We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint limitless place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint limitless place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Love the atmosphere. Not a big compound small Jamaican hotel on the beach. Has all you are looking for without the exhibit any prices. Love the parrot Got a great rate. Living in Jamaica it was a good getaway

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judyannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    90
    33
    32
    24
See reviews for
45
135
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenup, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our first trip to Kuyaba was last year, and we only stayed 3 days before heading to the cliffs for a week. This year we decided to stay two weeks at Kuyaba. After many trips over many years, we have found our place in Negril!!

Transportation
We have been booking Kingsley James, owner of Take Care Tours for several years. Kingsley was busy and had Robert pick us up. Wow, what a great person! He went out of his way to make sure we found everything we needed in Montego Bay before heading to Negril. He called a few times just to check on us and see if we needed anything. A few items not available in Negril he got for us in his town of Sav-La-Mar. Dropping them off while on an airport run. Brought the children by to meet us one day as well.

Check-in And Front Office
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the charming Ms. Zelma at the office. She said she had a surprise for us. Roshelle, also of the office staff, had arranged for us to spend our entire stay in the Honeymoon Suite! (Originally we were to change rooms after one night.) They were so friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze and delight. Before we could even finish checking in, Junior and Earl had our luggage and things from the grocery in our room!!! Mr. Russell, who also works in the office is very personable and helpful. Zelma showed us to our room and made sure everything was in good working order. At no time was anyone in the office rude, and we were certainly not treated with disdain!! (as described in previous reviews) Roshelle came up to our room one evening to help me find a specific Jamaican television show. When I informed Mr. Russell of a small ceiling leak during our only heavy rain, he came to the room immediately. He had someone inspect and repair it promptly. All office staff receives 5 Stars from us!!! Above and beyond!!!


Accommodations
We love the Honeymoon Suite. A spacious and very clean room and bath. King bed is really comfortable. We love being upstairs in the trees and the extra large verandah is an added bonus. We spent every morning and evening outside enjoying the calming atmosphere created by the beautiful lush gardens. Plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Clean towels and wash cloths everyday. Shampoo and conditioner complimentary. Full size refrigerator. Quiet and efficient ceiling fan and very comfortable air conditioning. TV is older, but worked well for the small amount of time we watched it. Nice variety of cable channels. Beach towels were provided and you could exchange them as needed. In room safe. Previous reviews complained about paying a deposit for the safe key. Many resorts in Negril charge a per day fee just to use the safe.

Housekeeping And Maintenance
Marcia and Junie are both delightful housekeepers! Pleasant and fun. Always asking if there was anything we needed and if everything was to our liking. They kept our room very clean. Marcia brought fresh flower arrangements for Beverly on several occasions! Because Kuyaba is a small boutique hotel, all linens may not be ready at the time your room is cleaned. Don't get upset about this small detail. Marcia and Junie would make an extra trip to hand deliver any items that were not placed in the room during cleaning, and always did so with a smile and wishing us a good evening. They are very attentive without being imposing.
The grounds are beautifully maintained and are quite impressive. The curving walkways canopied with many varieties of trees and plants are so soothing. Earl does a great job of keeping the grounds clean and aesthetically pleasing. He is a great guy with a good sense of humor and a treat to talk to. He would help you in any way he could!


Restaurant
Kuyaba is well known as a fine eatery in Negril. Many delicious entrees for lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the Veggie Quesadillas for lunch. Dinner choices we enjoyed were Penne Pasta with Marinara, (Their sauce is very good) Brownstew Chicken, Grilled Snapper with coconut callaloo, and a very nice tomato salad with feta, olive oil and garlic. Hyacinth, Joan and DJ are very gracious and entertaining hosts. We had dinner with some Jamaican friends from Cousins Cove. They were treated well and allowed to visit with us. As it should be! Joan and our dinner guest are long time friends and we had a great evening! Another evening we celebrated the birthday of Junior, who is a Kuyaba security guard. Again, Joan was fun, DJ served up great drinks, and Junior was quite the character. A very memorable evening for us. Thanks Kuyaba!!! Great sunset views from a picturesque seaside restaurant and bar!

Local Food
While the Kuyaba food is excellent, we also enjoy local food. Good jerk chicken and pork nearby. Fresh fruit and vegetables are readily available. One of our favorite snacks was a Veggie Pattie from the beach Pattie Man. $2.00USD. We enjoy Just Natural on the cliffs, as well as Fatty's and Miss Norma's. Get out and meet some colorful locals and enjoy some great cooking for very cheap prices!!

Security
Security at Kuyaba is excellent as well as interesting. Guards 24/7 at beach and road entrance. Would bring our beach chairs to the location we wanted each morning. If we wanted to talk to a beach vendor they allowed us to do so. When a vendor was aggressive, they were quickly on top of it. That was a rare occurrence because they have established their presence at the Kuyaba beach property. Always helpful and friendly. Never overbearing. I am a bit different from most travelers in that I like to hangout in front with the taxi drivers and enjoy normal conversation. We were fortunate to become friends with Junior, security at the front gate. We enjoyed talking and joking with each other. While security is not a high concern, they have you covered. Charles is great at the beach entrance on the night shift. As with everything else at Kuyaba, they made our stay relaxed and comfortable.

Noise
Many reviews address the noise from the live music. It is beyond the control of Kuyaba. It is loud some evenings, but it is a display of cultural heritage and musical roots. Remember, you are not at home any more and just go with the flow of the culture. I don't remember either of us saying we were too tired to lie on the beach because of loud night time music!!! After all, it is a vacation! My only suggestion would be for Bourbon Beach to find a better sound engineer!!

Summary
While I have described my likings about Kuyaba, the people employed there are a huge reason we will be back. The best treatment and experience in Jamaica yet! We enjoy relaxed vacations with no itinerary. Everything we need is right there or a short walk or taxi ride away. We highly recommend Kuyaba. If you go, take time to get to know the people. They are wonderful and will enrich your experience!!

Peace,
Russell and Beverly

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank electriclazyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family of 4 consisting of a 12yold and a 2yold, and another family of 3 stayed here during the end of June 2013 for a well needed vacation. Upon arrival, we were greeted by staff and complimentary drinks:) We had dinner that was every bit flavorful as well as great presentation. Husband, whom is chef, was impressed! (huge compliment) Stayed in a basic room that was clean, well air-conditioned, with double beds, plenty of towels and large closet. Housekeeping staff was hospitable, provided extra linen when needed w/o any gripes. Kids enjoyed the swings on the veranda the most and daily arguments were about whom got to the swings first! Best part of the vacation, was the beach/location of Kuyaba(right accross the street from Times Square Plaza). Easy walking distance to the Plaza allowed for last minute souvenirs and ATM(which dispenses money in Jamaican dollars approx $100JA for $1US) Beach was breathtakingly beautiful! Stayed majority of time on the beach which you can get $1 patties from the vendor on the bike(Veggie patties-yum), Only issue w/ Kuyaba was that wi fi was not available the entire time, but we had plenty of things to keep us occupied. Kuyaba is a beautiful property with lush foliage, thatch roofs and rustic settings. If you are looking for a property with reasonable rates, beautiful grounds, Kuyaba comes highly reccomended. We will definitely be coming back:)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here in one of the rustic cottages, and for the first time in my life, my feet were hanging out from the bed. The room was tiny, and we didn't expect a big one but the size of the bed was no go (I suppose at most 180 cm). As it is already loud at night, and with the tiniest bed ever, it was impossible to sleep. Except for this, the room was clean and functional with running (hot)water, the complex was well-kept, and the food at the restaurant simply great. A welcome drink of choice was complimentary (I suppose to compensate the slow check-in process), and at the beach sun-beds are available for guests along with a guard, who keeps hasslers away. All in all, it was fine to experience the beach life of Negril for a couple of nights, but when we go next time, we will stay at the cliffside and use the free-pick up service of the restaurants in the beach area, as many of them - including Kuyaba - offers such services.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank festival33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My mother and I stayed at Kuyaba Negril during 4th of July holiday for a few days. Roshell (front desk representative and host), Shawn, and other staff were very pleasant and professional. The bed was comfortable, in my opinion, because I need more a firm bed for slight back issues. The mosquitos can be a bit much if you are not prepared. Roshell was nice enough to offer us coils you light to keep the Mosquitos at bay, which did help considerably. We also purchased a can of bug spray at the Times Square shopping center, store #10 (great store by the way and the owner is wonderful! he offers everything you need at better prices than the other stores).

One thing I will say is the rooms need to be upgraded...there are no phones and the doors are glass with a chain lock and regular turn lock on the knob. Although we were not concerned about our safety or being robbed, it would be nice if the doors were more secure from theft. We always locked our luggage in the morning before leaving the room every day. Can be a bit of a hassle, but worth it to avoid temptation of theft.

Every day we left a tip for the housekeeper...$3 to $5 US dollars. She never had much to do but clean the bathroom, because we left the beds neat and the room in general.

Also, please be aware that Legends hotel next door will not allow you to lounge on their beach chairs in front of their property. You have to lounge on the Kuyaba side. I had a HORRIFIC altercation with the "security guard" (non-uniformed mind you), Michael Brydston, for Legends. I will not go in to detail, but let's say that his actions were extremely traumatizing, unprofessional, and threatening. I had to make a police report against him. The manager, Ms. Marva, of Kuyaba spoke with him as well as an officer and that diffused the situation, but made the remainder of the stay uncomfortable, but not intolerable.

After that horrible incident, I/we would still consider returning for another vacation at Kuyaba, because the staff and the food, are wonderful. The rates are incomparable too!! Definitely worth a try and if you don't like it, don't return.

Cheers and blessings!

Room Tip: Bring your own beach towels...luckily we asked prior to arrival, because they charge $20 US/day for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. Like many others, one year I mistakenly booked Legends on the Beach, and forfeited my "all inclusive" package to dine/drink at Kuyaba.

Yes, Kuyaba looks like an idealized thatch hut boutique hotel on the beach. And that's about it.

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with extreme disdain by ZELMA at the front desk. Zelma will ignore your group of six, including two children, until she's finished with her lengthy personal call. Then she will bark orders at you. "Whu u wan?"

An hour later, when she feels like checking you in, she will walk you to your "superior suite" and turn on the air conditioner and television for you. She will snap at you that you are not to touch the air conditioner. When the television won't turn on for her, she will snap at you and tell you that she will send someone for the inconvenience of you checking into a room with a non functional television.

An hour later, when you've tried to adjust the temperature of the air conditioner, and it stops working, if you dare tell the front desk (ZELMA) that your air conditioner doesn't work, she will yell at you for touching it, and insist that it is working. You'll have to come back and back to keep asking her to come look before she will bother.

However, when a local, well-known, Jamaican friend of yours for 24 years stops by, ZELMA is at your bungalo yelling in Patois (because she doesn't know you speak it) for your friend to leave immediately.

Excuse me?

Then when you tell Zelma her attitude is completely unwarranted and inappropriate and ask to speak to a manager, some tortured little woman who won't look you in the eye comes over to tell you she is powerless and Zelma is the only one who can call the owner. Zelma, of course, refuses to do this.

The beds are like concrete, the air conditioning is substandard, the front desk is the rudest woman in the world. Just do yourself a favor. Stop by for a drink and bask in the aesthetics of Kuyaba. That's all it's good for.

Not only will I never stay at Kuyaba again, I doubt I'll ever go to Jamaica again. Sad, because I've been going for 24 years, every year. I will always accept a certain amount of inconvenience from my beautiful Jamaica, but I won't pay money to be treated with disdain. I've never been treated so rudely in Jamaica. It's the straw that broke the camel's back.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good room, don't look at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JamaicaNice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I am so glad I took the previous reviews with a grain of salt. Kuyaba was perfectly suited for us. The location is prime. By far the best (and prettiest) budget hotel in the area. Times Square mall for ATM, souvenirs and crafts is right across the street. So convenient and within 10 mins. from everywhere you'd really want to be.

The grounds: reminiscent of a tropical jungle. A small labyrinth path dotted with exotic flowers and straw huts. Two parrots that greet you upon arrival. The reception area has a cute shop and the staff is very nice -- particularly the two receptionists who made it a joy!!

Rooms: Clean double queen room. Basic but nicely appointed. In-room safe. Outdoor balcony perfect for morning coffee and late-night cocktails. We had such fun on the hammock swing! The theme of Jamaican cottages is carried throughout in the smallest details.

Restaurant: LOVELY! There is a tower space where you can dine in dim light and get a birds' eye view of the ocean. Beautiful and the food is delicious. I ventured and tried local dishes such as Manish Wata and roadside jerk chicken, but the curry goat and ceviches (reasonably priced) were so good that we ordered it all 3 nights we spent at Kuyaba! The drinks are pretty good and the banana milkshakes are off the hook! Super fresh and refreshing. Other great nearby restaurants include Sweet Spice, Rockhouse, Juicy Lucy and roadside restaurants with homestyle Jamaican cuisine.

Beach: It's amazing with shallow crystal clear water. like everywhere on the 7-mile beach, you will undoubtedly be inundated by locals trying to sell their goods. One must understand that tourism is their #1 source of income. Kuyaba, though, has a 24-hour security guard on the beach, as well as on premise.

Sure, a valid caveat is the noise level of nearby clubs. But so what? You're in Jamaica. Let loose. I could hear loud music from all 3 hotels we stayed in at Negril -- even on the cliffs. You could always stay in a gated resort but I much prefer local color when traveling. At a resort I could be anywhere in the world such that the country you choose becomes arbitrary. IMHO. If you're staying on the 7-mile beach and are searching for a fab budget-friendly hotel, Kuyaba is the way to go!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaomiBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 85 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#56 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#2 of 48 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistling Bird Resort
Whistling Bird Resort
#42 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril

Property: Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Address: PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Negril's famous & beautiful seven mile white sand beach, Kuyaba is a family owned & operated boutique, beach hotel with a tropical island vibe that you won't find anywhere else. Set on a lush, tropical property surrounded by exotic plants, flowers & different varieties of palm trees, Kuyaba gives the true feeling of an island vacation. Kuyaba's architecture looks rustic on the outside but has a clean & modern heartbeat within the rooms offering all the comforts of home & then some. Featuring an on-property, beachside, restaurant & bar with an outstanding view of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuyaba Hotel Negril
Kuyaba Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing