We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, free but VERY slow Wifi”

The Boardwalk Village Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 195 Restaurants in Negril
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Boardwalk Village is Negril's newest attraction located on our world famous seven mile white sand beach.This beach front Jamaican shopping village boasts newly added rooms, lobster grill, shops and a restaurant with two dining rooms, two bars, and a boardwalk patio perfect location to grab one of our many delicious drinks and to soak up the sun.Guests at The Boardwalk Village have access to our beach area and water trampoline. Other water sports activities are also available.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
596 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Great location, free but VERY slow Wifi”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were staying nearby and wanted to use the internet to check on things at home and during a walk, we saw this nice little gathering of tourist related shops and restaurant / bar.

It is right on the beach and you can bring your towel, sunscreen and sun glasses and hang out on their lounge chairs.

During this visit we only stopped for a couple of very expensive ($4.00) beers and to use the free wifi. The wifi was so slow, it was like dial-up. We should have taken the local taxi into Negril ($2) to the Digicel store and got a SIM car for about $10 and used the phone as a hot spot for the laptop.

But overall, this is a nice little place that is safe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dan459us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I spent an afternoon here as the hotel we were staying at was not on the beach (sister property). The staff was great, helpful and accommodating. It's on a great stretch of beach. Very relaxing and not a lot of vendors walking that stretch. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced. You can also get fresh lobster grilled up for lunch. Wonderful place to spend the day. They also have a few hotel rooms that looked real nice.

Visited January 2014
Thank gypsynik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

There is shopping and Red Stripe here so you really can't go too far wrong visiting this place. The food was very good one morning but only adequate the next. (Different Cook?)
If you are looking for great service and perfect atmosphere then by all means visit the Boardwalk. We would have to eat there a few more times to make a fair review. Say hello to Michelle when you go. She is GREAT and will help you in any way she can. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tayule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

got ripped off at the restaurant..cost over 100.00us for breakfast..no prices on the menu... coffee was 3.50..

Visited January 2014
2 Thank hoppyntopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annmichelleNegril, Manager at The Boardwalk Village Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 January 2014

I am shocked to hear about your visit with us. I would like to know what date you were here and what you ordered for breakfast. We have just recently opened for breakfast and do not have a set menu but the prices and items are printed on the bill. There is a 16.5% G.C.T and 10% service charge added. Do you still have the bill?In regards to the coffee, Sun Beans coffee hut is a separate business from the restaurant. They sell their coffee at their own discretion.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really liked this beach”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Right next door to Sandals resort these folks are very welcoming, nice comfy chairs on a beautiful flat white sand beach. Restaurant on site and gift shops with the usual kitsch with good prices.

Visited January 2014
Thank MQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boardwalk Village Restaurant also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish

Been to The Boardwalk Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing