We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place Above average Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average place Above average Beach”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The majority of the staff was friendly and helpful. The cook was very rude, we ate there once in ten days. We were actually afraid to because of his attitude. The cleaning staff was awesome. The place was very clean, inside and outside. The security was friendly and helpful. Ninja was the best, he helped us find excursions, or anything else we needed at a discount. I would go back and stay there. The beach was incredible. crystal clear and, warm as bathtub water.you could walk out pretty far and still be standing up. Snorkeling from shore is at a minimum, very few fish were ever seen.
The sunsets were also unbelievable.. We felt safe here. We left valuables in the room with no issues.We went low season, so there were no lines and plenty of space to just chill on the beach. If you are on a budget, this is the place to go..

Room Tip: Do not pay for ocean view as all the rooms have about the same view, From the balcony you can see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denverblkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    170
    136
    82
    104
See reviews for
85
225
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

As a travel agent, let me tell you about my experience at the fun holiday beach resort with my boyfriend, from september 9th to 16th.

It's a nice, typical little resort with an awesome location ! it's about 45 rooms, not so far from the beach. You have a buffet or one a la carte restaurant. Because we went in the low season, we had an a la carte restaurant the whole week. We found something good to eat EVERY DAY. Breakfast : omelet, ham, bacon, french toast, pancakes, well...all you need is there !!! Lunch and dinner : the best jerk chicken (by chef robert, he's the best with his homemade jerk chicken recipe), curried chicken, beef, fish, rice, hamburgers, pastas, well anything you need for a week ! Everything was excellent, the drinks are awesome too !! The barman was really nice to us and I miss his pinas coladas !!

Rooms: Standards but large and clean. The maid is awesome !! Don't worry because there is NO thiefs at this resort. She did a great job all week ! Thank you !! And the oceanview was breathtaking !!

Beach: The most beautiful beach I've seen in my life. No lies. No words can describe the beauty of this place. A calm crystal clear water kissing the sand. It's as clear as bottled water. Forget about cuba !!! Negril is MUCH better. At your right, if you walk on the beach, you can get to the Margaritaville. We walked every day. The sighting is unforgettable.

The island: BEAUTIFUL island with a lot to offer and discover. A lot of tours to do. It's safe to walk downtown during the day. At night, be careful, don't walk on the beach.

Nice staff, the owner really care about his resort. I read some peoples reviews that complained about the fact that there was no rum during their vacation...well ASK FOR IT !!! They gonna get some for you !!! Same thing for anything you need !!! It's a nice resort. Picky people: go somewhere else, or stay home instead of posting stupid pictures on tripadvisor :) ...

Room Tip: Ocean view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank FiestaSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My friend and I were there Sept. 5th-12th. There was no rum or coke available on Day 1. Nor was there any jerk chicken available. Forget about ordering any margaritas; they consider that a specialty item that you have to pay for down the beach. Wine was not inclusive; we had to purchase our own at the convenience store down the beach. One day at 11:30 in the morning, I ordered a red stripe beer, but they were out of it!! Are you kidding me?? There was no buffet available; we had to order from a one-page diner-type of menu. One day, I ordered the cheeseburger with fries, but was told I had to wait, as they ran out of fries and had to go to the store to buy more. ????? The coffee machine was broken each day. There were cockroaches running around the dining room. There were a multitude of ants crawling around the room. The one day that we let the housekeeper in our room, she brought in clean towels, but left the dirty ones on the floor, didn't change the bed linens and left all of our dirty glasses still in the room. The room had no phone, no alarm clock, and the safe was a small one, on the floor, in the corner of the room, so we had to get on our hands and knees to open it. The staff have no hospitality skills whatsoever! They all sat around and watched television all day. We were never offered water or juice when we sat in the dining room, we had to ask for it. One night, we were drinking the wine (that we purchased), after supper, with a red dining cloth on the table. While we were sitting there, the waitress started to take the table cloth away from us, as she was trying to end her shift!! I had to tell her to leave it! Craziness!!

We had booked the ocean-view room, which isn't ocean view at all. If you peak around the corner, you can see SOME of the ocean, that's it.

The only saving grace to this resort is that it's really close to the beach. The ocean is SPECTACULAR!! But please, save your money, and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negril hotels

Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

this was my first trip to negril. the resort was dirty. no rum on the 1st day? are you kidding, this is Jamacia. all inclusive was eat off the menu and if we have it you can. ( pool was closed )
beach was beautiful, if you can stand being harrashed all day by people walking up the beach.this was not peace and quite it was a nightmare.Bar closes at 10pm or earlier we had to buy our own beer and wine from a shop down the road,
do yourself a favor Don't stay here. Fun beach turned into Hell Hole.

Room Tip: rooms are fulling apart and have ants all over the bed and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I recently spent 2 weeks at Fun Holiday and can honestly recommend this hotel. Location is perfect and staff is friendly and makes you feel right at home. Perfect for relaxing days and partying nights. Fun holiday caters to your exact vacation needs. Will definitely be there again. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. beautiful beach and perfect location made an awesome vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cking1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The rooms were acceptably comfortable, cleaned daily. The breakfast buffet was not extraordinary – the choices were few and hardly ever varied from day to day. There was no snack bar in the hotel. Every second day a grill restaurant on the beach opened: chicken, hamburgers, and hot dogs were the main choices here. I recommend looking for some local restaurant and explore more traditional Jamaican flavours.
Staff, waiters, and barpersons expect to be tipped and punish you if you don’t – make sure you do, it will come back to you in better drinks.
There is a bar next to the hotel main pool. As for the beach, there are some beach chairs available, but many of them are broken. In theory, there should have been beach towels available, but sometimes the hotel ran out of them before we arrived.
There are some entertainment events prepared by the hotel, but they are kind of lame: karaoke, live band, or fireworks. There was nothing designed for children especially.
At the nearby beach there are rentals of surfing boards and sea kayaks – the prices are negotiable so take advantage of it :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I recently made our first visit to Jamaica, what a beautiful island!
We stayed at Fun Holiday Beach Resort. First let me explain this is not what most people would call a "resort". But what it offers is a truer Jamaican experience at an affordable hotel with an all inclusive option. If you are accustom to "resorts", chances are you will not appreciate a stay at Fun Holiday Beach.
The location is as central to activities along 7 Mile Beach as you could wish for! It is literally 2 steps from the sugar soft sand that extends into the sea for 200 yards, in less than shoulder deep, exceptionally clear and calm waters. We were surprised at how temperate the water was and impressed with how clean the beach areas were.
The property is maintained, but not manicured. The pool (about 4 ft. deep) and hot tub are large and clean.
When we arrived, check in was very easy. We were escorted to our room, which was large but dated and minimal.
Though everything functioned, some needed repair was evident.
House keeping does an excellent job, though there seemed to be a supply issue with towels. More than once I had to retrieve towels from the front desk, after waiting for them from laundry.
We found the food to be quite tasty and had no need to eat elsewhere. Choices varied and I believe it was more authentic than food found at larger tourist properties.
Bar service was adequate but simple, with not a lot of variety.
The biggest asset of Fun Holiday Beach is its employees!! Always very nice and accommodating. They made us feel welcomed and invited.
Security staff was excellent. Out of nowhere they would appear when we were approached by beach vendors and hawkers. Due to some reviews we were somewhat leery for our safety, but never once were we concerned while on the property or on their section of beach.
A very special thank you to security guard Richard! Always going out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and safe. He is honest and trust worthy, with a genuine concern for his guests. I believe he is our true friend in Jamaica!
To finalize :
Fun Holiday Beach
Is no resort, but a comfortable budget hotel with excellent staff on a terrific section of beach.
If you are considering non resort properties,
Fun Holiday Beach is an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank redryderbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
0.9 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 81 in Negril
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#39 of 81 in Negril
946 reviews
83.4 mi away
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
#29 of 35 in Ocho Rios
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Fun Holiday Beach Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fun Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Mile Negril beach resort hotel with pool, hot tub, watersports, jet skis, live reggae 2 nights a week, other parties and events! Beach and pool bars, seaside seafood and Jamaican specialties restaurant, room service, internet connection, cable TV, air conditioning - check out our internet specials! For the best value on the Negril beach check out Fun Holiday Beach Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fun Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fun Holiday Beach Hotel Negril
Fun Holiday Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing