We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Idle Awhile The Villas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$670
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
US$767
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
147
15
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
15
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoon dance villasbedroom villamoondance villaschef robertrum punchlobsterlarger villasalmond villaevery whimpumpkin soupguava jellyincredible mealsbeach chairs and umbrellasthe entire staffprivate beachdinner on the beachcool guy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife discovered Moon Dance Villas during an internet search for somewhere to take our family of 10, including us, for a special birthday. We could not have been more pleased, and everyone is still talking about the "best vacation of their lives," albeit for some of them, not too many years have passed. For all of us, from our youngest of 5 to the oldest at 72, the days were filled with fun, relaxation, varied activities, wonderful food and always looking forward to yet another day at Ginger Breeze, the house we rented. And we enjoyed everything together, best of all. The staff, from low man on the totem pole to the highest, was superb and our every desire was theirs to fulfill. Can't say enough.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank E1mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The villas were beautiful, the staff was amazing. Couldn't have been a better time. The service was friendly and attentive with happy, smiling people. The location was great. The quality of the food they served was the best I've ever had in Jamaica, and I have eaten in some of the best restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Surprisingly soundproof accommodation, (huge rooms with high ceilings and thick wood ), lovely and secure garden setting (yet right on the beach), and attentive service of a large, yet not obvious, super staff. A four generational family who had a wonderful holiday and fun time together with activities right at our villa or arranged for us on the beach. Every need or desire for a one year old to a 90 year old great grandmother.
In summary, accommodations were clean and wonderful, food was spectacular, people could not have been nicer, activities were plentiful to keep six small children and 9 adults more than busy but relaxed.
Our only suggestion is to improve the website. It does not give full credit to the staff and the villas. Thank you to Sasha and Neil and Rowan and all the others...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJP861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We were at Moondance Villas for 10 days starting Jan 8, 2013. My husband and I were there with our 3 adult children and a 15 month grandson. We stayed at the Ginger Breeze house . It was wonderful vacation and a wonderful place to stay! We have been coming to Negril for 22 years and have stayed at several different resorts. The house was beautiful, well kept and comfortable and had everything we needed. We were able to eat all our meals outside even in the rain. Our staff were all great. Glenn was more than just a bartender,he served our meals, and anything we wanted or needed he magically made happen. He was fun and worked hard and made our trip special. Sarge was our cook and he was a wonderful cook, the food was very good and he cooked whatever we wanted. They all went to a lot of trouble to decorate and make special our anniversary, made us a cake . they all made special effort to meet the needs of our grandson. The maid did a wonderful job of making the house beautiful and Roan who took care of the beach made arrangement for beach activities like magic. The location on the beach is great, it is private but you got a good taste of Jamaica, there were party places close by if you wanted that . We went to the moondance villas on the cliffs for an afternoon and evening and they treated us very well, it is a whole different experience, but beautiful. We would definitely stay there again and will when we return to Negril. We love then Jamaican feel to the whole place. We will ask for The same staff as they were great. We did the all inclusive package and it worked well for us. The concierge was very helpful and arranged for us scuba diving and a deep sea fishing trip. Take lots of sun screen and some bug spray for sand fleas at night, which I have found true everywhere on the beach. Overall a delightful trip and a great memory and we will return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just got back from an amazing trip to Moon Dance Villas. My Fiancee and I are planning a wedding there later this year and decided to go down for a long weekend to check out the location. I had high expectations for Moon Dance and they met or exceeded them on almost every front. For this trip we stayed at the 1 bdrm Lilac Mist but will be renting 4 of the villas and staying at the 4 bdrm Azure Sky for the wedding.

The ride to MDV was easy. A driver was arranged ahead of time and waiting for us as we walked out of the airport. The 90 minute ride went quickly as we sipped our red stripe (bottled water also available) and enjoyed the views. Carrie was there waiting to welcome us as we arrived and did a great job taking care of us during our stay.

The staff at our villa was top notch. Glen had cocktails waiting for us when we arrived and Sarge the chef was preparing dinner. Every meal Sarge put together was unique and well thought out. He took time to explain the food choices and made sure he understood what we liked or didn't like. Glen was great and did all of the little things you would hope for to make the trip special. The housekeeper Nola was great although we hardly saw her. She seemed to plan her visits when we were out and so our time at the villas was never interrupted. We have already requested all three when we return for the wedding.

We had some anxiety about getting everything planned for the wedding but after a couple hours with Oneika we had no worries. We spent about 4 hours of the trip discussing the wedding, meeting the DJ and flower vendors and walking the property to see where everything would take place. The rest of our trip was all vacation time and we could relax knowing that Oneika was taking care of the details.

The beach was great and Ro-Ro will take care of anything you need. It was quite private all things considered and felt very secure. We had beach chairs setup waiting for us everyday and arranging a quick snorkeling trip through Ro-Ro was easy and a lot of fun. The whole experience made us very excited for when we come back out with our kids.

For this trip we chose the European meal plan so we had more flexibility to try out a few restaurants. The final itemized bill for the european meal plan was very reasonable and might be a good fit for some people. However, will be on the "all inclusive" plan for the wedding and I think that will work out better for our larger group.

There were not many negatives from our trip to share. Perhaps we just got lucky and avoided the loud music other reviewers mentioned or issues with "unfriendly" staff. The wi-fi did appear to be intermittent but I just took that as a sign I should put the iPad down and enjoy Jamaica.

Moon Dance Villas was definitely what we were looking for as a location for our wedding and I am very confident it will be a great experience for our guests. I will post again after the wedding and hope I have even more great things to share.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews