We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond in the rough....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in cabin #4 for a week in the beginning of July. Two adults and two kids have plenty of room there. We knew this cabin didn't have A/C but after reading all the reviews it sounded like it would be OK. Well, July is part of the rainy season and it is HUMID as heck. Our beach towels, clothing, etc. always felt wet. I'm sure if I went in Nov., not having A/C would not be an issue. If you go in the summer book something on this property with A/C. This cabin could use some updating. Although the ladies do a super job of cleaning the tile in the bathroom and kitchen looks dirty which is not what you want to see when you check into a place. It would be nice to have the following in the cabin when you check in: a box of tissues in the bathroom, a roll of paper towels and a sponge in the kitchen (pretty standard for this type of accommodation). There was an issue with the dog on the property next door but the staff did their best to take care of that problem. With those few negatives out of the way the following is what makes Nirvana worth returning to. The staff is above and beyond excellent. Zemroy, Sandra, Lynn and the other ladies, Shine, Erroll, Moses....they make you feel like you've known them forever and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. The property itself is a perfect location. Nice, roomy beachfront so you're not on top of one another like on other properties. Accommodates both sun worshipers and shade lovers. Beautiful gardens, hammocks, hut with floats and toys for kids, kayaks. Whether you go right or the left on the beach you can find a wide variety of cuisine. Roadside, the same deal. Our heartfelt thanks to all of you in Nirvana for making our stay memorable. Sandra, we missed being able to say goodbye. You are definitely the go-to gal and you rule!!!! We will definitely return to see if this diamond can be made to shine.

Room Tip: If you go in the rainy season/summer months go for accommodations with A/C
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Nirvana on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our fourth time visiting Nirvana and it was our best vacation ever! Part of me wants to keep it all to myself, but I care about the success of the place (so I can keep going back!) so here I am sharing with the world! We used to do the all-inclusive, but 1) you are not eating and drinking so much to make up for the price 2) you don't get to experience the local food-- you are experiencing the tourist version of local food and 3) (most importantly!!!) you don't get to know the PEOPLE or CULTURE of Jamaica closed up in the walls of a resort! Go to Nirvana, leave your cares behind, and experience Jamaica at its best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just returned from a second stay at Nirvana. We enjoyed our February visit so much, we returned for a June birthday celebration. All the things that matter to us are first rate at Nirvana -- incredibly warm and helpful staff, beautiful beach, a cool, breezy cottage, comfortable beds, and a really relaxing home away from home.

Room Tip: We like cottage #4 because it's in the shady garden but with a direct view of the beach. Even i...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A great place to stay for your vacation. We were in the Owners Villa and had a beautiful front row view of the sunsets. The beach area is groomed daily and the property is well maintained from a hard working bunch of groundskeepers.
The housekeeping is quick and very trustworthy and they did a great job each day with our room.
If you plan on doing any watersports, talk with Sandra or mention it to the security on site. They know the best ones to use. As an example, we were invited from another couple to go snorkelling. The boat took us to one area but we fond out after the area he took us to was closer and less exciting. Still nice, but not as filled with activity. Go snorkelling near the islands, not the bouys by the reef.

Security was always present and available on the beach, and they take great pride at their posts.

Food is abundant along the beach, some good some not so good. Check out Best in the West for Jerk chicken and a great outdoor hut atmosphere, or stick the the Jerkman outside the gate of the compound as he has one of the best flavors.

On the beach keep an eye out for the sweets guy. He sells lots of baked goods daily and goes by the name of Anthony. Can't miss him as he carries a basket on his head. Also, if you want fresh fruit, stick with the lady who walks the beach daily. She will cut the fruit for you where the others have it already cut and in bags. Who knows when it was put in the bag and most looks slimey.
Finally, if you like Patties, stick with the guy with the cardboard box and not the metal bin. Each will walk the beach once daily pushing a bike between noon and 2pm but the guy with the cardboard box sells to all the locals and don't seem to bother with the guy with the metal bin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Enjoyed my first trip to Jamaica over Memorial Day weekend to celebrate a friend's birthday! From the pick-up at the airport (shout out to Jer!), to the scrumptious lunch prepared by the lovely ladies of Nirvana, we could not have asked for a more relaxing visit. The cottage was spacious and close to the beach and the grounds were kept in pristine condition. Sandra was extremely helpful in booking massages for us and helping set up a surprise birthday dinner. I already miss it and will definitely be back! Thank you all for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time on the beach here. We enjoyed the serene atmosphere and welcoming, reliable staff. The rooms and beach were very clean and we felt especially safe with staff present at all times. There are lots of activities in the area and good places to eat. Would definitely return here!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank BusyNYgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The website was right when it said you would leave like you were family. We loved it. Everyone on staff was great! We like the idea of being able to do what we want, when we want and there was nothing forced at all. The staff was great...fun and very helpful. Thank you to all who made our stay one of the best ever.

I wear my Nirvana shirt with much pride! ;)

We'll be back! Be sure to say hello to everyone from Steve and Sharon and thank you all so very much!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £101 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing