We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Jamaican experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Outstanding property. If and only if you want to stay in a Jamaican place, come here. You are on a 2 acre set of cottages along beautiful (commerce-driven) 7 mile beach. No A/C, don't need it. I welcomed the familiar smell of brush burning (among other things), in the AM. The staff is awesome. Shine, Otis (ha) Errol,Moses, Lynn and Doris all are great. My 8 & 12 year old wandered the property upon wake-up, and throughout the day and were perfectly safe and very happy. Every morning, the pattie man, veggie lady, fisherman, all came and offered their spoils... At night, I wondered to the main st to get great jerk.... all a walk away.
Check out the Hi-Lo supermarket for essentials, and theres a farm market with very fresh vegetables weekly down the street. Leon is your driver... very reasonable and a great guy. We went to Y&S falls also a good excursion. The staff is awesome, no pressure... and the property is absolutely bliss.

Room Tip: avoid the road.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank sachmogoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We recently stayed at Nirvana for a 2 week family holiday.
Having read several reviews beforehand I was not disappointed. The service shown by the staff, especially Errol and Shine, was outstanding. Leon, the driver, was also extremely helpful always on hand if we needed to be driven anywhere.

The most outstanding part of Nirvana is the location - it is a wonderful stretch of beach with plenty of space for everyone. You never felt crowded - especially when you walked down the beach and compared to other resorts.
The lunch bought every day from the pattie man was delicious - my children fell in love with coco bread. Also worth a mention is Niah's.
The bar just beyond Niah's was wonderful for a sunset drink and game of jenga with the lovely Grace looking after you.

We only did one day trip to YS falls which was really worth it.

Overall a perfect, relaxing holiday that I would love to return to again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We didn't want 5 star. We wanted experience. By far this was the best decision we could have made. Every morning we woke up to "Tillie" delivering fresh Mango, Pineapple, and bananas on on her head to our beachfront, and fresh orange juice from 'the juice guy". Everything you could pretty much want was delivered by the locals for a small price going up and down the beach. You quickly learned their names, and they yours. If there was anything you wanted, just ask "Errol", the day security, or "Shine", the night security, and they would make sure you got the best from the best, including parasailing, snorkelling, etc.. They also would guard your beach to make sure than when you didn't want bothered, you weren't. The best lunches were the Pattys (a meat or veggie pocket) and a red stripe or juice smoothy.
Because we stayed in the owner's villa, we were actually about 24 steps to the ocean from our porch. Again, the shopping could come to you, or you to one of the many shops along the beach. Entertainment was also plentiful with musicians stopping to play you the best of what they knew. If you see "Ali", tip him well. He is going to make it big someday and you will be able to say you met him on the beach at Nirvana!
Rick's Cafe was just a 10 min. drive away with one of our drivers, "Leo", or "Breezy". It being a little touristy was still worth the trip for the experience of watching all the jumpers, and our son Christian being taken under the wing of "Dino the Caveman", who taught him how to climb the cliffs and caves and jump from 35'. For him this experience was priceless. My recommendation would be to walk down the street a bit to eat at one of the other restaurants at a cheaper price. The drivers also knew where to go for whatever your desire. We recommend "Lobster" from Captain Moses's glass bottom boat for your snorkeling adventure. He loves what he does, and is so willing to share the history of the island with the kids. Not to mention his smile will melt your daughter's heart!
There are restaurants all up and down the beach within a 1 minute to a 10 minute walk depending on your pallet. From local Jamaican fare to Italian to American, the beach has it all. If you felt like cooking, one of the drivers would take you to the grocery store about 5 minutes away, as each cottage is fitted with a kitchen. Or it could be arranged for one of the ladies to prepare you and island meal right in your cottage, with you providing the groceries. (Can't get that in an all inclusive)! If you're craving good old pizza, make a right out of the drive onto the road and walk approx. 3/4 of a mile to the Italian cafe on your left. About $8 a pie and truly the best Italian pizza ever. Don't be intimidated by the locals along the way. Yes, they all want to sell you their jerk chicken(which we recommend straight across the road from Nirvana as "the best"), but you will be safe. Just watch traffic closely.
Nirvana is definitely a place to relax, get pampered, experience the island way, and develop everlasting relationships with the precious people that take care of you, if you so choose. If you're ones to keep to yourselves, it will be what you make of it.
We can't say enough about the meticulous housekeeping, Sandra or Doris who make sure everyday that you're happy, or the gardeners Moses 2(who carved me beautiful gourds to use as bowls) and Otis(who can climb a coconut tree with his bare feet to get us a fresh coconut!), and of course, Errol and Shine who made us feel safe and kept us safe. One last thing is that we recommend getting massages at any one of the girls up the beach (before the sunburn)! For $1 a minute they truly do an incredible job. And don't forget the sunblock. 50+ recommend and we still got our tan!
To our family in Jamaica: We love you all and can't imagine never meeting any one of you.
The Edborg's

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timandlianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The very best place to stay in Negril. The staff will make your visit special with their authentic interest in your well being. Shine, Errol,Moses Lynn and Doris will spoil you. Walk the seven mile beach,check out the lovely man who sells jamaican patties from his bike and the lady who sells the freshest of fruit from a large basket that she carries on her head and the fisherman who sells his daily catch from his canoe directly in front of Nirvana.We have travelled extensively but come back to Nirvana because you will never find a better beach,more attentive staff or a more relaxing holiday. It is not the fanciest place and it is not the cheapest on the beach but it is the very BEST.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I've been to Negril 4 times - Stayed at Negril Tree House, Catch a Falling Star and then was introduced to Nirvana!! We've stayed at Nirvana twice and will never stay anywhere else! The staff is friendly, the property is beautiful, with several areas to relax and hang out. It's clean and beachy. I love having a cottage with a living/dining area and a full kitchen. The staff made authentic Jamaican meals for us - so nice to come back from the beach to brown stew and curry on the stove! See you next year!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nurssygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed for four nights at the end of March in the garden view studio at Nirvana. There were no cottages available when we booked, but this unit is quite roomy and has a pull out, so there was space for all four of us. The studio was sparkling clean, bright, spacious, great bathroom/shower, and had a very well equipped kitchen with an eating area in it. The porch is more of a place to throw your sandy shoes etc, rather than a place you would sit, as the windows are high enough that when you sit in a chair you're looking at a white wall, rather than out into the garden. It looks like it is newer than the cottages, and I felt it did lack a bit in character. The beach at Nirvana is very nice - there's lots of room for everyone, so you never felt crowded, and there are plenty of shade trees for when you just have to get out of that scorching sun. Staff is great and there's always someone available to help you out if you need it. Lots of hawkers strolling up and down the beach, but they are so cheery and friendly, and if you're not interested in buying, all you have to say is a friendly 'no, thanks'. We didn't find them bothersome at all. The fruit & vegetable truck lady (I think her name is Cynthia) comes by on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings - she's the best one to buy from as she brings her produce from the farm and has good prices. Apparently there is wi-fi, but it wasn't working when we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagabond_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was a great surprise and pleasure for our first trip to Negril.. The Staff was so helpful and gave us lots of local insight on what to do and to eat. We like to eat in a lot and the bbq on site came in handy. The grounds were beautiful and if you like gardens you are in the right place..... the hustle got a little tiresome from the vendors on the beach, be polite but firm if you don't want something..

I think Nirvana is the perfect place for anyone looking for a taste of old Negril

Room Tip: the villa, looked great and had a nice patio on th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinwarped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#4 of 80 in Negril
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Jamaica, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £103 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing