We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Paradise Resort Hotel
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and location for the price”
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Hidden paradise was a great experience. We stayed for one week and had a wonderful time. The staff is very nice and friendly. There are coconut and mango trees on the grounds that you can pick and eat. The gardener Brian will cut you open a coconut. Overall, you get what you pay for. It was nice having breakfast included(very nice relaxing breakfast area). In the rooms, the beds, sheets, pillow cases, and towels are all outdated but it had no effect on my enjoyment. Just don't expect five star amenities. It was especially nice for us because the slow season is just starting and the hotel was quite slow, so it was always quiet and relaxing.
We highly recommend Mama Flo's restaurant also. She is very nice and the food was great. Good portions and great prices. I've been to Jamaica several times and I notice some places I had been to in previous years were now charging 10% service charge and 8.25% tax. I don't ever remember paying this before, but some places like Mama Flo's don't charge for these things. But, the workers don't really make much so they always happy when we left a couple dollars tip. They will remember you when you come back, and we ended up going to Mama Flo's every night but one, and after that other meal, we wish we had gone to Mama Flo's.
If you want a nice place with nice people, and a great value, Hidden Paradise should be your stop in Negril.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmanfromiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed at Hidden Paradise from Mar. 2 to 8, 2009. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff are super friendly. Brian, Janet, Petrene, Sonia and Clive are great people. Hidden Paradise is located on the garden side of Norman Manley Boulevard.
Access to the beach is through Mamma Flo’s restaurant. You can use the beach chairs at Mamma Flo’s. Joy runs Mamma Flo’s and is Henrick’s mother. Henrick is the owner of Hidden Paradise. It is all family owned property.

We took two HD video cameras with us to Negril. On the first evening our charger blew a circuit and my husband thought we were doomed to charge our batteries. Henrick called his TV repairman and within twenty four hours the charger was fixed and charging again. We were only charged $10 U.S. ($800 JA). Henrick’s help was superb!

During our first morning at breakfast my husband asked Janet where she lived? She replied “in Orange Hill”. My husband asked her if she knew his best friend Hilroy. Turns out Janet is Hilroy’s cousin and within two minutes she had Hilroy on the phone for my husband. It was wonderful.
We always ask a Jamaican where they live. Chances are we know someone in that town, but more so its a great way to learn more about that person.

Pros and Cons:

Pros:
It is a very quiet property and you can watch the sun rise over the mountains sitting in the open style restaurant.
They have a pool and beautiful grounds.
The rooms have safes and they only require a $50 USD refundable deposit to use them. There is no daily charge to use the safe.
All rooms have ceiling fans, air conditioners, telephones with radio’s in them.
The property is quite secure and at night Clive sits out front with a closed gate and only allows people that are staying at the hotel as well as their guests in. The property is completely fenced in which aids in making it more secure.
There is private parking for cars or scooters just inside the gate.
Breakfast - Janet makes the only coffee we have ever been able to drink at any resort in Jamaica. It is as good as Tim Horton’s. The all inclusive breakfast which cost $10/day USD for 2 people consists of fruit and an a la carte menu. Don’t order anything with meat because they use hot dogs (thats all they have). Janet makes the best dumplings we’ve ever had. If you brought her something (kitchen utensils etc.) and say please she just might make them for you.
The rooms are a good size, but basic. They have refrigerators and great cable tv. The beds are made of thick foam and are a joy to sleep on.
They do have running hot water, but you have to let it run for awhile to get it hot. The water pressure is terrible, but usable.
They have a daily maid service. Patrene and Sonia are very pleasant women.
Beach towels are available at the front desk for no charge.
The rooms have very nice porches. We enjoyed sitting and relaxing on the porch to watch the birds that come and go from the Morass (parrots, woodpeckers, etc.).
Its really the staff that make Hidden Paradise a treaure. If it were located on the beach side we would never stay anywhere else.
We were there when Nikki from Philadelphia was celebrating her 35th B-day with thirty of her girlfriends. It made for great fun and entertainment.

Cons:
No screens on the windows. Henrick had to take the window screens off because guests were running the A/C 24/7 with the windows open. Electricity is very expensive in Jamaica.
I am very susceptible to bug bites and pretty much became a walking buffet as soon as I entered Hidden Paradise. It’s because the hotel is among the morass (i.e. swamp). I use Off, herbal flea spray and mosquito coils, but I still got bit a lot. We brought mosquito netting to cover the windows and door to help even the odds, lol. Take clothes pins and push pins to help keep the netting up. It does a fantastic job in keeping the bugs out of your room.
The neighbors have dogs that sometimes bark throughout the night and in the early morning. When one starts to bark they all do. The dogs generally stop barking around 10 PM. On the first day it was bothersome, but then you didn’t notice it as much. Bring dog treats. It helps with the barking. We also feed the stray dogs on the beach Milk bone dog biscuits.

We met a little girl who lives next door to Hidden Paradise. Here name is Jessica and she is 7 yrs old. She sang us Hanna Montana songs through a hole in the fence. We had some coloring books, crayons and treats that we gave her. She is a very sweet child. Jessica lives where the dogs are next door. If you go please say Hi to Jessica from Brian and Sandra.

We had done some research as to where 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea was filmed in Negril. We took some stills from the movie with us to Jamaica. Joy who runs Mamma Flo’s is Flo’s daughter. She remembers her Mom doing the laundry for Kirk Douglas and the crew. Four of her Uncle’s played cannibals in the movie. Joy really enjoyed the pictures and told us that the beach scenes were filmed in front of Sandy park. Later on our vacation Fay at Ansell’s Thatch Walk Cottages told us that Kirk and Peter use to drink rum with Ansell’s dad Lazarus behind the house that they live in. We left the picture of Kirk with Fay.

We had also taken some old pictures from the 70’s of the Negril river and beach. Everyone we showed them to thought they were the neatest thing.

If I wasn’t a walking buffet (they have no interest in my husband at all) for the bitting insects, Hidden Paradise would be my hotel of choice in Negril for those not looking for a 5 star resort. Thanks again Henrick for your help!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OriginalLovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

After staying at Point Village Resort (All Inclusive) three times, I decided to stay somewhere closer to the hot spots - Alfred's, Jungle, Margaritaville - to avoid having to take a taxi everywhere.

Since staying at Hidden Paradise, I've stayed at Fun Holiday. On future visits, I'd choose Fun Holiday over Hidden Paradise.

Here are the pros & cons of Hidden Paradise.

Pros:
Breakfast included
Friendly hotel and restaurant staff
Very Affordable
Proximity to local hot spots and eateries
Large bathroom
Refrigerator in room at no additional cost

Cons (compared to Fun Holiday):
Shower water not as hot or as strong
Open shutter-style windows let in mosquitoes (and are energy inefficient)
No wireless internet

  • Liked — cost, location, friendly staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — mosquitoes, no internet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank natpatben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2008

well i have just returned from a week of complete r&r
h/p is a lovely little hotel rooms are cleaned daily and although basic it has everything you need bed tv towelsand hot shower
the breakfast spot is lovely next to the pool raised up about 9ft with a veiw over bush lands had some great food cooked by janet
and the grounds are beutifuly kept by brian
get youre beach towel at receiption with no charge
$50us deposit for safe key refunded when returned

went a/i here as the price was good and although i had intended to eat a few meals elseware the food was to good
you choose lunch and dinner from menu and local drinks 10 till 10 o/c bottled red stripe lovely and the home cooked fresh food was to die for
well i was made so welcome by joy (moma flo) and everyone else that i felt like part of the family and although i never want to leave jamaica this time was even harder to leave new freinds

although the hotel is over the main road i had no trouble crossing the trafic will even stop to let you over

yes i will be returning to h/p again a.s.a.p

  • Liked — freindly
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fostermags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrspassel1
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We had a great stay at hidden paradise i wanted to try the beach for a change the hotel was realy clean and the staff were great with us i travelled over to see my boyfreind.
Joy at mama flos was a really nice lady and the food was great i would recomended this hotel

  • Liked — A/C
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrspassl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

We found Hidden Paradise on the web while researching for our trip in Dec / January 07. We were looking for a 3 bedroom apartment, and after reading a few decent reviews and some emails from former guests, we made our reservations for their 3-bed unit. A few weeks later they called us back to tell us it was already booked and it was unavailable for our stay, but we decided to try a stay there anyway. It is in a good location, and all the feedback was good, so what the heck…

Upon arrival, we found HP to be clean, well kept and the staff was very friendly. We had 3 rooms for our group, and they were spread out around the property, so we had a good idea of what most rooms were like. All the rooms were nice, nothing fancy, but had TVs with basic channels, and air that worked. We did ask to move to a better room, as the bed in ours was just not very good, was like sleeping on a box spring instead of a mattress, and they did so as soon as one was available. Showers lacked a little pressure, but all in all not a problem. Staff was friendly, and accommodating. Brian the gardener does a good job of landscaping.

Pool was clean and nice for a swim if you felt like a change from the ocean. We were a little disappointed that there was no pool bar, and the food there is very average. You can though go across the road to their beach restaurant, Mama Flo’s, for a much better meal. Karl the chef who works in the mornings is a nice guy. And Mama is super lady, she will gladly sit and talk with you, if she’s not busy with daily runnings.

It is in a nice location near activities, and there is a great little store, Shamrock, just a few doors down that has anything you need while there, including the best daily, fresh squeezed Orange juice I’ve ever tasted. And there are plenty of jerk vendors within walking distance of the front gate to feed those late night cravings.

Would we stay there again, sure…

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — No pool bar
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djntam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Hello to all considering this hotel. Hopefully we can provide
some insight to what you might experience thru our description
of our stay which was late Dec 2006 thru the end of 1st week
of Jan 2007. There are many pluses to this property but it would
not be without mentioning some misses also.

All in all we had a good stay at this hotel. It should be mentioned
that we have stayed at several different places over the last 8 yrs
in Negril so I do believe we are qualified to make accurate comparisons. I will list below some of the positives and some of
the negatives to give an accurate description of our stay .

Our room was very clean although smaller than we expected.
The air conditioning worked just fine along with the mini frig and
restroom and shower. The hot water went out a couple of times
in the 2 weeks we stayed there but the water pressure was very
good for Negril hotels. The in-room safe was inoperable and to
be honest after 3 attempts to the front end office staff and a couple of other employees we gave up trying to get them to fix it
or provide a working key. Although alittle uneasy we did lock our
valuables in one of our suitcases with no problems what so ever
during our stay. Minor ant activity in the bathroom but it is the tropics afterall and this is not uncommon there and was of no
issue at all. The beds (2 in our room) one was great but the other took alittle getting use to / to put it mildly. I could see some
folks demanding a room change over it. The porch was incredible and we really enjoyed sitting outside and having a few
drinks and visiting with folks passing by. Very roomy front porch.
Also the landscaping in front of our porch and room provided much privacy. Traffic passing by late at night and early in the morning as well as barking dogs was a considerable issue to
deal with in regards to the noise. It would interrupt your sleep on
some nights.

Out of all the hotels I have stayed at in Negril this hotel had the
best landscaping hands down. It was beautiful , nearly a garden
of Eden. The gardener "Brian" does an incredible job and is a
great guy. Very fun to visit with and he really looks out for your well being.

The pool was very nice when we used it but it must be noted that
during our 2 week stay it was out of comission for nearly 1 entire
week. We did not ask why as we spent most of our time in the
ocean. The hot tub is just normal air temp and of no use. If the
heating element was repaired it could be very nice.

We ate nearly every morning across the street on the beach side
at Mama Flos for breakfast as it was much better pricing and
good food also. Mama Flo (Joy) is an absolute incredible woman.
She has to be one of the most lovely people our family has ever
had the pleasure of meeting. She treated our son as if he was her own grandson. Not only did she show him much love but you
could not help but notice how sincere she was in her concern
for how he was doing and making sure he was ok . I can not
say enough for what our family thinks of her. Overall very good
restaraunt , very reasonable prices , good quality of food , and the staff that work at Mama Flo's are great . Big up to Keisha ,
Nadine, Shawn, Miss Audrey, Miss Gloria , and Torrance. These
folks are truely wonderful and will look out for you. I cant not say
enough good about Mama Flo's place and our family truely misses each of them already. And last but not least Mama Flo
(Joy) gives some of the best hugs that you can imagine. She is
special.

House keeping at the hotel was very good Miss Sonjia is a great
woman and very sweet and just a wonderful person also. She will take very good care of you.

The only negative I can say is the location across the street at
times can be an issue. Especially with children. NO way would
we trust our 10 yr old son to cross the street on his own due to
the way traffic operates on Norman Manley Blvd. This was our
1st time not actually on the beach side and I can say we will never do it again.

Security was adequate.

This hotel has the potential to be incredible. The price is great.
The staff is some of the greatest we have ever had the pleasure
of meeting in Negril. However the biggest issue for us was the
crossing the street a few times daily.

Respectfully,
The Barnetts

  • Liked — The Staff and Landscaping both were beautiful
  • Disliked — Across the Street from the Beach
  • Tips/Secrets — If on a budget this is a good choice
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rocket51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
The Golden Sunset Hotel
The Golden Sunset Hotel
#73 of 81 in Negril
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 81 in Negril
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#35 of 81 in Negril
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 81 in Negril
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Paradise Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Paradise Resort Hotel

Property: Hidden Paradise Resort Hotel
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hidden Paradise Resort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hidden Paradise Hotel Negril
Hidden Paradise Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing