We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
South Casco, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great visit!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We love Nirvana, have been going there for 30 years, and have never been disappointed. We now are joined by 15 of our family members who think of it as their favorite week of the year. We have always found the staff at Nirvana the most attentive--the most concerned with the guest experience--of any of the many places we have ever stayed. This service, combined with the gardens, the beach, the accommodations, and the laid back atmosphere are the ingredients that make for a great vacation. For us, Nirvana truly lives up to its name and we all are already eagerly looking forward to the magic and relaxation that next year's visit will bring!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your high praises, we always enjoy having you stay with us & we are honored that another hotel owner/operator is so pleased with Nirvana that you have chosen us as your winter home in Negril.

We try our best to have everything ready & just as you like it for your family winter getaways.

We all look forward to your next stay with us this winter & send you our very best regards,

Lonnie, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    110
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
195
295
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maritimes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my 5th time staying at Nirvana. We always have a terrific time. We choose a cottage with full service kitchen as we stay for almost 3 weeks and we like to eat most of our meals in.
Nirvana staff keep the units super clean and organized. The groundskeepers rake the entire property daily, keeping it immaculate and inviting. The centre gardens are nice and cool and shady if you want to hide from the sun or just get your Zen on.
Nirvana is situated on the best part of Negril's famous beach. As it's a double lots with 200 feet of beachfront, there is lots of room for everyone to have a private lounge space. No need to save chairs at Nirvana. Sleep in or go out early, no worries about ever finding personal space.
Nirvana is a perfect spot for lazing around and enjoying peace and quiet. There is no bar on location, or gift shop or pool or TVs or phones or blasting stereos. Its peaceful and serene, allowing for total relaxation.
Nirvanas staff make this location what it is. Staff that have been there for 25+ years. Staff that quickly become your friends. They work very hard to ensure their guests are well attended to, comfortable, safe, and happy.
Thank you to each and every one of the hard working folks of Nirvana for another lovely relaxing vacation. And thank you for caring for me while I was sick on vacation. I sincerely appreciate you all looking out for me.
I can easily recommend Dr. Grant in Negril for any medical needs you may require. She is a warm and professional Doctor and thorough with her examinations.
We are looking forward to our next trip to Nirvana, the sooner the better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJaneMaritimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so happy to welcome you back every time & we all hope to see you again soon.

Nirvana guests get the best location & services Negril has to offer with our wonderful staff & our friendly drivers we are so lucky to have.

At Nirvana "ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS ASK"

Thanks for your great review & everyone at Nirvana sends their greetings to you & your family.

Lonnie, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you want the real feel of Jamaica, stay at Nirvana: super safe, clean, outstanding service, beautiful setting. Accommodations are simple( no TV) but very clean and cozy. Great place for kids!
Beach is big enough for relaxing grownups as well as for very active kids. Entry to the water is shallow, perfect for young ones.
Maids can prepare one meal a day, if you wish so. My picky kids love their food.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
KIDS LOVE NIRVANA

WE MAKE THINGS SPECIAL FOR KIDS OF ALL AGES

Nirvana takes care of families with kids in every age group, just let our staff ladies know how the kids like their meals & their cooking will make any kid happy.

Ask Sandra for details on all the day trips & excursions we can arrange with our friendly local drivers. Don't miss the exciting Black River Safari with kids over 8 years old.

She will order fresh produce from the produce truck or the fishman when he has a catch for you.
Fresh oranges from the orange man or even hot coco bread when the baker man comes by.

At Nirvana we will take care of all your needs from dinner suggestions & reservations to getting a wonderful well vetted Jamaican nanny to watch the kids & tell them traditional Jamaican fairy tales & stories so the grown ups can take a break or have a romantic dinner alone.

At Nirvana we can do it all, "JUST ASK US"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful, comfortable, affordable, safe, & extremely welcoming place to stay on 7 Mile Beach,, this is it!! We enjoyed every single day at Nirvana & I know you will too. Have FUN!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to Nirvana. We stayed in the upper verandah suite again and loved it even more than the first time. Happy to see all the same faces again, Shine with his great smile, Otis is the best beach groomer we've seen in 9 trips, he puts his heart and soul into his job, Moses is so kind, had to fill in as the security guard one day, and was a pro, Sandra with her warm smile everyday, Arrell watching over us all everyday, Lynn with her big smile and watchful eye, always knowing who is coming and going. All of the staff is amazing, don't want to leave anyone out but these were a few stand outs. We also had a great massage on the beach. Called Lonnie within a few weeks of return home and are already booked for next year!! This is a magical place. Can't wait to go back:)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Strongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Last year was a best girlfriend trip and this year was a hubby/wife trip, both times I stayed in the lower Verandah Suite.

I never go to the same place twice as there are so many places in the world to see, but Nirvana was so enjoyable last year that within months I made arrangements to go there with my husband for 2014.

The King sized bed is very comfortable with nice sheets. There is AC, a ceiling fan, louvered windows and a big sliding door with screen, so whatever level of comfort you want temperature wise can be achieved. (Not all the units have AC, so if this is important to you be sure to check!)

Plenty of closet space, (really it's a dressing room) two separate sink areas, an indoor shower AND an outdoor shower. No problems getting ready at the same time!

This is not a fancy schmancy place BUT it is very nice! Comfortable and clean with just about everything you need.

We love that there are no TV's. (We don't have one at home either!) The little kitchen has everything you need to prepare even a gourmet meal. Very well equipped. I did bring a lot of my own spices in little labeled baggies, some tin foil and various sized baggies which all came in very handy. I also always bring a couple of night lights to plug in for the bathroom & kitchen counter.

Everything else we stocked up with on our way from the airport at Hi Lo with Breezey, our driver, who also changed over our money for us at an excellent rate. (Do not change your money at the Montego Airport!)

I came back to Nirvana because it is clean, peaceful, (see further note on the area) has beautifully kept grounds and most of all because of the staff.

I cannot say enough about the people working at Nirvana. 24 hours a day they are looking after you in the most unobtrusive way. They clean your room/cottage thoroughly once they see you have settled yourself on the beach or have left for awhile. No banging on your door with shouts of "Housekeeping!" Your beach chairs and tables almost magically appear each morning just where you like them. The grounds are raked and swept every morning. The gardens are very lovely. The security guys patrol the entire property without seeming militant night and day.

While you are there on the beach, which is just great and is one of the nicest on that whole stretch of 7 Mile Beach because it is wide and deep, not just a sliver where you feel like every passerby is going to bump into your lounge chair AND you have sun and the shade of palm trees, just about everything you could want just walks by you!

Fresh juice, fresh fruit, morning muffins, breads, etc. at breakfast time. Freshly cooked lobsters, patties (meat, lobster, vegetable), more fresh fruits, even ice cream after that! Straw hats, beaded jewelry, baskets, strolling musicians - even with steel drums - come by along the waterfront.

If you want anything you just let them know by giving a wave of your hand. They will not come up to your chair or trespass onto the property. Erroll keeps an ever watchful eye. He is a tall, gentle man - and carries a big stick - literally! :-)

If any of the vendors - and this is rare in my observations - get a little more, let's say enthusiastic, about selling their wares, Erroll steps in. It seems that just his presence commands respect from the locals. But truly, the vendors, who are just making their living, are a wonderful bunch of people. And they add a lot of color and local charm to your view, too!

Sandra and Zemroy do a great job managing everything about the property. If you need help with anything…rides, phone calls, ideas or just a friendly chat they are just great.

All the ladies that cook and clean are so friendly and pleasant. Get the big bag of oranges and they will even squeeze fresh juice for you every day!!! If you have the opportunity to have them cook a meal for you DO IT!!! You will be in for a treat!

The gentlemen who patrol and garden are equally friendly and pleasant.

This trip my husband and I had a great experience that others may enjoy. Otis, one of the groundsmen, has started doing trips into the countryside. I cannot tell you how enjoyable this was! My husband and I went with another couple we became friends with for an adventure of a lifetime! We drove into the countryside in a van with a driver that Otis arranged, stopped at various places along the way and then did a lot of walking/hiking.

Getting away from the beach into the gorgeous countryside is a worthwhile trip.

Every now and then Otis would disappear up a tree and come down with an armful of incredibly delicious fruit of one sort or another and at one place coconuts were tossed down for all of us, which he then opened for us.

We hiked/walked up to a secret place where a Rastafarian man prepared the most generous gourmet vegetarian lunch for us at his very humble mountainside home. It is amazing how much some people can do with so little...

We went to other places, too, but I don't want to spoil the surprises for other adventurers! An awesome experience!!!

Negril in general in the beach area CAN be very noisy. Not at Nirvana itself but in nearby clubs. It would be good if Negril would start considering "noise pollution". It is not incessant but sometimes the loud booming base in music could get to you. (at night the AC created enough white noise to mask it)

Another point is that other guests at Nirvana can also impact your enjoyment - or frustration level.

This is NOT a place for party animals so please go elsewhere!

Last year all the other guests where considerate of others and were lovely to "share" the resort with.

This year it was different. There were loud and obnoxious people. Loud music at night from next door. Loud people having parties upstairs on the deck - so loud we had to close our doors and turn on the fan & ac to muffle the noise so we could enjoy ourselves in peace and go to sleep - rather than being lulled by the sound of the waves on the shore. And the cigarette smoke! OMG! It was like a chain smoking convention. Hard to get away from when all you want is the nice view and the fresh air.

I am not sure what can be done about cigarette smoke - I wish there could be cigarette free vacation weeks - (other smoke does not bother me) but I did speak with Lonnie about the inconsiderate noise levels of neighboring guests after we got home. She said this shouldn't happen but if it does to simply let one of the night guards know and they will put a stop to it.

We did not think of that at the time. It would be better if it was stopped without another guest having to take action, though. Lonnie does not want this type of behavior at Nirvana. It is meant to be a peaceful, enjoyable place. And it is! I just think we had the "perfect storm" of other types of guests while we were there. Thankfully they were not there for our entire 2 week vacation! So, if you like to get rowdy, (which is fine!!) just go to one of the local beach bars or stay somewhere else.

Breezey, our driver is just great! He was our driver last year, too.

When my best girlfriend and I went last year we felt so safe and had a GREAT time! We felt like we were being looked after by a bunch of Aunties and Uncles! (we are in our mid 50's) It was SO nice. We never had a moment that we felt anxious, threatened or uncomfortable. Just great!

Whatever you want to do, sail, snorkel - I highly recommend Mike who keeps his yellow boat at the edge of Nirvana for snokling (DO NOT GO WITH DESMOND - STOOD US UP FOR PRE-PAID TRIPS, UNRELIABLE, SKIP HIM!!!), etc. Erroll and the staff can arrange.

Another note, here: If you are a kayaker, consider bringing your own paddles. I did this year and it was SO much better even with the type of kayaks available at Nirvana. The paddles they have are heavy and just straight. Ok to just go out to noodle around but if you're a kayaker, you will enjoy it much more with your own paddles.

You can walk to the most amazing places to eat either on the beach on or the road. So much good food!!!

Watching the incoming tide of sunshine in the morning is very cool. But the sunsets from Nirvana are legendary. Who needs Rick's Cafe??? You have your own blender drinks your comfy beach chairs and a front row seat for the most dazzling sunsets you could ever imagine!

I don't want to get myself booked out of the Verandah Suites by singing their praises but, but they are in the BEST spot, I think. Most forward on the beach - besides the owner's unit, that is - and you can just roll out of bed, onto your patio, which is a great place to enjoy your morning coffee, breakfast, lunch dinner, etc., onto the sand and into the water. (We like the first floor as the knees aren't what they used to be.)

In my opinion, Nirvana is a truly lovely place to stay. It is the most all inclusive NON-All-Inclusive you could hope for! The setting, accommodations, care of the people and location on the beach make it an ideal place for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ipsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have stayed at Nirvana many times over the past fifteen years. We have enjoyed every stay, both with our three children and as a romantic getaway for my husband and I. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The cabins are spacious and have full kitchens, if you like to cook. They are perfect for a family or to just spread out. The grounds are lush and tropical and are beautifully kept. The beach is just a few steps from every house and allows for room to spread out. Most resorts in Negril have little to no beach space. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Our favorite meal every stay is when the Ladies cook for us. Nirvana is a great place to relax and enjoy Negril.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarastapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirvananegril, Owner at Nirvana on the Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2017
Nirvana takes great pride that we are so well-maintained, clean and served by a friendly,
helpful staff who will take care of everything for you.

If you are expecting a luxurious resort, this is not the place to come.

However, if you want an unpretentious beachfront paradise, this is it!

Nirvana is a unique property, the last great authentic Jamaican vacation rental experience on Negril Beach... with only 13 rentals on our 2 acre property in the CENTER of Negril beach.

We know you come to Negril for the BEACH life & to meet the colorful local people who make it such a special spot.

Whenever you want to return & we all have a warm welcome waiting for you.

Lonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
3.0 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Negril Beach, Nirvana is an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special island-style laid back un-commercial Caribbean beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing