We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Pineapple Beach Negril
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The property was clean and kept up very well. The location was stunning! Right on the beach. The food was o.k. The staff was excellent! Jacqueline, Elliott, Sareen, and Conrad! Thanks for making my stay a good one. Hopefully I can return soon! Thanks guys!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crelive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. At Grand Pineapple Beach Resorts, we take pride in providing a friendly and relaxing environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Grand Pineapple Negril did just that. We hope to see you again in a near future.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    287
    119
    36
    25
See reviews for
164
323
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

To the Grand Pineapple Management:

We spent a week in Negril in Feb, 2013 and our accommodations at a nearby resort were wonderful. Because of the Trip Advisor reviews, however, we decided to try something different and made reservations at Grand Pineapple arriving on Feb. 2, 2014. Can you please confirm when your renovations will be completed?

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank sher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Renovations have been made. The changes are basically new in room colour scheme such as wall colour, new mats, new drapes and new bathroom lighting. We look forward to seeing you in february.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have tried many years to stay at this hotel after hearing our friends rave of it but have never been able to do so until this October. Let me say we were very excited as it was just my partner and me for seven days..couldn't wait to get there!

Upon arrival at the airport we were informed that we were upgraded to Beaches. They were quite happy we were not. The Grand Pineapple was closed and had been for some time but that didn't stop them from deceiving us.

Don't get me wrong Beaches is great if you have a family in tow which at the age of 55 and 58 we don't. At one point my partner asked me if Elmo was following him. And the birthday parties were cute. For a 5 year old...

Thanks but that certainly is not what we planned or were expecting when we landed and weren't given any other choice. My hard earned money down the drain...

I suggest you ask if they are open before you book.

Room Tip: Ask if they are open before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tobywJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We regret to read that you were not quite pleased with your upgrade to our sister resort. We certainly want to fulfill the needs of all of our guests and exceed your expectations when you visit our resorts. Please accept our apologies for this not being the case due to your move. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and experience either of our amazing properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel closed for 3+ weeks and we not notified until we arrived on 10/11. We booked on 9/22 and now after reviewing Trip Adviser I see that someone else also had this experience on 9/17, which means the hotel was already closed when I made my reservation. Yet they still accepted my full payment and did not notify us of any changes until we arrived at the hotel where a security guard informed us that it was closed and we would be staying at the Beaches resort instead. Grand Pineapple is part of Beaches/Sandals so this was a sister resort we were shipped off to.


We did a lot of research and ultimately selected Grand Pineapple because we were looking for something quaint, smaller and intimate, and more representative of the local area. Grand Pineapple is located within close proximity to local Negril attractions so we were looking forward to walking around town. We are not the type to stay on the resort where they are all the same and you miss out on the local flavor.

Beaches is a wonderful resort if that is the experience you are looking for, but a mega- resort is everything we did not want. They have been quite accommodating since we arrived, this is just not at all the vacation we were planning and looking forward to.

My low rating for Grand Pineapple and Sandals/Beaches brands is due to the complete lack of customer service when they failed to communicate that the hotel was closed and our reservation was changed to a hotel with a completely different atmosphere and experience than what we had booked.

Clearly they were aware of this change at the time we booked since the hotel was already closed then. In spite of that we were still allowed to make the reservation and pay in full. When we arrived they had us booked at Beaches instead and when we arrived at Beaches the explained Grand Pineapple was closed...., so they were clearly aware ahead of time of the circumstance. However, they did not call us ahead of time to inform us of this change!!!!! If we would have been informed before we showed up at the hotel we could have packed appropriate attire for the more formal dress code at some if the Beaches restaurants. I would have considered postponing my trip if I had been give this information. What could have been an opportunity to spin this as a positive change and notify the guest that they were being relocated to another hotel and would be upgraded as a result was missed. This could have been a chance to turn this to a positive in the customers' experience but also reset their expectations before they left. Instead we were informed that we would be staying at a different type of resort when we arrived at the hotel.

This was not the vacation we wanted at all. I would question Sandals/Beaches/Grand Pineapple's commitment to customer service before booking at any of their properties if they elect not to contact their guests to notify them of such a significant change in their reservation. The amount of time elapsed between when the resort closed, they continued to allow reservations, and they did not bother to contact the guest demonstrate their disregard.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
24 Thank Hollyskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is truly disappointing to know that you had this experience with our brand. We always want to ensure that we’re offering the highest standard of customer service and your comments indicate that there is much room for improvement, especially within our communication process.

I have sent you a private message, so that our management team can get in contact with you and address your concerns. I hope that you will consider us for a future stay and give us the chance offer an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We went after reading reviews of promises of in room alcohol non stop fun/ activities etc...well that was not so. I have never been to a resort where the bar shuts down. They were great drinks when they were open. It was nice to be met by the guard who gave us a hug and said welcome home. A+ The food was alright some nights better than usual. DO NOT go anywhere unless you like getting harassed constantly for drugs. Im on vacation from being a cop last thing I want is to be grabbed pulled aside to buy drugs. Thanks to the one security guard Phillip Reid for keeping drug dealers away...the other guard was literally sleeping. Negril was great for introducing us to Dave, Bonnie, Preston, and local Phillip. Was cheap trip some areas showed it. ..not everything is included like they say.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank deputyrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We're happy to read that your stay, overall, was quite enjoyable. We always strive to offer outstanding vacation experiences and anything less than perfect calls for improvement on our part. It seems we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our service. We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your review.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I neeed to get away and spent a week here 2-2013 . This place is small , the staff gets to know you quickly and responds to your needs. It's not a five star but is very laid back and comfortable. Food and drinks aren't top shelf but are adequate. Don't be afraid to try some of the local restaraunts and food stands for some variety. They're reasonable and are out of this world. We tried the jerk chicken from the place down he road by the mall. $5 U.S, - enough for both of us - what a treat. Same with the soup place down the other side. Just a little shack but the locals line up 10-15 deep all day. A cup of soup that's thick as stew for about 1.80 U.S. Massages are better than expected and reasonable. Wouldn't hesitate to go back. Only draw back is that it's a ride back and forth to the airport. But the transport company made best of that as well with a couple nice stops along the way. When do we go back?

Room Tip: We had the garden side which was very private but had to cross the road for bar/food. Midnight rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSDUZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Grand Pineapple Negril. We always want to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and satisfying stay with us and I'm glad you and your wife had such a wonderful time visiting our resort. We hope that you return in near future!

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I am reading the reviews and I am taken aback. The Grand Pineapple was my first choice because I read all the great reviews and it sounded like the type of small, intimate hotel we needed to relax and in. We booked our trip in March and counted the months. When we arrived on September 17th, we were told that they were closed for renovation. To their credit, they did put us up in a great resort, Beaches, and we had a great time. However, now I read that others were staying there. I wish they would have told us the truth, I would have considered giving them another try.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank SchatzieVa23231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Negril, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We regret to read that you were somewhat disappointed about being upgraded to our sister resort. We certainly want to fulfill the needs of all of our guests and always want to create memorable vacations. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused because of your move.

On a brighter note, I'm happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy a great vacation at Beaches. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and experience either of our amazing properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Legends Beach Hotel
Legends Beach Hotel
#38 of 80 in Negril
942 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Negril

Property: Grand Pineapple Beach Negril
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Negril 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All-inclusive Grand Pineapple Beach Resort Negril is authentically Caribbean architecture featuring gingerbread trim and bright colors in this intimate, low-key resort.The resort’s 14 multi colored cottages and Manor rooms bring back memories of Jamaica’s Old Plantation Great Houses with their spectrum of colors in over 4 acres of luscious gardens drenched in privacy, creating a peaceful retreat as far from everything as you care to be.The cottages are complimented by two blocks of manor rooms on the Beach and Garden side of the resort, each replicating the past Jamaican architectural magnificence. The Resort is moderately priced, catering to singles, couples and families alike. This quiet oasis is the essence of Negril...casual, relaxed, laidback and unhurried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing