We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Bliss”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Budget Bliss”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Truly.

You don't need to spend a lot to get to a near-perfect place.

Nirvana on the Beach offers very affordable accommodations in Negril. The rooms are located steps from the beach. But, none of the crowds and hassle of giant, all-inclusive resorts here. This place promotes a relaxed, calming environment for guests in the hotels handful of rooms.

The rooms range from rustic, well-appointed cabins to beach apartments. All are worthy of the cost and effort to get here. Beds are comfortable and showers are generally available in the rooms and outside.

The beach is nicely kept. Trustworthy security guards watch over guests and their possessions on the beach. The guards are keen to minimize any distraction or aggressive selling from "pandlers" who stroll the beach.

The cleaning crews will actually make fresh orange juice and cook authentic Jamaican meals (or any other type of food they know how to make; just ask). All the guests have to do is buy the provisions. Grocery stores are an easy 15-minute ride away. Nirvana provides almost-constant access to good, reliable drivers in the area.

There are not too many activities available though the hotel itself. However, I've visited Nirvana many times and, as an avid SCUBA diver, always managed to check a local yellow pages or website to pick up a dive with a local company.

Nirvana on the Beach promotes a safe, quiet, and friendly environment. If you stay more than a night or two it's hanrd not to make friends with most of the staff. The hardest part of staying at Nirvana, though, is having to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridethestallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    110
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
295
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The housekeeping, and security was very professional and very friendly. I did not have that community feeling in Jamaica but at least a little bit of love here. It was a great set up, and very clean. Upon request and with our huge bag of oranges, we had fresh squeezed juice every day (please show your appreciation with a direct tip right to the people you mean it for). They cooked us a meal here and there with our food. The ladies were always smiling and helpful.

Keep in mind- you are in a beach cottage. You request a change of sheets if it's a must and you'll get it right away..... and there are bugs... because bugs live on the beach and this is more open concept. If you're looking for less rustic and less down-to-earth, this isn't your place. It was a great way to be with friends!!! 3 bedrooms 6 couples and 3 kids. We loved it! Right on the beach, right at paradise :)

Room Tip: We had the last cottage left- way in the back! Comon' though- really- "way in the back"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent a week at Nirvana and loved it! Sandra and the rest of the staff were always there if we needed something. They even did a small load of laundry for us! We loved the beach the most and really loved the fact that everything was just a short walk away. We walked to dinner every night and it was just amazing! The convenience of the small but workable kitchen was the best. We made breakfast in our cottage in the morning and kept snacks stocked. It was prefect as we didn't want to eat out all three meals for seven days. The locals in Negril were wonderful as well and we truly cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I've been to Nirvana in the past and it never fails to fulfill all of my senses, service all of my needs and wants and make me want to return more quickly. This time I was in Negril on business so it was hard to peel myself from the property to leave and I couldn't wait to return and I especially couldn't wait for my one free day that I planned on staying right there! I hope to get back, the sooner the better.

Room Tip: There's not a "business center" but the staff can arrange/help you get anything done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagogoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We just spent 10 days at Nirvana with our 11 year old daughter who requires a wheelchair for all mobility. We stayed in the accessible cottage and loved every minute of our stay! The cottage is large with plenty of room to maneuver the wheelchair around. The shower was also large and easily accomodated her somewhat large bath seat. The ramp leading into the cottage was wide and gently sloped making it very easy to come and go. There is a stone path that leads directly to the beautiful beach from the bottom of the ramp. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds beautiful and lush. Access to surrounding restaraunts etc was a bit difficult on the beach and we had to pull the wheelchair backwards through the sand. However, all of the surrounding places are also accessible with just a short walk down the road. The beach at Nirvana provided a great spot to sit in the sun or shade and watch the beach action take place. It wasn't really necessary to go far from your beach chair to get what you needed. Our daughter loved it! We especially enjoyed the fresh orange juice and the warm patties the vendors sell up and down the beach. We highly recommend Nirvana for a real beach holiday and hope to return again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvanaNys, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
We're always happy to have groups of ladies come to stay with us at Nirvana. Our staff prides themselves on helping first time visitors to Jamaica have an authentic experience of Negril & all it has to offer.

We emphasize personal service & try to give all our guests something special.

We hope you will return with friends & family soon for another wonderful
Nirvana experience.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayner, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent 10 blissful days at Nirvana and have never had a more relaxing, enjoyable vacation.

We have been to several luxurious all inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean and stayed at Couples Swept Away in Negril last winter but Nirvana was by far the best vacation we have had in years.

We booked the upstairs Verandah suite with a front row view of the fantastic beach and fell asleep every night to the sound of the pounding surf. Mornings were spent sipping Blue Mountain coffee on the huge balcony enjoying the fabulous view ...and Errol always had our chairs ready for us when we came down to the beach. Errol watched out for all the guests and we never worried about leaving our belongings while swimming or exploring the beach.

The location is the best on 7 mile beach and the grounds are lovely, cared for by Moses and the gardeners. There are lots of restaurants and bars close by and everyday we got freshly squeezed oj, coco bread, fruit, lobster and patties from the vendors without leaving the comfort of our chairs. We never felt crowded and often felt like we had the beach to ourselves and the best part was.....you never need to play the beach chair game as there is plenty of chairs and shade for everyone.

The staff is attentive without being intrusive and Sandra was always ready with a smile and ensured our stay was everything one could ask for. If you are looking for luxury 5 star accomodations then this is not the place for you as the accomodations are clean but basic with no phones or tv and spotty wifi. My only complaint was the hard mattress but other than that the place was perfect and next time we go to Negril you can bet we will be staying at Nirvana.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

From the very first moment that we stepped out of Kenny's van, I knew we had made a great choice for our second beach vacation in Negril. Sandra greeted us and made us immediately feel at home. Moses keeps the gorgeous grounds immaculate and is always ready with a broad smile. Errol makes sure that you enjoy yourself on the beach and is a treat to talk to....all of the staff are amazing. Every day, wrist banded people from the all inclusives would stop and stare and take photos of the best spot on the beach--palm trees offered shade and Errol would put your chaise wherever you wanted.

Even the Yellow-crowned Night Herons knew that Nirvana was the place to call home on the beach.... There were 2 nesting pairs and a juvenile in one of the trees that were a treat to watch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing