We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers family makes it all good again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

If you have never been to Negril you must go. I have made 57 trips to Negril and 45 of those have been spent at the Travellers Beach Resort. So if you are going to Negril you must try the Travellers experience. All of my family members have stayed there with me over the years and just love the warm and friendly vibes of the Travellers family. It is owned and operated by family, treats its staff like part of the family, cooks for you like you'd expect at a family gathering, and makes great drinks that you'd expect to be prepared proud by you at a family function. I am always sad to leave my home away from home but happy to know I will be back soon.

The staff is the best part. They make everyday fun, enjoyable, quiet, relaxing or whatever you are in the mood for. They have the ability to catch your vibe too!
Security is awesome. The food and drinks are really the best on the beach and both are at a resonable price. The jerk chicken is to die for. The front desk will not stress you out at all. They are very fast and have great smiles that say good morning and good night to you everyday.
Very comfortable beach chairs and clean beach towels are provided just for the asking. The beach area is clean and tons of room for you and your entire group.
Rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Travellers has a multitude of room styles to choose from from simple cabins, standard rooms, larger spacious rooms and rooms fit for a queen or king. The pool- well just the best pool in Jamaica, perhpas the world but I'd have to travel the world to really justify that. Pool is fantastic. .

A real bonus about staying at the Travellers is the ability to walk anywhere and that is value added these days. Walking saves taxi money and provides an opportunity to experience local vibes, music, culture and meeting the great people on the road and beach. Just the same you don't need to take a cab anywhere to see a great sunset. The best ones are right from the Travellers hug beach deck.

Travellers does not offer imitation frozen blended drinks, food served in buckets or robotic non personal staff as part of a canned vacation. They do however offer their family and family of staff make your stay just a safe, cozy, natural Jamaician experience. And that is why I keep going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

Us three girls decided to make a trip to Negril to have a once in a lifetime experience, and boy did we!! TBR is a wonderful hotel with even better staff. The staff made us feel at home and we were on first name basis. Ask for Roy the bartender he was hilarious. Everyone always had a smile on their faces and ensured we would have a great time in Negril whether it was on the premises or off. It is a MUST to participate in Karaoke! The manager who hosts it has enough energy to beat the Energizer bunny! Haha! We felt very safe and became close with everyone. They went out of their way and baked a cake to celebrate my cousins birthday while we were there. How sweet!

The hotel is located right on the beach and I think the best spot of 7 miles. We could walk into downtown Negril and visit the other hotels along Norman Manley.

We arrived shortly after the rush of Spring Break so the area was a little more quiet, but truthly we enjoyed it more that way, and there was no shortage of activites.

We strongly suggest taking the boat ride to the caves on the West End, where you can actually swim into the caves and go snorkeling. Don't be afraid to negotiate prices with the locals.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jujusweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I read the reviews on this site and found them to be favorable for this resort. That is the main reason we decided it would be a good choice. We had the best room in the entire hotel and our experience was horrible. This is a hotel - I would definitely not consider it a resort. I don't understand the good reviews - I really can't believe anyone would like staying there.

We reserved the deluxe room with superior kitchen. The superior kitchen included a hot plate and a mini fridge. The room was filthy and smelled of mildew. There was no way we could stay in that room. We upgraded to the one suite, room 60, for a ridiculous "discounted" price. Room 60 is nice. It has a separate kitchen, living room and bedroom with a king bed. It was clean - no bugs. We did not have warm or hot water for three days. We lost electricity one night due to an accident because the hotel doesn't have a generator. I woke up in the middle of the night to the air conditioning unit pouring water out onto the floor, all over my laptop cords. The doors and windows are old - you can hear every sound from outside. All night you will listen to constant horns honking, fighting, yelling, sirens, etc. There are no phones in the rooms. We were the only guests on the top second floor! We did not feel safe, two women staying there. My mother fell on a step up at the front desk and injured her knee badly. The only medicine they had was peroxide. They had to go get ice from the bar down by the ocean. The beach is not private and you can not relax for a minute because locals harass you continually to buy stuff. The restaurant is outdoors only and is okay. We weren't thrilled with the selections. There is no gift shop even though they advertise having one. The pool was deserted but basically clean. The waterfall is painted on - it is not real. The lobby is nice although hot and dark. The only thing good about this hotel is the staff. They really were wonderful, but that's IT.

We could not wait to get home - this was a nightmare vacation for us. I was in Jamaica before and stayed at Sandals - the experience was wonderful. My advice to anyone is to stay with the very well known resorts in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We have stayed at Travellers for 5 nights last week.
We were a bit disappointed at the hotel when we first got there, mainly because of the dated facilities & interior.

But as soon as we reminded ourselves that it's Jamaica and adjusted our expectation, together with our experience during our stay at Travellers, we find that Travellers is BY FAR THE BEST choice among all the hotels in Negril.

Why?

1. Location, Location, Location

Travellers is right at the Seven Miles Beach, Negril and yet only 5-10 mins walk to the down town/community. You can experience a bit of the "local life" and go to supermarket/ local restaurants/mall to buy food/stuff easily. It is great for people who doesn't want to be trapped in the All-inclusive hotels. Other hotels could be a bit nicer in terms of interior/amenities , but you can go no where without cab/taxi/rental car.

2. Safety & No Hassle

Travellers nice security guard Terrance is the BEST! He makes sure we are in good hands and free to disturbance of people walking along the beaches and try to sell us stuff or try to bother us, especially when they get persistence/aggressive. Trust me, we saw how people were harassed at other hotels while we walked along the beach. Having said that, people in Jamaica are nice and a politely said “no thanks” will keep you away from the vendors at majority of the time.

3. Safety (Again!) – Getting around

You can take the cab/taxi. For us, since we stayed there only for 5 nights, we deicide to find a tour operator/driver. And after comparing lots of them, we realized the BEST was closer than we thought – Kenneth, the driver who cooperate with/ work for the hotel. He gave us the MOST REASONABLE price for the trip we made, friendly, nice and reliable. He also drives carefully, as he said once: “you have to drive for others” – it is because people there are so careless, esp. at night, speed-driving, cycling/ walking less than 1 meter (no kidding!) away from all the cars along the road, cutting roads without giving any signal, sudden stop/turn/cut/show-up from cars/people/cyclist/animals.

You may need to plan a bit of the trip by yourself, but Kenneth always tells you how you can best combine your sightseeing/activities and what makes the most sense. E.g. if it is too greedy/ possible/ have enough time to do the activities that you have planned. Or you can simply tell him what activities you are interested and he will find you something.

4. Objective opinions?

We spent HOURS (literally) finding hotels before we decided to choose Travellers. It is not ranked as top 25 hotels among 93 of other hotels in Negril at Tripadvisor or other travel websites for no reason. 

In spite of the fact that the hotel is a bit dated (btw, I heard they will soon undergone some renovation/uplift), the hotel is still comfortable to chill/stay at. The bed is actually clean and comfy. (NO bed bugs/insects whatsoever), room is big and shower has steady hot water and good pressure (VERY important!!). We even have a kitchenette with stove, fridge, toaster and microwave. 

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwinkleLittleStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Went here with a group of friends to relax and enjoy what's left of our freedom before we graduate school and join the real world. What more can I say? I had an awesome time and the hotel made thing easy and breezy. The hotel is right on the beach, a personalized DJ is spinning records during the days, the food is made fresh to order (must try the shrimp scampi and escovitch dinner), you feel safe on the grounds as security is on call 24-7. The hotel not only gives you a great rate for the same West End beauty but it's versatile in that you can go for a spring break trip in March, or a romantic getaway when things slow down. You can set up trips to go sightseeing, sit on the beach with your friends and a bucket of Red Stripe Beer or just party and drink if you prefer to have fun that way.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzedup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Travellers is a really cute hotel. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The food was amazing. Make sure to ask for the specials! Also, at the bar make sure to have a Bob Marley. The beach was clean and everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TellMeNow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I visited Jamaica for the first time in March '11 and stayed at Traveller's with a few of my friends. I was impressed from the moment that I arrived at the hotel. I have stayed at other resorts on other islands, and the friendliness of the staff at Traveler's is hands down the best that I have experienced. I felt that I was also able to experience true Jamaican hospitality while there by having access to the local downtown area which made the trip all the more encompassing. We stayed in a deluxe room which was more than adequate with A/C and a flat screen TV. All in all...a great trip and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodtimes066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.8 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,382 reviews
1.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
1.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#38 of 80 in Negril
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril JMDWD14, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £44 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travellers Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our warm and friendly staff we here at Travellers Beach Resort aim to provide for guests and visitors to Jamaica a unique experience coupled with fulfilling memories from check in to check out. With a solid reputation for comfort, service and value we offer rooms ranging from bungalow's to suite's, catering to travelers of all types. From our beautiful serene garden to our one of a kind pool with a swim up bar, waterfall, cave grotto, and Jacuzzi. Travellers has something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel Negril
Travellers Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing