We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Negril”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nirvana on the Beach
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Negril”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have had two vacations at Nirvana, and will be back. Beautiful private dwellings, a quiet location even though it's in the middle of Negril Beach, with everything a close walk away, with the best piece of private beach in Negril, uncrowded, great staff.... and my personal favorite, they have kayaks to use! As many others have noted, this is so different from the huge all-inclusives- you have more personal space, more quiet, more choices as to how to spend your time.
If you are used to perfect, modern 5-star hotels, some of the rooms may seem a little basic, but we found them to be fine and great... it's life at the beach, loosen up a little. I would highly recommend Nirvana.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyFWalthamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    111
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
197
297
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Nirvana is keeping it real. Great little cottage steps from the beach. Staff were very attentive and the ladies cooked up great local fare from fish that I bought on the beach to produce from the local market. If you are not one for the all inclusive vacation this is the spot you want to hit. Authentic and with a postive local feel. Quiet, safe and relaxing. Next time in Jamaica Nirvana will get the nod!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank respectu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This place is great! Security was the best. It was off season and we wanted to swim at night in the ocean. Our security gaurd came down on th beach and watched us swim and made sure we were protected. We walked the street at night and felt safe. We visited local bars and had the best time talking with locals. We talked with local fishermen and they caught us fish and lobster. While we were sight seeing they delivered the fish and lobster to the maids. We had dinner waiting for us when we arrived back at our cabin. I got with the fisherman later that evening and paid him for his catch. The maids cooked the best food. It was awesomw we picked up groceries and they did the cooking. This is not a resort this is private property with cabins. If you want someplace to relax and experience what jamaica is realy like then this is it. It will be what you make of it. If you make it an awesome vaction it will be. This is a place for people looking for relaxation not entertainment. We Love this place and the people.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We've stayed at other properties in Negril, but when we found Nirvana we knew we found the right place for us. We prefer the friendly personal attention from the staff there as opposed to some of the larger properties. Accomodations are comfortable and clean and nicely situated, Our room had a beautiful ocean view and close enough to hear the sounds of the waves at night. The beach area is one of the best in Negril right in the middle of 7mile. If you like peaceful relaxation, access to a beautiful uncrowded beach and being looked after by some of the nicest staff you'll ever meet, you'll like it here too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NodakFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We LOVED our stay at Nirvana. First and foremost, the staff are so kind, helpful, and friendly that they made our vacation an unforgettable experience. We were treated like welcome guests from the moment we arrived until we departed. The ladies kept our cottage spotless - despite having three energetic children with us - and cooked wonderful meals each night. Moses picked the boys some coconuts from the tree and impressed them with the huge land crabs that scuttle around at night. Sandra arranged a wonderful nanny for us who was the first one to keep my two year old daughter from crying when I left the room - I only wish she could come home with us! Our room was so perfect and the beach was just beautiful. For a wonderful "unresort", I highly recommend Nirvana.

PS. Ask for Breezy to drive you from the airport - he is the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loomisfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Nirvana on the beach was everything we expected and more! After reading a lot of reviews (thank you fellow trip advisor members!) we decided to book the Sundeck Suite at Nirvana for 5 days (since we split our Jamaica holidays beach / cliffs). We arrived late afternoon (British Airways flight from Gatwick) at Nirvana after a very pleasant, rainy drive with Leroy from Clive's Transport. At the gate we were greeted by Shine, who not only was expecting us but knew our names as well (very nice touch!) took us to the sundeck suite and wished us a pleasant stay. The room was very clean, had a fully working air-conditioning unit, fan, a refrigerator and a neat CD/radio player which we used extensively. The views of the garden and the beach were fantastic from the front balcony!
For breakfast we took a short walk to the Island Twist or next door to White Sands
A big thank you to Errol (who always looked after us while sun bathing on the beach and giving us a lot of advice and tips) and Moses.
I would recommend Nirvana to anyone who is not looking for an all inclusive and would like a simple, relaxing stay at one of the best spots on 7 mile beach. Oh, almost forgot, if you do go, be sure to look out for the patty man between 12pm-1pm strolling down the beach for the best patties ever!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsIn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I have been going to Jamaica for many years now, always staying at a all inclusive resort, this time we booked a cottage with Nirvana in Negril and said to myself
how will i cope without being fed and drink allday..`?
well, i was blown away with what i experienced..enjoying the REAL life of Jamaica..
I was fed and drank my face away more than before..i was able to cook what i wanted and expereince real Jamaican food with all the booze i wanted ..everything was near by
for shopping..so i never felt i was missing out... The people/staff we met right in our resort touched our lifes and will never be forgotten... and i truly bless the owners for doing an amazing job in keeping the place so REAL and homely like was our own place... after experiencing this ..i will NEVER book all inclusive and will ALWAYS book Nirvana ... Signed M AND M....
I thank Lonnie and Stanley and you both should be proud of showing us what Jamaica
is really like...and im looking forward to going back soon...P.S you may never be able to get me out now!!!! Can you adopt me???

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wonderful75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 81 in Negril
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana on the Beach

Property: Nirvana on the Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | JAMAICA, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located directly on Negril Beach,JAMAICA... Nirvana is not just another hotel, it is a special place where guests have space in an intimate & unique beachfront property with that famous old-style Negril ambiance, privacy & security making it the perfect choice for couples, singles, families or groups who have been searching for a special NEGRIL laid back un-commercial JAMAICAN beachfront vacation. We are a terrific value, you can rent one unit, several units or the whole property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nirvana On The Beach Hotel Negril
Nirvana On The Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing