We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were in cottage 1 and it was a disappointment to say the very least. Old, shabby and stuck in the 70's with old stained linoleum, formica and faucets. I could not bring myself to go into the kitchen, which reminded of an exhibit at the Holocaust Museum in DC. For what we paid, it was disgusting. The traffic, honking and loud noises was so bad on Sat. night we could not sleep. The next morning we requested to be moved. No luck. The next night,on Sun., traffic noise was quieter. Monday night power was lost and the large generator power plant kicked in right next to our bedroom windows, blasting us out of sleep by midnight and continuing on for hours. I went outside and demanded some answers from the only person around, the night watchman. After much frustration the owner's son showed up with a beer in his hand, I asked him who he was and he replied Peter Peter Pumpkin Eater. I asked him if he was a guest there and he replied that he was the owner's son. I demanded that my husband and I needed to be moved because the noise was deafening. He then proceeded to move us to a unit away from the noise. By that time it was 2 AM and we were quite upset and lost more sleep. It was a nightmare.
We paid for 4 nights at Nirvana and got 2 nights of sleep in the worst accommodations we have ever had! The owners blamed the generator noise on the next door motel. However, the lack of care the Nirvana owners provided for their guests, who they clearly knew were experiencing a difficult time, was a disappointment. They should have come over and moved us immediately instead of us having to deal with the frustration of waiting and wondering what was going on and eventually having to demand that they move us at 1 am in the morning after losing sleep and being put through this bad experience. The owners apologized but blamed the problem on the motel next door instead of taking responsibility for making sure their guests are taken proper care of immediately when this ordeal first began..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DelawareSunburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are so sorry for your extreme disappointment, but gee whiz it seems that your problem was taken care of as soon as it was humanly possible since we were fully booked on your 1st nt. & had no where to move you to.

Since we are not mind readers & since you had not complained all that next day or asked to be moved management assumed that you were OK. You did not check with management until a full day & night later when at 2AM our night guard heard you yelling & had to wake our son & he was able to move you to a unit farther from the road & with no up charge for doing that in the middle of the night. No "thank you" from you at any time??

You seem to be the only reviewer here who had such extreme complaints that you felt you had to insult us & say things that are simply nu-true in this forum.

I think you were not even at Nirvana since we have no linoleum flooring anywhere in our lovely fully equipped modern kitchens or anywhere else. We do have modern immaculately clean cottages & studios all with clean nice full kitchens or self catering kitchenettes with all the conveniences our happy guests return to year after year with no complaints.

No hotel can not possibly control the things that tormented you so much that you felt you had to insult us & say things that are simply nu-true in this forum. There is traffic in Negril... every beachfront hotel has some noise as every busy hotel in the world does.

Too bad you missed all the charm & natural ambiance of Nirvana in a prime beachfront location where you are only a short walk from everything on Negril Beach. Too bad you did not get to enjoy our wonderful Jamaican staff who will all try their very best to make you relaxed & happy on your vacation..... but that probably happens to you often.

My advice? Be nice to the hotel people who work so hard to make your vacation special & enjoyable. Bring ear plugs where ever you travel, the world is a noisy place.

Lonnie, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We traveled to Nirvana with another couple. Stayed in the Veranda upper and the Sundeck II. We were a little nervous about not having a bar and/ or restaurant on property but were so happy without one! Enjoyed numerous places on the beach and ate most of our lunches on our beach chairs by taking advantage of the vendors walking the beach. Nirvana is the perfect size for a relaxing vacation! Plenty of room on the beach so you don't feel like you are crowding the other guests which is not true of many of the other places we walked by. The staff was exceptional, our rooms were great. We will be back for sure. Thanks to all for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Veranda Upper and Sundeck II have air conditioning which was a MUST for our husbands! Both had balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpeter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nirvana definitely stands up to the excellent ratings it receives. The grounds are well kept, lush gardens with lots of shade. The Negril Beach if you haven't been is beautiful. We rented cottage 1 for our family of five plus a tag along friend of one of our teenage daughters. Three bedroom cottage was very clean and a perfect set up. I would recommend you arrange airport transfer with one of their drivers as opposed to arranging it through an online travel service, it wasn't as reliable. The Staff, Zemroy, Sandra, Shine, Errol, Moses and Otis(??) were all very accommodating and respectful. Breezy, our driver, was also excellent. You will not be disappointed.

The Kenny Family
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterK1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Laid back, quiet, clean, and extremely relaxing. Grounds are beautiful and well kept, and the water is calm and shallow. Right now there's a ban on wave runners ( yeah!), and I hope Negril keeps the ban. Get fruit from Curtis and juice from Kony.
We're here with some friends who have been three times. Moses, Moses, Shine, Sandra, and Errol have been on staff for years, and they are fabulous. Rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes and great internet. Leon, the driver, takes you to a large grocery store on the way from the airport. The hardest decision we make each night is to walk left or right on the beach for dinner. We tried a few different destinations including Cayman and Bahamas, but this can't be beat.. We LOVE it here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandLH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

WOW! Not much more I can say. We re-booked the day we got home. I think it will be an annual event. Nirvana is quaint and cozy! The grounds are beautiful, the staff is wonderful and the sunsets are amazing. It was our first visit and within a day we felt like we were part of the family. I've told everyone it was my most relaxing vacation ever and we've been to many places all over the Caribbean. I was actually hesitant to share how wonderful this place is....I didn't want to share this slice of paradise with anyone else. Every day began with coffee on the beach waiting for our favorite vendors to come by. We got fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit and breads each morning...and by 11:00 Patrick came by with fresh lobster, caught that morning. The meat patties are addicting and unexplainable and the jerk pork is unforgettable. Many vendors quietly pass by but never intrude, if they get too friendly Errol is right there to move them along. The only thing that wasn't delivered to us was Red Stripe, but that was steps away in our fridge. I could go on raving about this wonderful place for hours but you'd get bored or jealous! My suggestion is call them...sooner than later. They are a small property so space is limited....that's one of the best things about it!

Room Tip: We loved cabin #2 but the higher the number the closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheriGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just got back from a week at Nirvana and we were very impressed. This was our third time in Negril but our first time away from an all inclusive. Everything was as advertised. We were picked up at the airport and Breezy helped us buy groceries for the week. Sandra and Zemroy checked in daily to make sure we lacked for nothing. Lynn, Joan and Leona kept our cabin clean and made us authentic Jamaican meals that rivaled the fare from the restaurants on the beach and Otis and Kevin maintained the beach and Nirvana's beautiful tropical grounds.

We were in a cabin that was seconds from the beach but because it was screened in, it felt like we were on the water. Nirvana provides 24/7 security and Shine and Errol had just enough of a presence to make us feel secure at all times.

Nirvana has over five acres of grounds for relatively few guests. This means that there is lots of beach for the sun worshipper's and ample shade for those who don't. We thought Nirvana had more open beach then most of the Negril resorts we saw.

At Nirvana the closest thing to a schedule is catching the daily sunset (which you don't want to miss!)

Room Tip: You could hear the ocean from cabin #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linkdado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Finally a vacation spot that lives up to its name! Nirvana. I don't ever care to stay at any other place in Jamaica! I've tried many others. The staff makes you feel at home and truly everything is No Problem. If you want to experience the best beach in the Caribbean at the best spot on the beach. Look no further. You won't believe the number of people who stop when walking by and are amazed at the awesome beachfront property with tons of room -- it is so unlike all other properties on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
669 reviews
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,164 reviews
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Jamaica, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £103 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing