We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast”
Review of Roots Cafe Negril

Roots Cafe Negril
Ranked #102 of 196 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: Jamaican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Roots Cafe is a rebirth of the former Roots Bamboo Restaurant.The restaurant is set on the oceanfront of Negril's seven mile beach.Our guest have a choice of dining indoors or outdoors while experiencing great food and personalized service from our friendly staff.Join us for a sumptious breakfast,lunch or dinner. Come at sundown and get a glimpse of Negril's finest sunset or make reservations for an unforgettable dinner experience under the stars. There is live reggae music on Monday and Wednesday nights. Our menu offers a wide choice of local and international meals. We also have a special menu for kids.Try our daily specials as the Roots Cafe chefs show off their best in tantalizing your taste buds.For the most sumptious deserts stop by and let us wow you with our famous 'roots rum cake' or 'crazy banana split'. We keep it simple while leaving you with a great authentic Jamaican experience.
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Their pancakes are delishious and they give you fresh fruit and fruit juice that is good. Nice little spot on the beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunnyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gouchie1, Manager at Roots Cafe Negril, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out to tell others about your experience at Roots cafe. We do value your opinion so as to serve you better. We are happy that you enjoyed breakfast with us and we invite you to stop by and try something from our lunch or dinner menu next time you stop by. We are always happy to serve you. Thanks again.

Opia Plummer
Restaurant Manager
Roots Cafe, Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome food , Unbelievable Flavours”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I had the great fortune to spend two months in Jamaica at Roots Bamboo and the food that comes out of their kitchen is the best, bar none..The little waitress who waited our table was the most curtious and efficient waitress I have encountered in Jamaica. The food seems to take a while but it is made from scratch with all fresh ingredients. It IS worth the wait.. Just chill back, watch the beach activity and prepare yourself for a wonderful taste experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gouchie1, General Manager at Roots Cafe Negril, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your honest review of Roots Cafe, it is always a pleasure to hear our customers concerns as well as compliments. We do look forward to making your next stop even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Diners”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

When you go to Roots, it is an experience. It's right in the middle of 7 mile beach. Be prepared to wait for your dinner. It will be fantastic and made fresh to order. In the meantime, their Red Stripe is cold, the music is great, and the company friendly. Last year, Bunny Wailer was there chillin on his porch while we hung out at Roots. It was awesome! The sunsets are amazing, and their Wednesday nights are off the hook. I couldn't give it a 5 star only because it's not really fancy, the food just tastes like it is. In our opinion, they have the BEST lobster thermidor in Negril and we have tried them all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We went to Roots Cafe for our last night on the island and to celebrate my cousins birthday May 27th.

The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. The chef a made a cake for my cousin which was low in sugar due to her diabetes and it was very good. Our dinner was very tasty and no one had any complaints. The meal and drinks were very reasonable.

They also had a reggae and soca show which was very good. The dj was also on point.

We could not have asked for a better last night/birthday celebration and I just want to thank them for everything they did!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gouchie1, Manager at Roots Cafe Negril, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thanks for sharing your great experience at Roots Cafe with so many people who probably did not know that we do extend ourselves to meet the everyday needs of our guests. We were very delited that you chose Roots Cafe to host your birthday party and that we made your day even more special. Again, thanks for choosing Roots Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best lobster I have ever had!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

People are very friendly at this fine establishment. Very good lobster and jerk chicken plate with rice and beans. My wife ate the main lobster tail plate with mashed potatoes, butter sauce, and salad. Sweet breeze flowing in from the ocean adds an extra touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rayfirrre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roots Cafe Negril also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Roots Cafe Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing