We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nirvana on the Beach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$670
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
US$767
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
656
112
16
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
112
16
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessun deckveranda suitesmega martevery morningrainbow archthree bedroomfull kitchenpattieswatchful eyebedroom cottageoutdoor showerlobstersecurity mangreat securityrelaxing vacationall inclusives
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 807 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
19
Reviewed 6 February 2006

Nirvana is appropriately named. It was nirvana for our vacation. We went with 3 small kids, 4 adults, in 2 cabanas and it was perfect for us. It's a GREAT place - very comfortable which is just what you want at the beach. Even the folks who stay there are a friendly bunch. Having a full kitchen really helps keep things easy so you don't have to go out for every meal - but if you don't want to cook there are plenty of affordable places to eat just a few minutes down the beach. Having a cook for one meal a day was a treat. The staff are extremely helpful and cater to your every need. The setting is of course, beautiful and the water is calm, blue, and warm. There are lovely flowers and plants all over the property and hammocks to relax in. They even have floats for you to take in the water. We've already booked in for next winter.

Stayed: January 2006
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
111
Reviewed 2 February 2006

We've stayed at Nirvana on the Beach more than once & we always check there first to see if they have a place available before we stay anywhere else in Negril. The bungalows are very nice and comfortable and the staff is friendly & helpful. If you are looking for a quiet, family oriented, Jamaican experience...Nirvana is the place to go.


Mike & Lyn Rayburn

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Indiana
19
Reviewed 14 January 2006

This was our first trip to Negril, Jamaica. The trip we went on was for our honeymoon. All we can say was it was just awesome!! The natives there welcomed us with open arms and we were made family while we were there. I miss the food and the people. We decided to stay at Nirvana on the Beach, and it was a beautiful place! Nirvana is so accomidating to your every need that we never could think of anything else to ask for. There is no problem for food because they are just a walk away from Margaritaville. This is pretty much the place to eat, but there are tons of more places, make sure you try the jerk chicken. Right outside our room was offers for glass bottom snorkling, that was fun. I will never forget this place. We will definitely come back, but with our new addition that we made in beautiful Jamaica...where dreams come true.

Thanks
The Gilliam Family

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pt. Edward Ontario, Canada
119
Reviewed 21 December 2005

We have just returned from a wonderful, wonderful week at Nirvana. We stayed in cottage 5 and the accommodations were extremely clean spacious and adequately supplied for the 4 of us. The beach is beautiful and the sea inviting. The staff was always friendly and eagerly met whatever needs we required. The landscaping on the property is well done and looks great. We enjoyed our morning coffee under the thatched hut while watching the birds, listening to the sea and admiring the beautiful flowers. The hammocks are a great place to take an afternoon nap.

We have nothing but good to say about Breezy. He was prompt, his van clean and he offered a good currency exchange. He showed up often, sometimes just to say hello and to share a ting with us. He drove us to the grocery store in Montego Bay while we shopped for a few provisions upon our arrival in Jamaica. He later drove us to the grocery store in Negril to pick up a few supplies locally. He provided us with excellent transportation services to the cliffs to view the stunning sunsets and waited for us while we enjoyed a beautiful lobster dinner. He also provided us with onsite currency exchange services which were great and meant we didn't have to leave the beach. Breezy was a part of our Nirvana experience and we have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone that visits.

Lynn, Leoni and Joan quietly worked everyday to make sure our stay on the property was enjoyable. The freshly squeezed orange juice was a pleasure to have readily available in the fridge. The fish man came around and Joan gathered us up from the beach to see if there was anything we would be interested in. We purchased two nurse lobsters weighing about eight pounds which the girls cooked for us. It was fabulous and we highly recommend the lobster. Joan gave us brochures for the property which I will definitely share with my family and friends. Moses 1 and Moses 2 keep the property looking great and wave hello from a distance. Bonnie and Shine keep the property safe, 24/7. All of them were friendly and made us feel very much at home.

The beaches are beautiful and the location of the property is right in the middle of seven mile beach. We walked miles each way every day. The local fruits and vegetables are easily accessible. We picked up a combination of fresh pineapple, coconuts, bananas, tomatoes, peppers, salad fixings along the beach throughout the week. Norman is by Nirvana at about 12:30 everyday. He sells the best cocoa bread, vegetable, chicken or beef patties from his bike as he walks along the beach. White Sands is right next door and has a two for one special everyday. It is a toss up between the dirty banana's or the mudslides. Tony has a contagious smile and can sing a pretty good tune. Mike's Glass Bottom Boat sits out front of White Sands. Mike and Ricky are smartly outfitted in their yellow and green which matches their boat. They clean that boat every day. It is meticulous. We hired them to take us out to snorkel at the reefs. The water was so clear that you could see many varieties of sealife just from the boat itself. It was a great experience.

Nirvana is a place where the living is easy. It is extremely relaxing. The beach is beautiful. Restaurants are easily accessible and offer a range of price points and more importantly, a wine list. Nirvana is a place that is suitable for couples or families. We have traveled throughout the Caribbean and Nirvana is definitely a place to which we will return.

Thank you for one of the best vacations we have had.

Dave & Joanne

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, Mi
115
Reviewed 13 December 2005

To paraphrase one of the original Bruce Springsteen songs is the only way I know of to respond to the ludicrous review which I just read. I have been staying at Nirvana since the late 1980s and have encountered many people down through the years in Jamaica that had suffered from too much sun. I do know this though; Nirvana was one of the most enjoyable spots in all of the Caribbean and having traveled extensively I can consider myself an authority. It is always pleasant to revisit Nirvana, since the place is in addition to being Nirvana, is an Oasis on an otherwise commercial beach.

The staff are some of the nicest people in Negril and the food which they will prepare for you is sensational. The accomodations are indeed not the Ritz-Carlton, but that is not how it is marketed. I have stayed in every cottage and in all of the verandas which is why I feel that it is one of the most comfortable and relaxing vacations that I take.

Spend a week or two at Nirvana and you will never want to go anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews