We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on Seven Mile!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2009

If you're looking for a relaxing retreat with a local feel, then Nirvana has that and so much more! It was the first visit to Jamaica for me and a few of my fellow travelers, so most of the information we received on what to expect came from online descriptions like those posted on this site. We weren't sure what we were getting into with respect to our accommodations at Nirvana, which was not an all inclusive "pamper me until I drop" resort. Once we arrived...WOW! Was this really real? We were completely blown away with the well manicured grounds, the coziness of the cottages, the privacy, the security.......the BEACH!!! Imagine waking every morning to the sound of crashing waves on the beach, serenity, and a cool and gentle breeze. We walked up and down seven mile and could not find another place that had the beachfront Nirvana had, along with a fenced-in portion of the beach if you wanted to enjoy the scenery without disturbance. Nirvana has an awesome staff willing to cater to your needs, provide you with privacy, and keep you secure. The prepared meals were absolutely delicious, we were comfortable in our cottage, and felt very secure...no need to worry about theft on the grounds! I would definitely recommend Nirvana to any discriminating traveler who just wants a place to enjoy the beach, relax, and leave the outside world...outside. Best location on Seven Mile, close proximity to just about anything you need. "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abbd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Nirvana on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

As a large
group of 16, the accommodations were perfect. We were able to eat all
of our meals together, which was one of our main concerns in finding a
place. Also, we had more than enough space to congregate together and
spend a lot of time with one another. We enjoyed our time there more
than I can explain. The cabins were perfect for our needs and felt
homey and comfortable. Your staff was friendly, helpful, hospitable,
and welcoming. We enjoyed each of them greatly. By the end of the
week, we felt so comfortable around them and enjoyed the rapport we
had formed. The meals were delicious, the housekeeping clean, and the
security made us feel safe. Your beach access was unsurpassed. We
commented on this often when passing other resorts. There was plenty
of space, great beach chairs that your guards so kindly set out for
each of us every day, and the option to relax within the fenced in
area under shade was much appreciated by many in our group. We
enjoyed casual lunches and drinks there together during the day. It
was also nice to not have to vie for that space with other people.
The gardens were beautiful and the grounds impeccable. We took a lot
of pictures. These things are just to name a few, I could keep the
compliments coming. I hope to come
back to Nirvana many times in the future. My large family spanning 4 generations had a memorable experience, which we are still talking about, and
which will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willifamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I've been to Jamaica3 other times...this 4th time was THE best, mostly because of my stay at Nirvana! You really can't beat the location...this place has the most beachfront of any of the other nearby properties. The grounds were kept immaculent every day and the abundant plantlife was unlike any I've ever seen! Our accommodations were beyond expectations...the beds were so comfy, and although cottage #2 didn't have A/C, it wasn't needed due to the tradewinds being blown via our ceiling fans (it kept the mosquitos off at nite!). The fully furnished kitchen allowed us to enjoy preparing our own authentic Jamaican meals and brew our Blue Mountain Coffee. We took advantage of the meal preparations offered by the staff and were treated to some of the best curried chicken ever! Anything we needed, any questions we had was handled and answered expeditiously. The men of security, Errol and 'Shine' made us feel completely safe and kept away any unauthorized pedestrians. If you're looking for serenity, tranquility, peace and quiet...beautiful beachfront and fabulous sunsets, then this is the place to stay...again and again...I'll be back very soon and plan to stay longer. Can't get this place outta my mind. Nirvana Negril 4Ever!
Yvette

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blkblnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My boyfriend and i stayed here for a few nights . The rooms sizes are large , bathrooms are big and you have a seperate dressing area , this was good for me , i turned this area in my own powder room . The staff is friendly and will cook you meals depending on whatever you want ( its like having your personal chef ) It is very quiet here, and the grounds are beautiful , would visit here again

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We arrived late on June 1st. Our flight from Orlando, Florida was delayed due to the Air France 427 that disappeared early that morning. We were patient and Air Jamaica was more than accommodating. The best part!: David was there when we arrived! He drove us straight to Nirvana. Even though we were late, our cottage was ready! Errol made sure we were settled in for the night. Our first impression was" RUSTIC"! Our first daylight impression was GREAT! If you require A/C or " exceptional first class accommodations, Nirvana is not for you! This is authentic Jamaica! David helped us with our shopping and was available at our request. Errol was our security -- it seemed day and night -- but we were always comfortable! Errol even awaited our return when we walked on the beach to dinner before sunset! Moses, who also kept the grounds immaculate!, greeted us when we returned after sunset. PLEASE know that several of the local restaurants provide "to and from" transportation -- you just have to check. I will do separate reviews on the restaurants we visited, but Kuyaba and Island Twist were at the top of our list. We also did Charela, but weren't quite as pleased as we were with the others. Here's the scoop: Kuyaba provides "to and from" transportation, Island Twist is just 4 properties down from Nirvana -- great for breakfast, lunch or dinner (shrimp scampi is over the top with garlic -- if you like garlic, was the best of all! Charela is good and just a few doors north of Nirvana, a bit over-priced, don't bother for lunch; dessert and coffee were good, service was just OK. Kuyaba beat all -- dinner twice -- conch stew was, whew!, the best, Snapper with callaloo was also quite tasty! Otherwise, kick back and enjoy every moment. Errol and Moses will be sure you aren't harrassed by the beacj vendors and will protect your beach stuff, even to the point of taking it inside while you are taking that wonderful walk on the beach. Margaritaville is a 15-minute walk to the north if you're into the huge party scene. Nirvana, on the other hand, does families or solos without a problem. You do need to know that there were several ginja transactions and users. The nudity, however, was very minimal -- on 2 topless ladies during our 6-day stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladypantera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

My husband and I were looking forward to laying on the beach and relaxing for our honeymoon and we were not let down. Nirvana surpassed all our expectations! The staff was amazing each and every one of them were helpful and we never wanted for anything. Our room was a cozy retreat when we had had enough of the beautiful water and sand for the day. We stayed in the Sundeck Suite and I would highly reccommend this room to anyone! The balcony is where we spent most of our time just privately relaxing and watching the waves. The room has an AC which we never turned on and we woke up every morning to the sound of the waves crashing. Since we had never been to Jamaica before we did some exploring to see if we had found the best spot on the beach, and we HAD! Some of the other places were right next door to loud clubs and bars but Nirvana is perfectly situated on a quite and large spot of the beach. We have no complaints whatsoever. We have done the fancy all inclusive mega resorts before but we loved being able to grab some local food off the beach or cook our own dishes in a laid back atmosphere. It was the best vacation ever and the fact that it was with my best friend and husband make it all the more perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HCnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Nirvana is an excellent option to the "resort routine." It has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the staff will assist as needed with arranging water sports and day trips. It also has one of the best locations and beach fronts on Seven Mile Beach.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank ConnecticutAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 80 in Negril
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £101 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing