We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Chippewa Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chippewa Village
Ranked #24 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Very good place to stay. We spent just one night in a very characteristic loft, awasome with amazing views from the private terrace.
All the rooms are away from noise
If you are looking cheap and pretty please, choose Mr John!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    13
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Turns out this is the ONLY place we'll stay in Jamaica, John always makes us feel so at home, super funky place with lots of character right across from the beach. You must be a dog person and will get rewarded with lots of canine love back if you connect with the three beautiful dogs, easy to do if you love dogs in the first place. I miss the dogs, I miss John and my Jamaica sweet spot. Thanks John and wonderfull trustworthy staff, see you as soon as I get some money together! Julia and Vivo.

Room Tip: theres a pool with a pull up bar! and tons of privacy. and three good dogs, did I mention the dogs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia_Finlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Chippewa was a great experience for us. The location is awesome. We walked across the street and watched the sunset every night. John was always there when we needed him and the housekeeper was great. The dogs gave us a great sense of security too. We had a great adventure here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

John is a great guy. His place could be beautiful with some work. Back in the day , this place would have been one of the best. It is old and run down and needs tons of clean up. It is very private and layed back to say the least. The dogs on the property are very protective. We were close to getting bitten many times and one person did. If you're scared of dogs , stay away. The outdoor furnature colapsed when a 120 lb person sat down. I hate to rag on the place because it could be something amazing and the staff are great. Unfortunately , you will not enjoy the accommodations here. It is a little better than camping but not by much. Sorry John , it's the truth. A pressure washer , paint , and repairs to the rotten furnature would do wonders. For the same money , you can stay at many other places that offer so much more.
Best of luck......

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was not our first trip to Chippewa Village and love Negril, but it had been 2 years. It was my father and brother's first time out of the country, we were excited! It had gotten significantly and visibly more run down and by the 2nd day the "guard dogs" of the property that we were told by the owner John to be friendly to, attacked my Dad's arm and gave him several puncture wounds and he was bleeding everywhere. John ran for the peroxide and this did not seem like the first time this had happened. He supposedly consulted a doctor and said salt water would do the trick!?!?!?!?
There were no apologies, no offer of a refund or any medical attention provided??? My dad then felt uncomfortable and decided to switch hotels to Parrot Cottages across the street and incurred all new fees. This put a damper on our trip and we still had to fear for our safety while he kept the dog roped up on the premises as it lunged for us in passing??
The list of things broken or run down is endless and don't expect running water, AC, comfortable beds, screens for bugs, dish soap, light bulbs, lights outside the villa at night or any accommodations. It felt more like everything surrounding us was a liability. We were barked at by John and it seems he is sucking the money out of this place. Definitely better places to stay in Negril and we were literally chased out by all 3 dogs biting the bumper of our taxi :( Cujo was not our idea of a good time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Booking direct with John was easy. On arrival we were upgraded to the three-bedroom loft apartment (for two of us), which was very spacious with a large roof terrace with great views of the Morass.

John proved to be a very good host, and the three lovely dogs were very friendly. Anyone who cannot get on with these dogs has their own problems. We spent much of our time relaxing on the "porch" at the top of the outside steps, often with one or more of the dogs for company. There was a lot of birdlife to be seen, and even some bats flying past in the evening. We were so relaxed that we only went out for food supplies. And yes, John did bake us some bread which was really very good.

The location is excellent, with food shops and restaurants within walking distance. Mikey's at the bottom of the path does very good fish and lobster meals.

The negative reviews miss the point of the Chippewa Village. If you want everything working perfectly and to be served hand and foot, go to one of the boring, sterile AI's where you wouldn't even know you're in Jamaica. We know - we've tried it!

All in all, a great hideaway, but with the beach, nightlife and facilities close by. We would definitely stay again. Note that because of all the luxuriant foliage around, it would be wise to bring insect repellant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenwichsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I am planning a trip to Jamaica for a 3rd time and have been checking out reviews for current beach hotels. Stayed here on the first trip. I can see from the most recent reviews that not much has changed with good pl' John. The place is a dump and terribly maintained. There are other comparable places price wise that kill this place quality wise. Xtabi on the cliffs was our second location. Excellent but we want to be near the beach on this trip. Will find a better place and it won't be here.
Jerry D

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mebee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 81 in Negril
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#45 of 81 in Negril
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idle Awhile The Villas
Idle Awhile The Villas
#2 of 50 in Negril
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#25 of 81 in Negril
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#22 of 81 in Negril
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Village

Property: Chippewa Village
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chippewa Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the beachfront in Negril, Chippewa Village has an outdoor pool. It offers charming rustic-style accommodation with private terraces. Chippewa Village's cottages, studios and apartments all feature air conditioning, a fridge and private bathroom. Apartments and studios also have a fully equipped kitchen. We offer free private parking and free WiFi in public areas. Our reception will be able to assist you with information on the surrounding area and possible activities. Local restaurants and bar can be found within a 5-10 minute walk while the West end cliff area of Negril is just a 10 minute drive away. Montego Bay (MBJ) International Airport is the closest airport, a 90 min drive away from us. How to reach us: We are located in Negril on NORMAN MANLEY BOULEVARD locally known also as BEACH ROAD because is the road that runs side the beach for 7 miles. We are more or less at the middle of it, on the garden side in front of Charela Inn Hotel and Idle Awhile Hotel. The sign outside is CHIPPEWA VILLAGE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chippewa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Village Negril
Chippewa Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing