We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at Nirvana”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were happy to return to peaceful, comfortable Nirvana and our staff "family" again this year. As always, the grounds were beautiful and kept in perfect shape by the two Moses and Kevin, and Miss Lynn and the girls kept everything clean in our unit. Sandra kept track of everyone and everything on the property, and Zemroy the manager kept the entire operation running smoothly so that all of us could enjoy a relaxing vacation. Errol kept us safe and comfortable on the uncrowded private beach, and Shine and Patrick kept us secure overnight. Breezy and the other safe and reliable drivers got us to and from the airport and took us for dinner at Sweet Spice. Anything we wanted or needed was a short walk from Nirvana. Nirvana is neither fancy nor all-inclusive, and that is exactly what we want for our after-Christmas vacation. We are already looking forward to our return on December 27, 2014.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the beach as possible, in one of the veranda suites or the owner's villa, for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBloomington_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Three of us stayed seven nights in Sundeck II and loved every minute. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place with an uncongested beach and wanted the flexibility to wander, explore, eat and drink at local restaurants without feeling the pressure to return to an all-inclusive resort where everything is already paid for. Nirvana was the perfect fit. At Nirvana, there is no pre-determined mealtime, no dress code, no line-ups, no reservations, and no amenities that you pay for and never use.

The beach at Nirvana is perfect. It is wide and deep, has plenty of natural shade, and is cleaned and raked daily. There are plenty of loungers and side tables, which are also cleaned every day. Since the beach faces west, you don’t get full sun until about mid to late morning, and if you want to lie facing the sun, you have to turn your lounger away from the water. This is a small price to pay for the gorgeous sunsets in the evenings.

The staff was friendly, and helpful, always nearby but never in your face. The security staff arranged for cabs, told us which vendors to trust and which to avoid, and reassured us that the beach was safe to walk after dark. The cleaners do your dishes, which was great. Leona gave a great massage on the beach, very relaxing and highly recommended!

We stayed three people in Sundeck II and found it perfectly adequate. The sofa bed was permanently set up a double bed next to the king size bed, and there was still plenty of room to walk around. There is a large shelf and closet space. The living space and table is outside on the covered deck and the view is great (pictures don’t do it justice). There are several outlets right on the deck, good for playing music. Nice, big, tiled shower, with a light in it.

Though we were a little bit hesitant that there was no restaurant or bar, we quickly saw that this was an asset, as it keeps the through traffic and noise to a minimum, and there are PLENTY of places within walking distance or short cab ride. Highly recommend trying out some of the smaller local restaurants in the cliffs area, such delicious food at good prices. Had one of our best nights listening to local reggae band at the Boat Bar, just a minute away.

Sorry for such a long review, just too many good things to say I guess. We will stay here again if/when we return to Negril. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sundeck II can accommodate 4 people comfortably with the use of the double sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My niece, her husband, and myself stayed at Nirvana the first week in February and we LOVED it! The cottages are clean, airy, and homey. We had cottage #4, which had a great view of the ocean, and we fell asleep each night to the sound of nightcocks (similar to crickets) and ocean waves. The staff were more than helpful with anything we needed, and were available and willing to answer any questions we had.

The location of Nirvana on the beach is perfect: To the left are vendors selling great food, drink, jewelry, and crafts and to the right are the all-inclusive hotels. The beach is 7 miles long, and you can easily make a day of walking the beach. Nice to have a great cottage with a warm shower, a clean kitchen and cold drinks when you return!

The guard staff on the beach were especially helpful with information regarding where to find different foods, different trips, and simply information on Negril in general. I simply cannot wait to return to Negril (and especially Nirvana!) ASAP!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 2-bedroom cottage, ask for #4, it has a great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingJan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our 4th stay at Nirvana, all in the Owner's villa. We booked kinda late, so had to stay at Country Country the first 4 nights of our trip. Although a decent place, we couldn't wait to get back to Nirvana. It's really starting to feel like home. The staff is so welcoming, the grounds so peaceful.
I can't see how you can beat the view from the deck of the villa.
Worked great again having the ladies cook us breakfast every morning.
Even our driver, who had never seen Nirvana, said we had the best spot he'd seen on the beach.
The beach resorts with a beach this nice are far and few between.
Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We arrived at Nirvana Monday Jan 6. We are still here for another few days and are finally experiencing what is the bliss of this beautiful place.
We had decided to book here because of the fabulous reviews from a few different folks we know who have stayed here and raved about its quiet blissful grounds, and non-resort like feel which is exactly what we wanted.
The first morning we awoke to the obnoxiously loud sounds of our neighbors in the suite next to us talking SO loud banging dishes around yelling arguing - everything you would imagine you DON'T want to be woken up to on your first day of vacation. We made ourselves some breakfast and went to the middle common area to enjoy it and no sooner than we sat down one of the women in the noisy group came right out -sat right across from us and continued to have a screaming argumentwith someone on her cell phone arrrrgh!!! We removed ourselves and honestly brushed that off as we hadjust got there and the hustle and bustle of reality was still in us- we had no idea what was in store for us with these neighbors.
Im going to point out here the "good" point and it is that they were not partying THANK GOD -they want to bed at a reasonable time and awoke at reasonable time - but seriously So loud - obnoxious- like the people you wish SO bad you could ignore but can't. This stretched to the beach as well, they parked themselves right smack in the middle talking so loud you couldn't not hear their every conversation.
I think ive made my point here - I could go on and on about the blatant rude, disrespect, complete disregard for others comfort and peace these people had. My main point here is that they dont belong at Nirvana. They left yesterday and my Fiance and I are now experiencing absolute BLISS!!!!
This place really is Nirvana!! Thank goodness we have a few days to really experience it- hearing the birds chirping in the morning is what we came to hear- certainly not loud family's drama.
To the people who stayed in suite 4- next time book a private villa where you can be as loud and obnoxious as you want - stay away from Nirvana.

Room Tip: Book the room on the beach for best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been to Negril many times after family visits to Kingston. But this was our first time at Nirvana. We usually stay at slightly cheaper places which were all booked up 6 months ago. Retrospectively, we are very happy that we ended up in Nirvana. We staid in the lower verandah suite, directly on the beach. It was gorgeous, very comfortable and big enough for the 3 of us. My partner likes to cook, and was disappointed that we had not been able to book a full- fledged self- catering place. But the small kitchen in our suite turned out to be great and produced a number of delicious meals (well, with the help of my husband!). While the interior was spacious enough and comfortable, the outside was just amazing. We were directly looking out on the beach and the sea, and the lovely palm trees. The other guests were all very nice and friendly. Another aspect that makes Nirvana really stand out is its staff. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful, but also full of dignity and respect. A week at Nirvana was extremely relaxing for all of us. We would have loved to stay longer, and hope to come again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadjeandMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was my 4th stay at Nirvana and as a special treat, my mother accompanied me. It was my first time staying in Negril during the "winter" months but I must say, December was/is a wonderful time to go. Although I mostly sit in the shade of the palm trees, and Nirvana has plenty of shade, I was able to lie out in the direct sun in the late afternoon.
As always the staff took great care of us and went above and beyond in the care of my mother. Always friendly, always smiling and always cheerful.
The property is freshly painted, spruced up and ready for another busy season.
If you want a peaceful, quaint, and quiet spot to play in the sand and sea, Nirvana is for you. Centrally located you are never far from anything your heart desires so ask away!
I will be returning to Nirvana in March 2014 for our annual spring vacation but I think I may make a December vacation an annual event too! Thank you everyone from Nirvana for making our stay as wonderful as always.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyJaneMaritimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#17 of 80 in Negril
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Jamaica, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £102 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing