We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana truly is Nirvana”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Maritimes
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nirvana truly is Nirvana”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was my 4th stay at Nirvana and as a special treat, my mother accompanied me. It was my first time staying in Negril during the "winter" months but I must say, December was/is a wonderful time to go. Although I mostly sit in the shade of the palm trees, and Nirvana has plenty of shade, I was able to lie out in the direct sun in the late afternoon.
As always the staff took great care of us and went above and beyond in the care of my mother. Always friendly, always smiling and always cheerful.
The property is freshly painted, spruced up and ready for another busy season.
If you want a peaceful, quaint, and quiet spot to play in the sand and sea, Nirvana is for you. Centrally located you are never far from anything your heart desires so ask away!
I will be returning to Nirvana in March 2014 for our annual spring vacation but I think I may make a December vacation an annual event too! Thank you everyone from Nirvana for making our stay as wonderful as always.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyJaneMaritimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    111
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
197
297
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked here because of the great reviews we read on trip advisor, and other sites. The reviews were accurate - we had an excellent stay at Nirvana, and it is, exactly as advertised.

We do not like the big mega resorts with lunch buffets, crowds and pools etc…. (we have tried them) - Nirvana was prefect for us.

Leon met us at the Montego Bay airport and gave us a ride to Nirvana, he took very good care of us coming/going and on a couple of day trips away from 7 mile beach.

We stayed in the owners villa and it was clean, spacious, comfortable, and just a few steps from the beach. Lynn and her assistants made us dinner twice and it was excellent both times - next year we hope to try more of her cooking! They also accommodated us by cleaning when it was convenient for us, which we appreciated.

We spent a lot of time on the beach and were impressed with Shine and Errol's watchful eyes on our kids safety - also very much appreciated. They also gave us sound advice on how things worked in Jamaica, knowing this was our first visit. We did not have any issues with the beach vendors - they backed off with a firm "no thank you" on the very few times their products were not wanted. Our kids had a lot of fun with the beach toys on hand at Nirvana.

Thanks to all the staff, and we will be coming back next year for a longer visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Nirvana last February and immediately booked a second visit for this February. Due to a medical emergency we had to reschedule our trip. Lonnie went out of her way to work with me and find new dates for us. She was genuinely concerned and incredibly easy to talk to and sooo helpful. There are plenty of reviews for other places that lack in customer service or care for their guests. Nirvana is the total opposite. The people on staff and the owners are incredible people. Thank you so much Lonnie for all your help and we can't wait to get back to your piece of paradise in Negril this April!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your wonderful letter & we hope that you are doing much better & will soon be well enough to come back to Nirvana for the healing environment of Negril & the best fruits & Veggies the staff will cook for you to heal even more quickly.

We hope you are feeling better each day & we look forward to your return soon.

At Nirvana we will take care of your every need & make sure you get to enjoy the sun & sand of our wonderful place on Negril Beach where everything you need is just a short walk away from Nirvana.

Take care & heal soon, LONNIE, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I have visited Negril more times than we can count. We usually try to split our time between the beach and the cliffs. We stayed at Nirvana for the 3rd time recently for 6 nights. Again, we had a magical experience. The staff was wonderful, the room was clean and comfortable and of course, the beach was grand! We cannot say a bad word about Nirvana. We will be back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My flight was cancelled so we had two extra days with 7 people and needed a place that could accommodate. The manager Mr Jackson was able to set us up with a nice cottage out near the road. The vibe of this place and the staff is very friendly and engaging. Security is top notch with Errol during the day, in fact most higglers will not approach you, you have to go out to them.

Great deep beach which is low density considering they only have a few rooms. I'll be back......

Room Tip: If you are not into rustic but clean stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boogerlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We are just returned from three weeks at Nirvana and I am ready to go back. This year marks the fourth in a row that we have stayed at Nirvana. Why do we go back every year? Number one is likely the staff, Zemroy, and Sandra, Shine, Patrick and Errol, Leonie, Joan, Miss Lyn and the other cleaning staff and of course the two Moses and Otis (aka Rasta boy!) they are all now old friends. We love the cottage that we stay in every year, the simplicity of it, the ability to cook at home and the close proximity to the best beach in the world. No phone, no TV, no AC (in our cottage, others have it) but great Wi-Fi make for the ideal vacation spot for us. The beach vendors are also part of the joy of Nirvana, Cortis the fruit lady who hauls tons of fruit up and down the beach, Patricia the slim fruit lady, Telford the bracelet maker, Sirgi the male fruit sales man (great bananas), the Jerk Pork man (fantastic!) the Patti men, Lobster salesmen and more. The Cake Lady needs special mention if you see her you MUST buy a slice, she is a Negril treasure having sold cake on the beach since the 70s, she makes a great cake look for her near dark on the beach! This year we enjoyed a great trip with Mike the glass bottom boat man (very friendly and honest see his own review on trip advisor) and several other Nirvana guest to the island for Lobster. The grounds are raked daily, the plants and flowers perfect, this year the many woodcarvings got a fresh coat of paint. You have likely already guessed it but yes we have booked for Next November. Oops: I almost forgot the cats, Oreo and her baby Mackerel are the two tiny cats who have moved in and are looked after and loved by the staff and guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you're looking for relaxing vacation on a great beach this is the place for you. Everything about the property meet or exceeded our expectations. Food and drinks in the area were very good and readily available. The wonderful Jamaican people and culture is what has keep us coming back. Know we have a place to call home. Thanks to everybody at Nirvana!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWhiteFamily321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing