We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words do not express the beauty of the property and the warmth of the staff.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Words do not express the beauty of the property and the warmth of the staff.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I felt truly welcomed by the staff. My needs and wants were met. Nirvana will be the only place that I will stay when I am in Negril. The property was well kept and I felt secure. The only thing I did not like, was leaving the Nirvana to return home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sljdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    111
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
297
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As my husband and I were at Nirvana the same time as cshel718 (review below), we won't repeat her wonderful review which is spot on. We stayed in the upper verandah suite for 10 days ending today :( which was the closest to the beach and had the best view possible. We have read all the reviews posted about Nirvana and hope to give a concise list of tips for your trip because you should come here ... it is an incredible place.

What to bring:

Bug Spray - 100% Deet ( I got tons of mosquito bites, bring an antihistamine cream or something like Benedryl if you have a reaction to bites)
Ear plugs (as per cshel718's review) just in case there is a random concert going on
Beach towels
Zip lock bags - to pack up food
Chargers & Earphones
iPad, iPod laptop computer, radio or tape player (WIFI at Nirvana is weak, hook up to the White Sands next door which is faster and has a stronger signal)
small disposable flashlight
hairdryer
shampoo, conditioner and body lotion
Sunscreen >>>> max SPF
Sun hat
Optional: snorkel gear and air mattresses or blow-up rafts for floating (they have some there)

Money:

U.S. and Jamaican dollars are widely accepted (Jamaican is worth a little more than U.S.) - use Jamaican dollars during the trip, prices are cheaper and it's easier to negotiate with. Do not change your money at the airport, it's a rip-off. Your Nirvana driver (either Leon or Breezy) can exchange some money for you at a good rate to start you off.

If you are Canadian like us, there are Scotiabank ATMs close by. Next time, I will forego bringing U.S. dollars, you can use the ATM or exchange Canadian dollars at a Cambio a short taxi ride away.

Meals:

If you are on a budget, on your way to the hotel from the airport, one of the Nirvana's drivers (who will pick you up at the airport for $70 USD) will take you to a supermarket where you can stock up on food/drinks.

Our unit had a coffee maker, toaster, microwave, blender, toaster oven, and a portable two burner unit, and everything else you need for meals. We made our breakfast a lot consisting of Blue Mountain coffee, toast, some fruit purchased from Chordis, the fruit lady on the beach and fresh juice purchased from Flex also walking the beach.

We asked Sandra about purchasing oranges for freshly squeezed orange juice which the Nirvana staff will make for you but sadly, oranges were not available. Next time we'll pick up a huge bag from the supermarket in Montego Bay.

Country Country has the best banana pancakes but they are pricey at $10 U.S. and you get three tiny pancakes. But you need to at least try them, their awesome. Also, Try Coletta's, they had the cheapest breakfast and a good selection. Their hash browns were great.

For lunch, we purchased patties and coco bread from Norman who walks the beach between 12:00-2:00 daily except Sundays. He's the one with the cardboard box on his bike. Patties are $1-$1.50, cocoa bread is 50 cents. Can't go wrong with those prices and the patties are awesome. Our favourites are the pumpkin and chicken.

Sometimes there is someone selling pastries - the rum cake will knock you off your feet and the banana bread is tasty.

White Sands next door offers 2 for 1 daily specials on drinks. Try the Dirty Banana special on Fridays.

If you are staying in the owner's villa or one of the cottages, you can have one meal a day made for you, you just have to provide the ingredients. Taxi the fisherman is the one to buy seafood from, he is on the beach every morning with his catch.

There are so many restaurants in the Negril area, a lot within walking distance - some of our favourites were Best in the West, Coletta's, Sweet Spot, the jerk chicken vendors on the street, and Sweet Spice in town.

Sightseeing:

Rick's Cafe (take a boat ride to Rick's - it costs about $15/pp and it is so worth it to see a great view of the Cliffs).

YS Falls and the Pelican Bar - full day trip and definitely an experience. You can book it through the Nirvana staff or on your own.

One Love Bus Tour, kind of like a pub crawl - we didn't go on it but people we met raved about it, it's free, you just have to pay for your drinks and tip the driver.

Shopping

Time Square shopping mall (15 minute walk) had tons of souvenirs at pretty good prices, cheaper than the vendors on the beach and no haggling involved. But if you love the art of haggling, there is a craft market a short drive away with over a hundred vendors and there are tons of vendors on the beach. You are also within walking distance of convenience stores and a small grocery store. A three minute taxi ride into downtown Negril can get you anything else you need like a pharmacy, Cambio, etc.

As we were here during July, which is the low season, it was very quiet and serene. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Nirvana definitely has the best beach and it's right in the middle of 7 mile beach. We will be coming back here for sure. The staff is wonderful and the vibe is chill. Hope this review helps you plan your trip to Nirvana on the Beach.

Room Tip: The verandah and Owner's Villa have the best view and are closest to the beach. They also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Myrrhine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned yesterday from a fabulous stay--our first--at Nirvana On The Beach and can't say enough about what a great place this is. The staff is friendly, helpful, go above and beyond. Holla out to Sondra, Zemroy, Errol, Patrick, Shine, our driver Breezy and everyone one else who made our week-long vacation so terrific!

Of all the smaller "boutique" hotels on Negril's 7-Mile beach, this one is the prettiest, most private and well-kept property. Security makes you feel safe and will keep the beach sellers, buskers, ganja solicitors and gigolos from bothering you if you prefer -- if not, indulge yourself in fresh fruit, lobster, handmade patties, rum cake, smoke (of every kind), and souvenir shopping from the convenience of your lounge chair...lovely Caribbean water lapping at your feet.

Staff will also help you arrange daytrips--yes, you can shop around for a slightly cheaper price, but Nirvana will connect you with the most knowledgeable and trustworthy transportation in town. They'll also be happy to make restaurant reservations, see immediately to any room issues and give you travel advice and insight.

As far as rooms are concerned, we chose the least expensive option - the Garden Bedroom right next to the manager's office. It was spacious, clean, and stocked with tabletop fridge, microwave, electric skillet, blender (yay!) and plenty of tableware and utensils, mugs and cups. Bed was firm but not uncomfortable, pillows fluffy and luxurious. A/C was adequate and there was a ceiling fan in the room to assist with cooling. Lovely, large tiled shower, 2 sinks, small hanging closet and several shelves for storage, daily maid service, plenty of beach chairs and loungers, adequate lighting at night, and a selection of complimentary floaties for use in the ocean. That said, next time around we will splurge for one of Nirvana's beautiful ocean-front veranda suites, as we had the opportunity to go in one and that outside deck facing the water is worth every penny.

A couple of notes: In previous reviews I have seen mention of bugs in Nirvana's rooms. This is a tropical environment and there are bugs everywhere (even at the big resorts). Nirvana does a decent job of keeping them at bay, but you'll probably see some ants now and then and you will absolutely need bug spray outside at night as the mosquitos and sand fleas are ubiquitous.

Also, DO BRING EARPLUGS. On various nights (probably more frequently during the high season), there are extremely loud, wall-vibrating dance parties beachside in Negril that can run til 4 a.m. and will keep you up at night. There is nothing the management of Nirvana can do about this, and there are very few places on 7-Mile Beach where you won't be subject to the noise--it is that loud. It only occurred once during our 7-night stay, but it is worth noting so you are prepared.

Nirvana does not have a restaurant or bar on site; however, it doesn't need one. Just walk a few steps down the beach in either direction for a huge selection of beach restaurants and bars, including the White Sands bar right next door with 2-4-1 specials on different drinks every day. Best and least expensive food, however, is to be found on the street - not in the beachfront restaurants. Best In The West, Sweet Spot, Carletta's are all in short walking distance and worth a try.

Final note: Please feed Oreo, the little short-haired black and white cat who hangs around the office and is expecting kittens. She's a sweetheart and we don't want her to go hungry.

Thank you Nirvana, for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cshel718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at Nirvana for the third time this past June...hubby and I went to Negril for an anniversary long-weekend getaway. This time we stayed in the spacious upper level Verandah Suite.

The rooms at Nirvana are rustic as opposed to modern, but well-appointed. The bed was comfortable and the bath towels soft. This Verandah Suite has both an a-c and a ceiling fan. There is a full bathroom indoors, but this room also has an outdoor shower, a nice feature. The kitchenette is stocked with basic appliances and accessories one might need.

The view from the room is quite nice, as Verandah suites are closest to the beach. You can watch the sunset from the privacy of your verandah.

The staff at Nirvana is amazing, as most other reviewers have noted,...exceptionally hospitable...Zimroy, Sandra, Shine, Moses, Errol, the ladies...all are very special people, committed to making sure Nirvana guests are taken care of.

The grounds are immaculate.

Nirvana is well-located on the beach, just walk in either direction to find breakfast, lunch, dinner, for cocktails, a little shopping, to hear live music, to people-watch or to watch the sun set.

Nirvana also has a great beachfront, with plenty of room for its guests to lounge in the sun (or shade).

Breezy drove us everywhere we wanted to go: Blue Hole Mineral Spring, Jackie's on the Reef, Juicy Patty, and 3 Dives for jerk, are some of the places I can recall. We took the free shuttle (call them to pick you up) to see the Sea Star Drummers on Saturday night.

I love Jamaica...I'm there at least once each year (Jackie's on the Reef). When I stay on the beach, Nirvana is my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dana119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in cabin #4 for a week in the beginning of July. Two adults and two kids have plenty of room there. We knew this cabin didn't have A/C but after reading all the reviews it sounded like it would be OK. Well, July is part of the rainy season and it is HUMID as heck. Our beach towels, clothing, etc. always felt wet. I'm sure if I went in Nov., not having A/C would not be an issue. If you go in the summer book something on this property with A/C. This cabin could use some updating. Although the ladies do a super job of cleaning the tile in the bathroom and kitchen looks dirty which is not what you want to see when you check into a place. It would be nice to have the following in the cabin when you check in: a box of tissues in the bathroom, a roll of paper towels and a sponge in the kitchen (pretty standard for this type of accommodation). There was an issue with the dog on the property next door but the staff did their best to take care of that problem. With those few negatives out of the way the following is what makes Nirvana worth returning to. The staff is above and beyond excellent. Zemroy, Sandra, Lynn and the other ladies, Shine, Erroll, Moses....they make you feel like you've known them forever and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. The property itself is a perfect location. Nice, roomy beachfront so you're not on top of one another like on other properties. Accommodates both sun worshipers and shade lovers. Beautiful gardens, hammocks, hut with floats and toys for kids, kayaks. Whether you go right or the left on the beach you can find a wide variety of cuisine. Roadside, the same deal. Our heartfelt thanks to all of you in Nirvana for making our stay memorable. Sandra, we missed being able to say goodbye. You are definitely the go-to gal and you rule!!!! We will definitely return to see if this diamond can be made to shine.

Room Tip: If you go in the rainy season/summer months go for accommodations with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our fourth time visiting Nirvana and it was our best vacation ever! Part of me wants to keep it all to myself, but I care about the success of the place (so I can keep going back!) so here I am sharing with the world! We used to do the all-inclusive, but 1) you are not eating and drinking so much to make up for the price 2) you don't get to experience the local food-- you are experiencing the tourist version of local food and 3) (most importantly!!!) you don't get to know the PEOPLE or CULTURE of Jamaica closed up in the walls of a resort! Go to Nirvana, leave your cares behind, and experience Jamaica at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just returned from a second stay at Nirvana. We enjoyed our February visit so much, we returned for a June birthday celebration. All the things that matter to us are first rate at Nirvana -- incredibly warm and helpful staff, beautiful beach, a cool, breezy cottage, comfortable beds, and a really relaxing home away from home.

Room Tip: We like cottage #4 because it's in the shady garden but with a direct view of the beach. Even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing