We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Families Dream Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idle Awhile The Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2008

My family of 4 just returned from staying in the 3 bedroom villa “Dream Walk”. The entire experience from booking directly with Moondance to the final send off from the resort was FIRST CLASS.

There was exceptional email correspondence leading up to the trip and they took all of our requests and turned this into a dream vacation. Our staff in the villa was exceptional and we now feel like we have extended family in Jamaica – more on this later.

Booking – booking was easy through their quick responding staff of Miriam and Kim. Every email was answered and all questions that they could not directly answer was researched and answered quickly.

Transport – A private transfer outside of the airport was arranged for us. Our flight arrived 10 minutes early and we could not find our driver. There are many taxi’s and transfers waiting outside with signs for each resort. We did not see the Moondance driver. I called Moondance directly and spoke with Gary who immediately called the driver who was just turning into the airport at that time. Talk about communication! We were so impressed and put at ease as Dean our driver pulled up in front of us. We acknowledged being early and he was apologetic as he did not foresee this. One of our requests was to have cold beverages available in the van and Dean set us up with plenty. The ride to Negril was smooth, comfortable and Dean answered all of our questions with courtesy and true interest – if the transfer was this good, we couldn’t wait for the resort.

First impressions – We were greeted by 4 staff members as we exited the van. Oneika and Gary welcomed us along with a porter and a staff member with smooth tropical punch drinks and a cool cloth. They escorted us to our villa and informed us we would be complementary upgraded to the 3 bedroom villa from the 2 bedroom villa for the week as it was available. You could not believe the warm welcome and true vibes being sent out by the staff. The staff gave a tour of the villa and explained to us that our only job was to relax and enjoy.

The villa – Each room was spacious with comfortable king beds decorated with towels rolled into different animal shapes every day. Heart Shaped Swans, Sea Turtle, Elephants, Crabs, etc. It was fun to see what Cristel our amazing housekeeper would invent each day. She worked diligently each day preparing each room and cleaning up any sand or disruption because of the ordinary use of the villa. She arrived after breakfast and would have everything completed by our afternoon swim. Bedrooms had great air conditioning and ceiling fans that kept sleeping comfortable. They also had a separate sitting area, private balcony, large spacious bathroom with double sinks and walk in shower. The rest of the villa had ceiling fans that kept the living rooms comfortable. We ate all meals outside on the patio and had dinners set up for us on the beach after sunset. Each room had tasteful furniture and art work. We checked out other villas and were just as impressed as each is done in its own style. The bar was a fun place to hang out and talk with the staff and relax after a day on the beach.

The beach – We walked the entire length of long beach every day and believed Moondance is on the best part of the beach. It was not crowded as there are only 6 villas on the property and a 100 yard wide by 50 yard beach. There are also lawns in front of the 3 bedroom villa so it seemed like a lot of space. There is plenty of trees for shade and open space for sun. The swim area is large and never felt crowded. Vincent was there everyday as the lifeguard and kept a watch on any children and created a safe and laid back beach environment. He helped my children learn Patois and had wonderful conversations with them making them feel like they were at home. Wensley was there every day making sure all watersport activities were accessible to you. He hooked us up parasailing when we wanted to go.

The staff – Neville our bartender and Mark our cook spent long hours each day taking care of our needs. Neville would set our table every day and take our orders for breakfast each night after dinner. He brought drinks out to the beach when we wanted them and would make my children smoothies at any hour asked. Mark prepared exceptional American foods and Jamaican foods to meet the diverse taste buds of our family. Gary would come to the villa each breakfast and take our orders for lunch and dinner. For our anniversary Neville, Mark, and Vincent set up our table on the beach for an after sunset dinner. With torches and candles around us the experience was surreal and one we will not forget. On our last evening there, they repeated this beach dinner, but this time lined a path to the table with tea-light bag lanterns – What SERVICE!! There were many tears and hugs from the entire staff when we left. A truly personalized experience and a genuine Jamaican atmosphere of peace, respect, and love was given to my family. Vincent was there each day interacting with our kids and answering any questions we had about the area – he even asked what my children liked for music and brought them each a CD of this type the next day – a very caring and awesome guy to talk with. Cristel was awesome creating the towel animals and creating a polished environment.

Food and Drink – we chose the non all inclusive and just paid for what we ate and drank. We ate salads, lobster, shrimp, patties, soups, fruit, chicken, pork, fish, rice, conch soup and fritters, pasta with alfredo and newburg sauces, champagne, beer, mixed drinks, etc. etc until we could not eat or drink no more and it worked out to cost $65 per person per day which we thought was exceptional for the quality and quantity of the meals. Mark created soups and main dishes that we had never experienced in our other trips to Jamaica. We had fun with Neville, an experienced bartender, creating tropical drinks and trying different flavors like beer, fresh aloe, and egg whites – talk about a refresher.

Excursions - We went to Adventure Zip-line Tours just outside of Mobay and had a great time. Oneika and Gary set up the tour and a driver for this half day excursions. Everything went smoothly and we enjoyed the tour.

In general – Moondance Villas is known for the best accommodations, foods, and service on 7 mile beach. We have experienced this first hand and will work hard once again to save up for a return trip. There are other resorts that we have liked and stayed at, but if you are going to spend your hard earned money on a Jamaican vacation/experience, you may want to go the extra mile and stay at least once at this resort. It was not only a relaxing vacation, but a truly personalized experience that has never been felt on any other vacation. The staff will work hard at serving you with respect and with genuine happiness and make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2008

My fiance' and I were looking for the nicest and most luxurious place in Negril to get married and honeymoon and WE FOUND IT...at Moondance Villas. Now, my husband and I had the most wonderful wedding and relaxing honeymoon we could have imagined. We were pampered and spoiled from the time we arrived until we flew home. The staff was absolutely amazing. We just fell in love with all of them. Yanique and Neville were our chef and bartender and they were fantastic. The food was excellent quality and Yanique is the best chef. Every meal was unbelievably good. Along with Neville serving us and making sure through out the day we had drinks and anything we needed. They both went above and beyond to take care of us and make sure we were happy. Denzel was our housekeeper and kept the place spotless. We came in every afternoon to fresh sheets, fresh flowers everywhere and everything emaculate. Every day we enjoyed the towel sculptures he made for our bed. I can not say enough about the staff they were all fantastic. Our wedding day was so well organized. Oneika had everything planned just as I requested. From the flowers to the photographer it was great. It was just the two of us sharing this moment, but they made us feel so special and went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. By the end of our 10 days they felt like family. We can't wait to return to visit our "Jamaican Family". We will sure request Yanique, Neville, and Denzel to be with us again. We have memories that will last a life time. Thanks to all of you for such a wonderful experience...we will be back!!! J & C

Stayed: March 2008
5  Thank ocm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

I just came back from a stay at Moon Dance Villas (4/2 through 4/6) with two friends and it was amazing! From the moment we got to the property until the moment we left, every detail was thought of. We stayed in Azure Sky, the 4-bedroom villa, and it was perfect. We each had our own bedroom and two of us had Jacuzzis on our private balconies. All of the rooms and balconies had spectacular views of the Caribbean! Right outside our villa was a private, beachfront pool, just for us. It was great being able to go back and forth from the ocean to the pool all day long.


The staff at the Villas was also outstanding. Our chef Robert was wonderful and all of the meals were delicious (I especially recommend the salads at lunch and the pastas at dinner!). Our bartender was Barry and he was on-hand all the time, at the beach or pool, whether we needed a refill or not! Usually we took the refill though. Polly, our housekeeper, kept our rooms tidy and always left plenty of beach towels. Our concierge, Oneika, did a great job of taking care of us as well, setting up snorkeling and anything else we wanted.


The whole complex is beautiful and in a great spot on 7-Mile Beach. Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville was two doors down the beach and a fun place to hang out after hours. I would recommend Moon Dance Villas to anyone looking to have a relaxing, luxurious vacation. The service and surroundings make the cost well worth it. We’ll be going back soon I hope!

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank amy-mcquillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

All the other reviews are correct. We stayed here over Thanksgiving and loved it!! There was an older man, two couples, a teenager and a single guy in our party and this was a perfect choice!! I cannot overstate how awesome this property and employees are!! The price is high, however, compared to having multiple rooms at a resort this is the better choice.
You will not be disappointed with these villas.
Top Reasons to stay here,
(1) Your own pool
(2) Your own pool table
(3) Your own bar
(4) beach right outside to door
(5) Margaritaville two doors down
(6) Hot Tub!
(7) Your own chef
(8) Your own bartender
(9) Great Bedrooms w/Balconies
(10) Great Bathrooms w/Walk-in Showers

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kimkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We have stayed in many houses in the Caribbean over the years and I have to say that Satin Sunrise (the 2 bedroom villa we stayed in) and the whole Moondance complex is just awesome - we just spent Christmas there and I would recommend it to anyone

They have great accommodations and the best staff - Carol took amazing care of us bringing drinks to the beach and serving us some wonderful meals both in the villa and on the beach (all cooked by Yanni our truly excellent chef) - the villa was beautifully cleaned every day - you simply ordered your meals ahead of time and they were all taken care of - anything you wanted - our shared pool was never used by the people in the 1 bedroom villa but even if they had used it is would not have been a problem - the location almost right in the middle of the 7 Mile Beach was ideal and we had some great walks both ways up and down the beach - we did a scuba diving course while there with Ken Brown from Negril Scuba who was excellent - check out www.negrilscuba.com

All in all a GREAT trip and a wonderful place to stay

we will return for sure

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank robertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

if anyone wants to visit jamaica, this is the place to stay at. Service is excellent- food is good- drinks keep coming wherver youre at on the property. I went for my friends wedding-the package and party they put together was astounding. Security is also extremely tight- it has to be- thats the only drawback. The locals are a liitle aggresive in the peddling of their wares but a simple and polite no thank you will usually suffice. Dont walk on the beach alone at night. Jimmy Buffets is right next door and is a lot of fun. Chew the vendors down on anything you wish to buy-they start out at a 200% markup to see where you stand with cash. The pools at all of the villas at moondance are incredible in design everything very private with beach access. Winslow will provide the non-motor water sports tip him good. I would go back on the on season when the locals are doing better and not so aggressive

5  Thank scallawag540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Our family of 12 stayed at Ginger Breeze for a week and were extremely pleased with everything about the resort.
The pictures don't do it justice. It is a spectacular home in a terrific beach front setting.

The staff couldn't have have been nicer and responded to our every request including constant requests by the grandchildren for root beer floats with a smile.

Food was great, especially the lobster.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tf403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
258 reviews
2.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#32 of 80 in Negril
406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#3 of 53 in Negril
166 reviews
3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Awhile The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Villas

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Moon Dance Villas)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range: £232 - £1,727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Idle Awhile The Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idle Awhile Villas invites you to experience the finest rental accommodations in all of Negril, Jamaica. Beautifully situated on Negril's spectacular 7-Mile Beach, Idle Awhile Villas is actually six elegant and incredibly comfortable beach homes. Each offers you the services of its own devoted and delightfully attentive staff: chef, bartender, and housekeeper- all committed to making your Jamaican getaway a truly pleasurable adventure in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Idle Awhile The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Dance Villas Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing