We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take me back to Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take me back to Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Kuyaba is a small, cozy hotel situated right on 7 mile beach - Perfect location! You are close to the beach, bars, restaurants and a convenience store where you can buy water, rum and snacks. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the private balcony was more then we ever could've asked for. I went with the three friends, all girls in are twenties, and the Kuyaba staff did an excellent job providing recommendations and making sure we always felt safe and at home at the hotel.

We ate at Kuyaba restaurant twice and loved the shrimps and veggie quesadilla.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    90
    33
    32
    24
See reviews for
45
135
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Kuyaba is a wonderful little spot on the 7 Mile Beach! We had a wonderful time here in December. We were debating wethere to go AI or not, but going RO was the right choice for us. We did dine in the hotel on a number of occassions, either for lunch or dinner, but like the freedom of trying different resturants. and the food here is excellent.
We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which is a large & beautiful room, the balcony alone is huge and we loved it! Only let down was the bathroom, that is in some need of TLC.
All the staff we came across were really friendly, the security guard on the beach was so helpful in getting sun loungers out every day.
Other people have pointed out that the adjacent properties play music fairly loud (at nigh)t and this is true. However, we were still jet lagged in Jamaica and it didnt bother us too much...
We had booked our airport transfer through the hotel and had the pleasure of having Ricky as our driver, a really nice guy and full of knowledge! We also booked an excursion with him to the Black River & YS Falls and had a great day.
Would love to visit again! Loved the feel of a small intimate property and not being one of the massess at one of the large chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandP W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everglades National Park, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

So awesome. You won't regret it. People we met keep coming back here years in a row. Staff is friendly. Perfect location. Porch swings. Food is amazing. The honeymoon suite is fabulous. The cottages (rooms 3-4) are tiny, but if you're like us, who cares? We didn't go to Jamaica to watch TV and lounge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our second visit to Kuyaba. We stayed there first about 10 years ago and were so impressed that we decided that they would be our go to hotel when staying on the beach. We stayed in a Deluxe room and nothing too fancy, just a clean, comfortable place to lay your head after a day of activities.
We did stay in a cottage our last day(just to check it out) and found it a bit too basic. You do after all get what you pay for.
The restaurant is the best on the beach. A little pricey, but the experience is well worth it.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I wanted curry goat all week and I finally found it on the menu at Kuyaba. The goat meat was tender and the curry flavorful. The meal was served hot with beans and rice and vegetables garnishing the plate. Cost 1000 Jamaican dollars. 10 US. Yummy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DelorisG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just stopped for bfast and lunch but we get to see the hotel...amazing spot, beautiful restaurant view and most delicious food we had in Jamaica. spot for a snack or full meal. you will be happy happy happy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TayancK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me and my Fiance stayed here for two nights for a quick getaway. I had booked the Honeymoon Suite, and I can honestly say its prob the only way to go !
The balcony alone did it for us. it was HUGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE and there was tons of room for us to play on the swing.
The room was fine. Huge comfy bed, high ceiling, tons of space. The Bathroom was kind of a letdown. I would think that it being a Honeymoon Suite it would have a huge tub or something, but it was just a simple bathroom.. showerhead kinda sucked but it was only for two days.

The property is very small, but the location on the beach is great. The water is fantastic and you can walk out forever and the water doesn't get deep ! One day we even saw a starfish. The security would pull out chairs and put them where you wanted them for the day. Which was nice.

We ate breakfast both mornings at the hotel, it was fine.. nothing special. The Hashbrowns were great, but service was insanely slow. like I know this is Jamaica, (my boyfriend is Jamaican) but when its to the point you have to go find the waitress to ask for coffee or your bill etc... when your the only table eating.. its pretty bad.

The major complaint is how insanely loud it was both nights. There is a club just down the beach which plays music until at least 5am, then the next night there was live music which also went until pretty much the sun came up. It made it very hard to sleep. I would not recommend this place to anyone who is a light sleeper or has children who need to sleep at night.

Kuyaba was nice, and Charlie and Buddy the birds always put a smile on my face, but with so many other places on the beach and in Negril, I will probably try out another place next time.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite had the best balcony and biggest room on the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZebraPrintSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.6 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 85 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzi Beach Resort
Zanzi Beach Resort
#55 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#2 of 48 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistling Bird Resort
Whistling Bird Resort
#38 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrils Beach Resort III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril

Property: Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril
Address: PO Box 2635, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Negril's famous & beautiful seven mile white sand beach, Kuyaba is a family owned & operated boutique, beach hotel with a tropical island vibe that you won't find anywhere else. Set on a lush, tropical property surrounded by exotic plants, flowers & different varieties of palm trees, Kuyaba gives the true feeling of an island vacation. Kuyaba's architecture looks rustic on the outside but has a clean & modern heartbeat within the rooms offering all the comforts of home & then some. Featuring an on-property, beachside, restaurant & bar with an outstanding view of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kuyaba Hotel & Restaurant - Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuyaba Hotel Negril
Kuyaba Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing