We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe, relaxed, and cared for by Jamaican "family"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Safe, relaxed, and cared for by Jamaican "family"”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have gone to Nirvana after Christmas every year for the last twenty years or so. It has a great location on Negril's beautiful white sand seven-mile beach, but what keeps us coming back is the people who work at Nirvana. Most of the staff have been there for many years, and we really do feel like we are staying with family every time we get back to Nirvana. Zemroy, the new manager, fits in very well and has quickly picked up the Nirvana attitude of caring for its guests. This is not a fancy property, but it has beautiful grounds and gardens as well as a wide beachfront and clean, comfortable cottages and suites. Miss Lynn and her girls keep all of the indoor areas spotlessly clean, the two Moses and Otis and Kevin keep the beach and gardens raked and watered, Shine and Errol and Patrick keep the beach and the front entrance safe 24/7, and Sandra spends her time outside keeping track of guests' welfare and responding to any and all requests. Nirvana is one of the few places where we can go and completely relax. While we are there, it is like we are resting in the arms of people who will do everything they can to keep us comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the beach as you can--you will have more privacy and more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraBloomington_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    110
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
295
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our 7th visit to Nirvana in 9 years. We just keep coming back because it offers exactly what we are looking for in our RELAXING family beach getaway. Last year we skipped to do Disney World with our 3 kids, 10, 8, and 5. We ALL agreed that we'd rather be in Negril @ Nirvana! The location on 7 mile beach is the very best. Nirvana's beach is spacious and beautiful, and you can choose shade or sun. The water is so calm and clear, and remains shallow for a ways out, which makes it so fun for the kids. The staff is like family, the same year after year. They are friendly, trustworthy, and always smiling and looking to make our stay better. All you have to do is ask. We learned some time ago, that the Lynn, Leonie, Joyce and Joan make the best meals, better than most restaurants around. You just purchase your groceries and they cook it right up. Ready when you get in from the sunset. It's nice to buy produce from Chordis on the beach as well as the morning's catch from our friend Taxi the fisherman. When we do get out for a meal, always breakfast, we just choose left or right on the beach and settle in for a beachfront breakfast and coffee. The cabins are not luxurious, however they are comfortable, clean, safe and all we need! We really never spend much time indoors, aside from sleeping. True the cabins do not have A/C, but with the airflow from the constant breeze and fans, we have never once needed it. Each year we talk about taking an excursion away from Nirvana, like the Falls or Black River, etc, but we all end up having such a great time @ Nirvana that we just can't bring ourselves to put on our shoes and head out. The only problem we face is that we love it so much we have trouble getting around to testing out other Caribbean islands! One helpful tip we do have is to pack a strand or 2 of Christmas lights to use in the cabins in the evening for soft lighting b/c the cabin lighting is quite bright and all or nothing.
Nirvana is a perfect place to stay with friends or family, or as a couple. It's even fantastic for babies b/c there is so much shade if you so choose. To sum it up, Nirvana is beautiful, friendly, safe, peaceful, relaxing, and addicting!

Room Tip: full cabins with kitchens great for families, villas and studios great for couples. Cabin 4 is clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hog_momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Nirvana is the ideal resort on Negril's seven-mile beach. It is right in the middle of everything, so you can walk up or down the beach and experience everything Negril has to offer. It has the most spacious and best-maintained beach of any resort I saw on seven-mile beach. There is a little bar next door with daily drink specials (try the dirty banana) and a TV that shows NFL football and other sports if that's your thing. You can also bring your own beers and food on the beach. Unlike at some generic tropical resorts, when you're at Nirvana there is no question of where you are. The reggae music and other cultural standbys are a constant reminder that you are in Jamaica. At no point did I feel unsafe. The vendors that walk by selling food and other things can be annoying at first, but they usually respect your privacy once you tell them "no thanks". Some of them do have things worth buying, though. Check out the patties, frest fruit, or freshly-caught lobsters.

The cottages are no-frills, but are a comfortable place to relax, eat, and sleep after a long day in the sun. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They always have a smile on their face and they'll help you with anything you need. I highly recommend Nirvana if you're looking to get away and have some fun in the sun.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Our week-long stay at Nirvana was amazing! I had stayed the previous week at the Ritz Carlton in Montego Bay and was so disappointed in the food and service that I was ready to give up on Jamaica. Nirvana turned it all around for me!

Nirvana has the BEST location on 7-mile beach. It is quiet but everything you need is just a short walk away. They take great pride in keeping the grounds looking immaculate and the private beach is wonderful. There is a great bar right next door and the best patties I've ever had at Niah's Patty Stand on the other side of Nirvana.

The staff is excellent. The women do such a wonderful job cooking fresh seafood right out of the ocean for us. They are completely unobtrusive and cooked for us when we were at the beach. Other than the delicious food waiting in our kitchen you wouldn't know they were there. The fresh squeezed orange juice is also wonderful.

The security staff was so helpful in setting up snorkeling guides for us and made us feel very safe. They even had our beach chairs set up for us in our preferred spot before we got to the beach each morning.

Many of the folks we met who were staying at Nirvana were repeat customers which tells you a lot about a place.

If you are looking for a huge resort this is NOT the place. This is a wonderful family-friendly place to stay and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vegematicslims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvanaNys, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We're thrilled that after a disappointing ordinary commercial hotel stay in an upscale brand name luxury Montego Bay hotel you finally came to the place you wanted to experience in Jamaica. Its not about the furniture or decor or mass produced & presented meals you had all "American Style", its about experiencing a real place with its own identity & authentic charm with people who care about your vacation & how precious those days are to you.

Nirvana is the right choice for travelers who want more than luxury decor & trendiness,
who want the real food & flavor of the Caribbean's most enchanting island on that islands most beautiful beach.

Nirvana is a unique original just as Negril itself is.

Our friendly staff will help in any way & can solve any questions or requests you have.

We all strive to make sure our guests have an authentic & genuine Negril Beach stay while getting to know the wonderful Jamaican people. We can recommend local operators & drivers who will guide you to the best excursions & attractions in Negril at well below the rates you find on the "package tour web sites".

You get personal attention & you go at your own pace & are not "herded" around on some tour bus schedule.

Relax & hang out on the beach under a favorite palm tree or get out & about to see & enjoy all the attractions that Negril offers.

Nirvana will help you find your paradise.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you're looking for a really comfortable, relaxing, and friendly place to stay on a spectacularly beautiful beach, this is it. My husband & I just returned from our first trip to Negril and are already thinking about returning to Nirvana for another Valentine's Day vacation. It's not fancy, but the private beach, the incredibly nice staff, and the airy cottage (with very comfortable beds) are all luxurious. We've visited a lot of beautiful places in the Caribbean over the last several years, but Nirvana is at the top of our list. I can't imagine a nicer place for a mid-winter break.

Room Tip: Cottage 4 offers both the shady garden & a view of the ocean. But every one of the cottages &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is the best and most laid back property on the beach. The staff is wonderful including the management, the security, the maids and the grounds keepers. Zemroy, Shine, Sandra, Otis, Lynn and everyone else are very upbeat and attentive to your every need. The beach is wide with wonderful shade trees if you desire to get out of the sun for a bit. The room I stayed in had everything I needed and when I first walked in the door, I felt like I was home. There are great restaurants within walking distance. I met many new friends who I will stay in touch with. Thank you Lonnie for running such a wonderful property. I always return to the states very relaxed after staying there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Your wonderful responses are all very important to us. Thanks so much for writing about Nirvana all over the web..... pleeease keep it up.

Our Nirvana family all strive to make your vacation with us the best possible experience you & your fellow travelers could have. Negril is a special place which gives you the time & space to relax & let Jamaica enchant you, we are just delighted to be a part of it.

It does have some bothersome aspects at times, but where is the place that doesn't?

All at Nirvana feel that our guests deserve the best possible service & attention.

Our nannies are completely vetted & dedicated to making sure your kids are well taken care of & played with so you can go out, relax & get back in touch with your other facets of having a good time.

Sandra & Zemroy as well as all our other staff members work to fulfill their mission of delivering a unique & unforgettable time for our guests enjoyment of the most gorgeous white sandy beach & incredible warm clear turquoise ocean waters, we want you to love it as we do, so come down & play in the exquisite sea Negril offers.

Families with kids are most welcome & have a great time bonding together without the constant interference of electronics we have all unfortunately become immune to.
Negril & Nirvana is the place to let go of all of that & really "BE HERE NOW" in paradise.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I returned to Nirvana for a week's vacation with our two adult children after not having been there for 15 years or so, and nothing could have been done to make it more enjoyable. It was wonderful to see familiar faces in the staff....and they remembered us, even our now grown children! We felt cared for and unobtrusively watched over and protected. The gardens are beautiful, the beach spectacular and accommodations quite comfortable, while retaining the Jamaican flavor. I highly recommend Nirvana for singles, couples and families, young and old!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing