We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2005

This was our 3rd time at Nirvana. It just keeps getting better. What we love is that the same employees are there year after year. They remembered us and we love seeing them again. Nirvana is quite small (which we love) and therefore you get individual attention. If you're looking for a 5 star high-rise hotel, this isn't the place for you. This is a unique property with a beautiful beach and a SAFE surrounding. Very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tycollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 790 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New Brunswick, Canada
15
Reviewed 14 May 2005

We just got back from Nirvana on the Beach and had an amazing time. It is not for those who want to be pampered and stay in a modern fancy hotel but for those of you who want a place that feels like home and is peaceful, quiet, and beautiful this is the place for you. The cottages were clean and the staff were great. It is a very quiet small place and very private. We made friends with others staying there and loved the relaxing atmosphere, laying in the hammocks reading a good book, fresh squeezed OJ every morning and beautiful gardens surrounding us, what more could you want.
We hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
111
Reviewed 5 May 2005

We stayed in one of the Verandah Suites for about 5 days and it was perfect. The staff was very nice, but what we liked most was the unique character of this location. You're not at a large hotel, you've got the beach to yourself, and the Veranda, well it's like having your own home on the beach. The hotels are nice, but if you want to be ALONE try Nirvana. Particularly nice if you're idea of a vacation is to just relax, in privacy, and stroll to the beach from time to time.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2005

If you're looking to unwind, spend time on the best beachfront in Negril, be catered to by a friendly and efficient staff, and leave all of your worries behind, Nirvana is the place to go. The gardens are beautiful, there is plenty of privacy due to the limited number of rental units on the property and all of the best food and entertainment in Negril is just a casual stroll down the beach.

We're already planning on going back again next April, but for two weeks instead of one.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Starrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Welaka, Florida
12
Reviewed 8 April 2005

For the past eight years my family has vacationed at Nirvana. We have learned to pick the appropriate time to visit. The group of musicians from Chicago just picked the wrong time to visit. Spring break activitities are posted on many Negril websites. The entertainment "Zone" west of Nirvana normally is quiet and a great spot to eat one of Niah's Patties.

Stayed: July 2004
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2005

We just returned from Nirvana. As many reviewers have said, Nirvana IS a wonderful piece of property. Few cabins, lotsa space. We are a family of musicians and go to Jamaica partly because of the music. However, a stone's throw away from Nirvana is a place called THE ZONE, an open area set up with an enormous sound system that pounds Jamaican gangsta rap, fragments of disco, screeching vocals, pounding bass. The music starts at noon and doesn't let up until 2 am on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and until 10 pm during the week. We were miserable. We complained to Nirvana management, security, and the police. Everyone claimed nothing could be done. We took 2 rooms across the street at White Sands Hotel one night just to be assured of a night sleep.

We were told this happens during spring break, but I would not take my chances and return to Nirvana because of it. I'm very upset that the owners did not tell us about this problem, but I suspect they don't want to lose business.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank twistedtorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado
13
Reviewed 22 March 2005

I vacationed at Nirvana almost 8 years ago for our honeymoon and it was so fabulous. The staff was wonderful, helpful and a ton of fun. It's great to see so many wonderful reviews of one of our favorite destinations -- can't wait for our 10th wedding anniversary when we will return to Nirvana.

I liked the low stress living and being in a cabin away from television and telephone.

  • Stayed: December 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Jamaica, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £102 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing