We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time here and we're booking for next year”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Greeneville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“2nd time here and we're booking for next year”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Laid back, quiet, clean, and extremely relaxing. Grounds are beautiful and well kept, and the water is calm and shallow. Right now there's a ban on wave runners ( yeah!), and I hope Negril keeps the ban. Get fruit from Curtis and juice from Kony.
We're here with some friends who have been three times. Moses, Moses, Shine, Sandra, and Errol have been on staff for years, and they are fabulous. Rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes and great internet. Leon, the driver, takes you to a large grocery store on the way from the airport. The hardest decision we make each night is to walk left or right on the beach for dinner. We tried a few different destinations including Cayman and Bahamas, but this can't be beat.. We LOVE it here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    111
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
297
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

WOW! Not much more I can say. We re-booked the day we got home. I think it will be an annual event. Nirvana is quaint and cozy! The grounds are beautiful, the staff is wonderful and the sunsets are amazing. It was our first visit and within a day we felt like we were part of the family. I've told everyone it was my most relaxing vacation ever and we've been to many places all over the Caribbean. I was actually hesitant to share how wonderful this place is....I didn't want to share this slice of paradise with anyone else. Every day began with coffee on the beach waiting for our favorite vendors to come by. We got fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit and breads each morning...and by 11:00 Patrick came by with fresh lobster, caught that morning. The meat patties are addicting and unexplainable and the jerk pork is unforgettable. Many vendors quietly pass by but never intrude, if they get too friendly Errol is right there to move them along. The only thing that wasn't delivered to us was Red Stripe, but that was steps away in our fridge. I could go on raving about this wonderful place for hours but you'd get bored or jealous! My suggestion is call them...sooner than later. They are a small property so space is limited....that's one of the best things about it!

Room Tip: We loved cabin #2 but the higher the number the closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheriGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just got back from a week at Nirvana and we were very impressed. This was our third time in Negril but our first time away from an all inclusive. Everything was as advertised. We were picked up at the airport and Breezy helped us buy groceries for the week. Sandra and Zemroy checked in daily to make sure we lacked for nothing. Lynn, Joan and Leona kept our cabin clean and made us authentic Jamaican meals that rivaled the fare from the restaurants on the beach and Otis and Kevin maintained the beach and Nirvana's beautiful tropical grounds.

We were in a cabin that was seconds from the beach but because it was screened in, it felt like we were on the water. Nirvana provides 24/7 security and Shine and Errol had just enough of a presence to make us feel secure at all times.

Nirvana has over five acres of grounds for relatively few guests. This means that there is lots of beach for the sun worshipper's and ample shade for those who don't. We thought Nirvana had more open beach then most of the Negril resorts we saw.

At Nirvana the closest thing to a schedule is catching the daily sunset (which you don't want to miss!)

Room Tip: You could hear the ocean from cabin #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linkdado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Finally a vacation spot that lives up to its name! Nirvana. I don't ever care to stay at any other place in Jamaica! I've tried many others. The staff makes you feel at home and truly everything is No Problem. If you want to experience the best beach in the Caribbean at the best spot on the beach. Look no further. You won't believe the number of people who stop when walking by and are amazed at the awesome beachfront property with tons of room -- it is so unlike all other properties on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

When I first stayed at Nirvana 3 years ago, I fell in love with it. (In fact, it prompted me to write my first Tripadvisor review.) So, upon my return last week, I was thrilled to find that it had not changed: the same wonderful staff, the same relaxed, friendly atmosphere, the same beautiful jungly grounds, the same clean, stunning beach. The folks at Nirvana just "get it"; they understand what makes people keep coming back.

Nirvana is small (in terms of number of units only), but has quite a variety of accommodations. There are several cottages with 2 bedrooms, comfy sitting area, small kitchen. The cottages are charmingly simple and well-maintained. Thankfully, TV's are absent. The cottages are equipped with devices of actual importance, though: coffeemaker (w/ filter), orange juicer (have a 40 lb bag of oranges delivered and have fresh juice all week), blender. There's no AC in the cottages, but there are ceiling fans, small fans that can be positioned, and louver-type wood shutters that allow air movement but maintain privacy. There are also more modern units of varying sizes - 2 in the garden area, several more right on the beach. I've not stayed in any of these, though, so I can't say much about them.

The layout of Nirvana is very appealing: there is a large, lush courtyard right in the middle of the property. There's an incredible variety of plants and trees providing shade, and something always seems to be in bloom - orchids, hibiscus, others I can't identify. Picture a Gauguin painting minus the topless South-Pacific island women. There's a hammock and many place to sit and chill day or night. Nirvana's beachfront is substantial and has enough shade trees to keep guests from getting fried.

On the beach, beginning at roughly 8 am, vendors will begin coming by, making their way North. You can buy juice (orange, mango, papaya, soursop) sold in cleaned-out rum bottles, fresh fruit and coconuts, coco bread (not sure why it's called coco bread, as it has no coconut in it, but it is SO good) and banana bread. Closer to noon, the pattie guy with a big box on the front of his bike, and the jerk pork guy with a big metal box will come. All delicious. There are many other vendors/ musicians who will come by. If you don't want what they're offering, a simple "No thank you" will do. No one will hassle you much if you are sitting on Nirvana's beach. If you are walking the beach, some people may be a bit more pushy.

Nirvana draws a very diverse crowd: single people, older people, couples, families with kids, people from around the globe. This only increases the appeal, as far as I'm concerned. It really is a great place for kids, but if you don't have kids, don't let that scare you away! There's more than enough space on the beach, and kids tend to tire themselves out in the warm, calm, crystal-clear water and fall asleep early. If you do have kids, they'll love Nirvana. The beach is safe, the water is safe (and shallow), there are floats and sand toys. Also, the food and drink from vendors and little restaurants/ jerk stands is all perfectly safe.

Nirvana's staff deserves a special mention here. They really make the place what it is. From Sandra, the manager, to Errol, the beach security/ go-to guy, to Moses, one of the groundskeepers, to all the friendly cleaning ladies who somehow manage to make your place spotless while you are on the beach (and who, by the way, will cook you delicious meals if you supply the ingredients)… they all have been at Nirvana for years and do their thing flawlessly day after day.

If you have any questions about Nirvana, Negril, or outside Negril, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gringoflaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review, we appreciate your post & you really "GOT" Nirvana.

We're here because we love it & want our guests to have the best possible experience of all that Negril offers. Nirvana offers directions & guidance for our guests to have the time of their lives in a central beach front location where you can walk to "all the flavors of Negril"

The food is fresh & delicious, you can eat at a wide range of places where if you take a little time & effort you will be rewarded with freshest of seafood prepared Jamaican style with reasonable prices & down home service.

Just ask our staff where to go & what you like to eat & they will direct you to the right spots.

The local vendors rarely disappoint if you deal with respect you will get respect. enjoy the coco bread with cheese & a fresh fruit juice & eat it with your feet in the sand right on the beach front.

You will never forget the sight of the sunsets in the ocean right in front of Nirvana at the days end & be sure to visit the cliffs of Negril before you have to leave.

We hope you will return again soon,

Lonnie, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were happy to return to peaceful, comfortable Nirvana and our staff "family" again this year. As always, the grounds were beautiful and kept in perfect shape by the two Moses and Kevin, and Miss Lynn and the girls kept everything clean in our unit. Sandra kept track of everyone and everything on the property, and Zemroy the manager kept the entire operation running smoothly so that all of us could enjoy a relaxing vacation. Errol kept us safe and comfortable on the uncrowded private beach, and Shine and Patrick kept us secure overnight. Breezy and the other safe and reliable drivers got us to and from the airport and took us for dinner at Sweet Spice. Anything we wanted or needed was a short walk from Nirvana. Nirvana is neither fancy nor all-inclusive, and that is exactly what we want for our after-Christmas vacation. We are already looking forward to our return on December 27, 2014.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the beach as possible, in one of the veranda suites or the owner's villa, for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBloomington_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Three of us stayed seven nights in Sundeck II and loved every minute. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place with an uncongested beach and wanted the flexibility to wander, explore, eat and drink at local restaurants without feeling the pressure to return to an all-inclusive resort where everything is already paid for. Nirvana was the perfect fit. At Nirvana, there is no pre-determined mealtime, no dress code, no line-ups, no reservations, and no amenities that you pay for and never use.

The beach at Nirvana is perfect. It is wide and deep, has plenty of natural shade, and is cleaned and raked daily. There are plenty of loungers and side tables, which are also cleaned every day. Since the beach faces west, you don’t get full sun until about mid to late morning, and if you want to lie facing the sun, you have to turn your lounger away from the water. This is a small price to pay for the gorgeous sunsets in the evenings.

The staff was friendly, and helpful, always nearby but never in your face. The security staff arranged for cabs, told us which vendors to trust and which to avoid, and reassured us that the beach was safe to walk after dark. The cleaners do your dishes, which was great. Leona gave a great massage on the beach, very relaxing and highly recommended!

We stayed three people in Sundeck II and found it perfectly adequate. The sofa bed was permanently set up a double bed next to the king size bed, and there was still plenty of room to walk around. There is a large shelf and closet space. The living space and table is outside on the covered deck and the view is great (pictures don’t do it justice). There are several outlets right on the deck, good for playing music. Nice, big, tiled shower, with a light in it.

Though we were a little bit hesitant that there was no restaurant or bar, we quickly saw that this was an asset, as it keeps the through traffic and noise to a minimum, and there are PLENTY of places within walking distance or short cab ride. Highly recommend trying out some of the smaller local restaurants in the cliffs area, such delicious food at good prices. Had one of our best nights listening to local reggae band at the Boat Bar, just a minute away.

Sorry for such a long review, just too many good things to say I guess. We will stay here again if/when we return to Negril. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sundeck II can accommodate 4 people comfortably with the use of the double sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
998 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing