a very dedicated and personable staff. Our room was cleaned extremely quickly and was spotless. The grounds were spectacular. Our driver, Leon, provided perfect service - he was extremely punctual, patient, and offered helpful suggestions on a few occasions.

We stayed in one of the newer suites and found it very comfortable. The kitchenette had everything we would have needed to cook meals. We often ate at one of the restaurants down the beach (1 to 5 minute walk along the ocean!) or just sat in our beach chairs during the day waiting for the various vendors to sell us food/drinks/ice cream.

The owners provided valuable advice about vacationing with our baby (5 months). We only wish we could have stayed longer, had taken more advantage of the great babysitter that Sandra lined up for us on our last full day (Sonya) and had had the chance to experience the great cook service (we heard rave reviews from guests in the cottages)!

We'd love to return sometime! We have already begun recommending this resort to our family and friends. We think the property would be suitable for couples of any age, families, or groups (friends wanting to get away together or special events such as weddings, reunions or milestone parties).

If you're looking for a great pool atmosphere, go to an all-inclusive resort. Although this resort is a quiet spot, there seemed to be plenty of nightlife available if you'd be willing to venture away from the resort (either down the beach or have a driver take you to Rick's Cafe or other destination).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Our kids arranged a trip for our 34th Anniversary so we had no part in the planning of this trip. We were sent to "Paradise". This was our 3rd trip to Jamaica the previous 2 we went to Ocho Rios. Negril by far has the most beautiful beaches. What made Nirvana so perfect aside from being located directly on the beach was the intimate privacy it offered with their lovely trees and gardens. Security always present at the property (those guys rock!) keeping a subtle watchful eye on everything going on. Everyday the lovely ladies came in, bringing fresh towels and made us fresh orange juice. It was amazing coming up from the beach and coming into your room smelling of fresh squeezed oranges.Sitting on our very private deck looking out onto the beach my husband and I marvelled at how fortunate we were for our kids to have after alot of web surfing and review reading selected this spot for us. While the unit was set up to do your own cooking we kept things rather light. There was no end to things you could purchase right on the beach like fruit and other things from individuals or the many restaurants. We are real swimmers and spent most of our days in the water. Cabs are available everywhere and stores are just minutes away. Again the staff was very helpful there. The unit was very clean and well equipped. We joked with Sandra the manager when we were getting ready to leave that if we left a good review it may make it harder to get an open spot to be able to book our return visit. Truly this was an amazing place and we are so looking forward to coming back. I have spoke to lots of people at work who have always done the all inclusive thing and really did'nt know there was a different way to go. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foghornsbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing