We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travellers Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd time at Travellers - this time for 2 weeks. Everyone is really helpful and the restaurant is great! I stayed in one of the suites above the lobby and loved my room. Anytime I had a problem, maintenance would come up right away and fix it. There are lots of social events, including a free happy hour to meet with the management and also karaoke twice a week, which was pretty well attended. The restaurant also had Jamaica night and Jazz on the beach with a bonfire. I think it's conveniently located, next to a scuba shop and maybe a 5 minute beach walk to Bourbon Beach. There is also a beautiful view of the sunset from the restaurant bar.

My friends and I genuinely had a great time and will be back to enjoy Travellers!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for returning for your third visit, we are so glad you and your friends had such a good time and enjoyed the suite. Our managers cocktail, jazz night and karaoke are very popular and as you mention we are within walking distance of attractions, shopping etc. Hurry Home!
Best wishes from the entire Travellers family..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were there from May 24-June 3, 2014.... had 4 nites in the 1 bedroom air conditioned Jacuzzi suite #60 with full size kitchen & living room. back balcony & front balcony to use with tables and chairs. good working air-condition in the living room, & another one in the bedroom. Spend 6 nites in the deluxe double bed with kitchen #21 was good as well. The entertainment is very good.... twice a week is the sing-along songs on Friday & Sunday nites from 8pm-12am. 2 staff members are controlling the music & set-up. I didn't do the Monday BBQ's buffet, did enjoy the manager's free meet& greet with 1 guy singing & playing the piano from 6-7pm. (this is once a wk) There is a gym & spa I didn't use either. I'm a beach bum!! Hotel is right on the beach & pool is very nice. This resort is very clean, the guys are on the beach cleaning it daily.... the beach chairs are plentiful, clean, & use are given beach towels upon request without ANY problem. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, & dinner......I had such a fantastic time we are returning back next month for extended stay...... The Dirty Banana/Mudslide drinks are the BEST!! the restaurant staff is very pleasant, their speak & smile all the time. The front desk staff are the best!!! the ladies are so nice, helpful with all your questions. I was even helped to find a church to go to on Sundays. The young lady told me of a church in town close name New Testament Church of Negril. We went there & was very pleased with the services. The reggae band comes to the bar/restaurant twice a week & are very good..... starts around 8pm-11pm . The housekeeping services are very good as well..... I only had a minor issue with the bath tub needing a new stopper, the safe in room had to wait a couple of days due to it being locked by the previous guest. All in all, had the BEST stay at Traveller's & can't wait to go back!!!! this is so much better than staying at an all-inclusive..... You have the experience of casual, laid-back lifestyle of Negril. I loved staying here!! The life guard and security are great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nettie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Annette how nice to hear from you and to receive your detailed and five "bubble" review. Your review will be very useful I am sure for many of our first time visitors. Thank you for complimenting our team, they are the ones who make Travellers the success story it is. I know we will be seeing you very shortly for a long stay. All the team are looking forward to welcoming you home. Take care and all the best from the Travellers family..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been stopping by Traveller's bar for a Mudslide or Dirty Banana for a few years now and finally decided we should try staying there.......what a great decision! We were recently there for 8 days and had a fantastic time. The staff is wonderful and friendly and the service is excellent. Romeo on the bar is a whirlwind in motion, cleaning, making drinks and chatting. He is always busy but makes sure you get what you want. All of the girls in the restaurant are equally charming!
Beach security is also awesome and keep an excellent eye on everyone's possesions while they are in the sea!! The rooms are all recently redone and very lovely and comfortable.....we will be back for sure!! Also, it is really nice to have the owner and management always on the property and always checking on us. Perfect. :) P.S. Kurt and the rest of the Dive Shop on the property are wonderful also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Linda thank you so much for your kind review and our five "bubble" rating. We truly rely on our guests to spread the word - Trip Advisor is the new "word of mouth" marketing when it comes to vacation decisions. We are glad that after a number of years visiting us you made the choice to also stay with us. Our room renovations are really coming along nicely - in a couple of weeks we will have completed all the standard rooms, in fact only three left now. Travellers is a permanent work in progress and we never tire of painting, fixing, enhancing our property. Thank you for your review of our Dive staff - they do an amazing job and are true professionals. They are particularly good with those who have never tried diving and want to give it a go. Look forward to hosting you again very soon. Best wishes from the Travellers family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We decided to stay at Traveller's Beach Resort as opposed to an all-inclusive so that our daughter could experience the true ambiance of Negril's casual, laid-back lifestyle, and we've very happy with our choice! We found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and eager to please. Our room was recently renovated, so it was very clean, comfortable and cool. They have complimentary in-room internet, safe and movie channels, and there is a fitness center, salon and spa on-site. This hotel offers a great location right on Negril's famous 7-mile beach, and we were able to walk to an array of beachfront open-air bars and restaurants, including our own, which had Jamaican cuisine. As we strolled along the water's edge at sunset, we found it hard to choose from seafood, Chinese, Indian, Italian, and more. Bourbon Beach, an easy walk from TBR, has wonderful live reggae music and reasonably priced food and drinks. Town Center isn't too far, and we found several banks, fast food, and grocery stores along the road to the cliffs on the West End. Both the location and on-line rates make Traveller's Beach Resort a winning choice if you're planning on going to Negril!

Room Tip: Our room's (#51) balcony provided a beautiful view of the sea and overlooked the pool, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad I had the opportunity to meet you and your husband and your daughter. I much enjoyed our chat at our weekly Manager's Cocktail Party. You have really described very well all that we offer and we know from your travel agent past that you will be a very discerning guest. Like many of our guests you went on our own website to book and am glad you found that an easy process with good rates to choose from. Undoubtedly one of our key selling points is our location where guests have a choice and mostly all within walking distance. There are so many restaurants, bars, shows, shops etc around us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes from the entire Travellers family.
Howard

PS Best of luck to your daughter as she heads to university in Australia - I look forward to hearing all about it when she returns to Jamaica and Travellers for some relaxation. (Hint!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 and had a lovely time. The staff was friendly and helpful with everything we needed and even gave us the name for a taxi driver, which we used everyday. The hotel is right on the beach and a short walk from downtown activities, or you can walk down the 7 mile stretch of beach to access other places to eat and drink. The hotel has a buffet breakfast that was included in our stay, however, you must pay for any other meals you have at the hotel. The food is great and includes local cuisine and caters to other travelers. We enjoyed the pool and the swim up bar, which is small compared to big chain hotels, but still lovely. The bartender made excellent drinks! You also have a choice of whether to stay in a hotel room or a cabin, which makes it more romantic. We enjoyed ourselves and cannot say enough about this family owned resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank van728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for you wonderful review of our property. We are delighted you had a restful vacation and enjoyed all that Negril has to offer. Negril is known as "the capital of casual" and the location of Travellers ensures our guests can walk on the beach or wander into town whenever they feel like exploring. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.
One Love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Travellers in march for 2 weeks ,It was the best ,The Staff and owners, are so great ,would highly recommend this resort, We can not wait to go back !!We have stayed in Negil ,at a 5 star resort, To us this resort was much better, It was right on the beach ,every thing is so close ,the food was delish ,The service was fantastic, shout out to Trudy ,The best waitress ever xoxo Thank you Howard ,For all your help, with everything ,See you all in 2015 ,One love xo Gay Anderson

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GayAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Gay so nice to hear from you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests often tell us we are a unique alternative to the larger all-inclusive resorts, whom of course have their admirers too. We offer a safe and comfortable Jamaican experience steps from the beach and within easy walking distance of the town, duty free, bars and restaurants. We are so looking forward to seeing you in 2015.
One Love
Howard
PS Trudy sends her love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My sister, her partner, and I left Jamaica last Wednesday. We were there for six days. Travellers was absolutely the BEST! when we arrived, the front desk staff was so polite and professional. Oniel was so kind and protective of us on the beach. The owners were present and friendly, and all of the staff made us feel right at home. The locals were also friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Higher floors give an awesome view of the resort and mangoes growing on the trees right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Jahki S what can I say! When your review of our resort is titled "like heaven on earth" and I am reading this just before I end my day I have to feel grateful and thankful to my guests and also the team that makes Travellers such a special place. However I want to assure you that we don't take our accolades lightly, we know we must continue to strive even harder to ensure we stay at the top of our game. Thank you on behalf of the entire Travellers family and please hurry back.............
Howard
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#41 of 80 in Negril
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
1.2 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#8 of 80 in Negril
1,162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril JMDWD14, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#17 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £45 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for our warm and friendly staff we here at Travellers Beach Resort aim to provide for guests and visitors to Jamaica a unique experience coupled with fulfilling memories from check in to check out. With a solid reputation for comfort, service and value we offer rooms ranging from bungalow's to suite's, catering to travelers of all types. From our beautiful serene garden to our one of a kind pool with a swim up bar, waterfall, cave grotto, and Jacuzzi. Travellers has something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Hotel Negril
Travellers Beach Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing