We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chippewa Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chippewa Village
Ranked #24 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I just returned from 3 months at Chippewa Village. Yes, you read it well, 3 months!!! And I loved it every second. I never got bored of the perfect beach at the front (just across the road) and the peace and privacy of the lush green gardens. The studio was just right for me, the full kitchen was fun. I even made to cook Jamaican fish fritters with coconut rice! The native Indian American style of the apartments gave a unique touch to the beautiful views on the Morass..some sunset looked like a real African safari! The lions? Rocky and Princess are the two lions of the property!! Two beautiful loyal dogs that walked me around and protected me when asleep in my dreams. Best buddies, talk to them they will love to hear your stories! We are all betting Rocky will soon start talking so intelligent he looks! Princess instead just like to be pet until you drop dead! The property looked clean and well kept. Nadine is the person you will see taking care of your room and solving housekeeping requests. She is not only a hard working person but also she has good judgment on how to run the place. She has been always very kind and accommodating with me. We had some good laugh! John is the host! If you need him, just enter the colorful kitchen/house/art laboratory with the big table in the middle. The TV is always on a Western movie because he says it matches with the Buffalo and Indian pictures on the walls!! Crazy enough he is a kind fellow used to travelers from all around. He's been in Negril since ever, with his great knowledge on the place he will give you the right tip! Other guests of the Village were friendly and respectful of others. Missed green parrots quarreling to each other in the morning together with the loud woody wood pecker with the red head, humming birds, lizards and bullfrogs. At this point I tell you that I will probably visit back soon...didn't got quite enough!!!

Room Tip: If you look for comfort and if you stay more than the night book from a studio up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriziaBesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    13
    1
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at Chippewa village with a few friends for nearly two weeks, the most amazing two weeks ever! The resort gives a really private relaxed vibe, the ideal spot to just get away from it all, rooms were clean and well looked after, the owner john and his lovely dogs will take such good care of you, making fresh bread and giving you all the advise you'll ever need about negril, I felt safe and relaxed my entire trip, I feel I do need to note that there isn't a restaurant at the resort, so get down to the shop and get some homemade Jamaican cooking done in the spacious kitchens provided. I will never forget my time at this wonderful place and have no doubt that I will return many times in the future

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppettramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I have been there twice. It is one of my most favorite places in the world. It is rustic, private, quiet, and charming. Does it need work? Yes. Are there big loud dogs? Yes. Is John an interesting character who does not look like he should be running a hotel? Yes.
But these are the things that make this place amazing!
If you are looking for a prestine typical hotel experience, do not go there. If you are looking for a unique, relaxing, casual place to lose yourself for a few days then do yourself the favor and stay here!
My favorite part of the experience was each day the groundskeeper cut open coconuts for us and we had fresh juice each day. You can't get that at your typical hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest buying water and snacks. There is a jerk chicken shack next door that is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The place is a dump, i'm sorry to say this. You can tell that it used to be a great place, but it hasn't been maintained for years.

Nearly no water
Toilet couldn't flush more than twice a day
Holes in the wall
The pool was a mess
No gardening done for a very long time
And the restaurant wasn't even there

We left after 2 nights and couldn't get a refund. We went across the street to a much nicer hotel for the same price, where there were both a restaurant and beach access

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyFriendGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah, KY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks from Dec 28th through Jan 11th. Like most travelers, I read as much as I can on places before I book. I read the reviews on Chippewa, and it seemed like 50/50, with the negative aspects being geared mostly towards the dogs, not the place itself. Being a dog person by nature, I really didn't get spooked by the past reviews of dog incidents, and I'm glad I didn't. Before I even got there, for about 2-3 weeks before arrival, I had emailed with the owner, John, about particular needs, such as room details and amenities, stay details and general tips. I always got a quick reply, and anything I asked for, if it wasn't already available, he made it that way. I arrived on Friday, right after a downpour, and get welcomed by two large dogs. Both are barking, but wagging their tail. I got out of the car completely unfazed by either dog, whom I later discovered were named Princess and Rocky -- Rocky being Princesss's dad. Both of these dogs, especially Princess, were the sweetest dogs, I can't imagine how anyone would have a bad encounter with these jewels. Princess would sleep outside my door almost every night, and would never attempt to come inside, even if you tried to get her to. OK, so dog issue is a non-issue; probably even a plus -- I had companionship plus doggie security!

John had placed me in a Studio when I booked, but offered the penthouse at a great price when there, and upgraded me. It was a much better lodging, although the studio was nice too. One of the questions I had in the pre-trip emails was the availability of UK basketball game that was on during my trip. That particular channel wasn't available, but John could get it, and invited me to watch with him, which I did (Cats lost :( -- John and Nadine, housekeeper extraordinaire, cooked pizza for me twice, and it was great -- free too! Nadine makes a dough that you put in a cast-iron skillet and get it warmed up and then put the sauce and toppings on -- much better than Chances or Ciao. John also know a damn good local butcher that he got us some beef filets and cooked them to perfection -- again, all FREE! I think I provided some sides that I brought down for the steak meal, that John cooked. Really good meal, plus the feeling of somehow being "at home" having a meal; priceless! John also fed me some other meals, again for free, and would have probably ate with me every day if I wanted. Again, I felt like I was at home.

The Penthouse is very nice. The walkway and platform into the Morass is one-of-a-kind. If you wanted to tan all over, you know, and was bashfull, this would be the perfect place. You're in the middle of no where, with the beach on one side --- miles away, and grass between you and the mountains -- a few birds flying around -- and a couple of decks to lay around on - very cool -- Rocky, the dog, will even escort you out. A must do -- 10 or so trips to Negril, and this was a first -- I would like to be out there during a meteor shower!

Room Tip: Penthouse is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k4adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I just returned from 9 days at Chippewa and loved every minute of it. It was exactly what I was looking for. I travel to Jamaica often and like to stay in a place that is close enough to everything yet is still peaceful and quiet. I stayed in a cottage and it suited my needs just fine. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and it even had a nice screened in porch with a little breakfast bar/sink. If you bring a hotplate you can cook full meals out there! It was awesome! I could even pick up a WiFi signal there!

The owner John was a delight. I felt like I had my own little vacation home. He was available if you needed anything and was more than helpful. But you still feel like you have plenty of privacy.

The dogs are real sweethearts once they know you. The one will even roll over for you to rub her belly. She was very cute. They are friendly and they don't beg. They are there to protect the place and that is what they do.

If you have the proper expectations you will love Chippewa Village. If you want Full service Ritz Carlton type of accommodations, then keep looking....If you want good priced clean accommodations with a unique flair then Chippewa will be perfect for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveJA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Very good place to stay. We spent just one night in a very characteristic loft, awasome with amazing views from the private terrace.
All the rooms are away from noise
If you are looking cheap and pretty please, choose Mr John!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Rayon Hotel
Rayon Hotel
#41 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#73 of 84 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jamaica Tamboo Resort
Jamaica Tamboo Resort
#12 of 42 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Judy House Cottages and Rooms
0.1 mi away
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
#21 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yellow Bird
The Yellow Bird
#11 of 47 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Village

Property: Chippewa Village
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chippewa Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the beachfront in Negril, Chippewa Village has an outdoor pool. It offers charming rustic-style accommodation with private terraces. Chippewa Village's cottages, studios and apartments all feature air conditioning, a fridge and private bathroom. Apartments and studios also have a fully equipped kitchen. We offer free private parking and free WiFi in public areas. Our reception will be able to assist you with information on the surrounding area and possible activities. Local restaurants and bar can be found within a 5-10 minute walk while the West end cliff area of Negril is just a 10 minute drive away. Montego Bay (MBJ) International Airport is the closest airport, a 90 min drive away from us. How to reach us: We are located in Negril on NORMAN MANLEY BOULEVARD locally known also as BEACH ROAD because is the road that runs side the beach for 7 miles. We are more or less at the middle of it, on the garden side in front of Charela Inn Hotel and Idle Awhile Hotel. The sign outside is CHIPPEWA VILLAGE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chippewa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Village Negril
Chippewa Village Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing